Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 6/18/2024 have been fully considered and made record in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ PROTECTIVE LAYER COVERING A PLURALITY OF CONDUCTIVE BUMPS ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2013/0056865).
With respect to Claims 1, 4, and 5, Lin teaches a base material 102 having a first side and a second side opposing the first side. The first side of the base material 102 has a plurality of first conductive bumps 132 formed thereon. The plurality of first conductive bumps 132 are covered by a first encapsulating layer 152 (i.e. epoxy). A plurality of second conductive bumps 108 are formed on the second side of the base material. A protective layer 702 (i.e. water soluble that when heated would act as an adhesive) formed on the second side of the base material 102 and covering the plurality of second conductive bumps (see paragraphs 11-21; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to Claim 2, Lin teaches the base material 102 comprises an electronic body and a circuit structure 112, 114, 116, 118 disposed on the electronic body. The first conductive bumps 132 and the first encapsulating layer 152 are disposed on the electronic body, and the second conductive bumps and the protective layer 702 are disposed on the circuit structure (see paragraphs 11-21; Figs. 1-7).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Kao et al. (US 2024/0162140).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to Claims 1, 4, and 5, Kao teaches a base material 21 having a first side and a second side opposing the first side. The first side of the base material 21 has a plurality of first conductive bumps 280a formed thereon. The plurality of first conductive bumps 280a are covered by a first encapsulating layer 28a. A plurality of second conductive bumps 280b are formed on the second side of the base material. A protective layer 24 (i.e. water soluble adhesive) formed on the second side of the base material 21 and covering the plurality of second conductive bumps 280b (see paragraphs 39-62; Figs. 2A-2H).
With respect to Claims 2 and 3, Kao teaches the base material 21 comprises an electronic body and a circuit structure 210 disposed on the electronic body. The first conductive bumps (i.e. pillars) and the first encapsulating layer are disposed on the electronic body, and the second conductive bumps (i.e. pillars) and the protective layer 24 are disposed on the circuit structure (see paragraphs 17-19 and 44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record teaches or suggest the combination of removing the second encapsulating layer to expose the plurality of second conductive bumps. Forming a protective layer on the second side of the base material to cover the plurality of second conductive bumps. Performing a singulation process to obtain a plurality of the electronic components. Bonding the plurality of electronic components on a tape of a carrier via the protective layer thereof in claim 6
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
10. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.usptol gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/September 11, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897