DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 06/19/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gate oxide layer of claim 10, and the metal salicide block layer of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the gate structure further comprises space layers located on both sides of the gate conductor" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The terms “the gate structure” and “the gate conductor” are not defined in claim 1, but are defined in claim 10. Therefore, for the purpose of this examination, claim 11 will be treated as being dependent on claim 10, where “the gate structure” and “the gate conductor” have been defined and have antecedence.
Claim 13 includes a product and process in the same claim. A single claim which claims both apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite (See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II), In Re Katz). For the purpose of this examination, claim 13 will be interpreted as follows:
a sidewalls structure, wherein the sidewalls structure comprises two sides of a first structure located on a substrate, and wherein a top surface of the substrate and/or surfaces of sidewalls comprises few cavities or no cavities.
Claim 14 is also rejected as being dependent on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US 6,046,113).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a method of etching for a semiconductor structure having a substrate Fig: 1A: 12, and a first structure (annotated below) located on part of a top surface of the substrate Fig: 1A: 12, wherein two side surfaces of the first structure are configured as sidewalls (annotated below), the method comprising:
a) forming an insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 to cover the substrate Fig: 1A: 12, the first structure, and the sidewalls (col. 3, lines 59-61);
b) performing a dry etching process to etch a first portion of the insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 (col. 4, lines 38-49); and
c) performing a wet etching process to etch a remaining portion of the insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50, in order to expose the top surface of the substrate Fig: 1A: 12 (col. 4, lines 38-42,57-59; lines 28-35 teach the protective layer 50 is removed from the inner surface which is the semiconductor layer, the sidewalls, and the gate body without forming another layer of contaminants (lines 66-67)),
d) wherein a thickness of the first portion of the insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 etched by the dry etching process is greater than a thickness of the remaining portion of insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 etched by the wet etching process (col. 4, lines 41-46 teaches approx. 75% is etched by the dry etching process), in order to decrease formation of cavity in the substrate Fig: 1A: 12 and/or sidewalls (col. 4, lines 52-52 teaches the anisotropic dry etch will not attack the sidewalls, lines 62-64 teaches the isotropic wet etch being limited will not impair the side walls and other elements).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the remaining portion of the insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 etched by the wet etching process is not greater than 100 angstroms (col. 4, lines 41-44 teaches a range between 5-100 Angstroms, and a target of 50 Angstroms).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the remaining portion of the insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 etched by the wet etching process is not less than 25 angstroms (col. 4, lines 41-44 teaches a range between 5-100 Angstroms, and a target of 50 Angstroms).
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a surface of the substrate Fig: 1A: 12 and/or a surface of sidewalls comprises few cavities or no cavities (col. 4, lines 52-52 teaches the anisotropic dry etch will not attack the sidewalls, lines 62-64 teaches the isotropic wet etch being limited will not impair the side walls and other elements).
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the insulation layer Fig. 1D: 50 comprises SiO2 material col. 3, lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wet etching process comprises isotropic etching (col. 4, lines 38-39).
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first structure (annotated above) is configured as a gate structure (i.e. gate body + gate insulator) having a gate oxide layer Fig. 1D: 18 (gate insulator having a silicon dioxide/insulator material) located on an upper surface of the substrate Fig. 1D: 12, and a gate conductor Fig. 1D: 14 (gate body having polycrystalline silicon/semiconductor material) located on the gate oxide layer Fig. 1D: 18 (col. 2, lines 50-56).
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the gate structure further comprises spacer layers Fig. 1D: 32 located on both sides of the gate conductor Fig. 1D: 14.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, claim 13 will be interpreted as “a sidewalls structure, wherein the sidewalls structure comprises two sides of a first structure located on a substrate, and wherein a top surface of the substrate and/or surfaces of sidewalls comprises few cavities or no cavities.” Hong discloses a sidewalls structure (annotated), wherein the sidewalls structure comprises two sides of a first structure (two sides annotated) located on a substrate Fig. 1C: 12, and wherein a top surface of the substrate Fig. 1C: 12 and/or surfaces of sidewalls comprises few cavities or no cavities (col. 4, lines 52-52 teaches the anisotropic dry etch will not attack the sidewalls, lines 62-64 teaches the isotropic wet etch being limited will not impair the side walls and other elements).
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses a field-effect transistor (col.2, lines 33-35 teaches a narrow linewidth transistor which is a FET), comprising the sidewalls structure of claim 13, and further comprising:
a) the substrate Fig. 1D: 12; and
b) a gate structure Fig. 1D: 14+18 located on part of a top surface of the substrate Fig. 1D: 12,
c) wherein two side surfaces of the gate structure Fig. 1D: 14+18 are configured as the sidewalls structure (annotated above), and a surface of the substrate Fig. 1D: 12 and/or surfaces of sidewalls comprises few cavities or no cavities (col. 4, lines 52-52 teaches the anisotropic dry etch will not attack the sidewalls, lines 62-64 teaches the isotropic wet etch being limited will not impair the side walls and other elements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference(s).
Claims 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 6,046,113) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thei et al. (US 20100311231).
Regarding claim 5, Thei discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Hong et al.:
the method of claim 1, wherein a total thickness of the insulation layer Fig. 2E: 254 is from 300 angstroms to 800 angstroms (para. 0030 teaches an ILD layer with dielectric material, silicon nitride/oxide in a thickness range of 300 – 500 .ANG. which is within the claimed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hong’s teachings with Thei’s teachings in order to maintain a low dishing and metal erosion effect (para. 0030).
Regarding claim 7, Thei discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Hong et al.:
the method of claim 1, wherein the insulation layer Fig. 2E: 254 comprises two layers of material SiO2 and SiN (para. 0030 teaches ILD layer 254 comprises silicon oxide and silicon nitride material, and comprises one or more dielectric layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hong’s teachings with Thei’s teachings in order to provide an insulating layer with more than one dielectric layer to maintain a low dishing and metal erosion effect (para. 0030).
Regarding claim 8, Thei discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Hong et al.:
the method of claim 1, wherein the insulation layer Fig. 2E: 254 comprises three layers of material SiO2, SiN, and SiO2 (para. 0030 teaches ILD layer 254 comprises silicon oxide and silicon nitride material, and comprises one or more dielectric layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hong’s teachings with Thei’s teachings in order to provide an insulating layer with more than one dielectric layer to maintain a low dishing and metal erosion effect (para. 0030).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 6,046,113) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chern (US 20240405015).
Regarding claim 12, Chern discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Hong et al.:
the method of claim 1, wherein the insulation layer Fig. 8b: SBL comprises a metal salicide block layer Fig. 8b: SBL (para. 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hong’s teachings with Chern’s forming self-aligned silicide layers in order to decrease contact resistance of the guard ring, gates, source and drain regions, and also decrease the resistance of the mentioned elements (para. 0046).
Conclusion
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817