DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0221778 A1; hereinafter Kim)
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a display panel; a first refractive pattern [172a3/b3/c3] disposed on the display panel, wherein the first refractive pattern has a first refractive index, has a planar shape including a center portion and a peripheral portion, and defines a plurality of refractive openings, in which a first refractive opening [14a] whose peripheral portion extends from a side of the center portion and a second refractive opening [14b] whose peripheral portion extends from a vertex of the center portion are alternately arranged (see Figure 2-3); and a second refractive layer [173] disposed on the first refractive pattern, wherein the second refractive layer has a second refractive index less than the first refractive index (See ¶[0008]).
With respect to claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the first refractive opening and the second refractive opening are alternately arranged in a first direction (See Figure 2).
With respect to claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the first refractive opening and the second refractive opening are alternately arranged in a second direction crossing a first direction (See Figure 2).
With respect to claim 4, Kim discloses the display panel includes a first pixel disposed on a substrate [110] and a second pixel disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the first pixel, the first pixel includes first to third sub-pixels which emit light having different colors, respectively, the second pixel includes fourth to sixth sub-pixels which emit light having different colors, respectively, each of the first to third sub-pixels overlaps the first refractive opening, and each of the fourth to sixth sub-pixels overlaps the second refractive opening (see ¶[0044] and Figure 2).
With respect to claim 5, Kim discloses wherein, a pixel opening [OP1/2/3], in which a light emitting element [151/152/153] is disposed, is defined in the display panel, the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings has a polygonal shape including a first long side, a second long side opposite to the first long side, a first short side crossing the first long side and the second long side, and a second short side opposite to the first short side, and the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings extends in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the first long side and the second long side (see Figure 2-3).
With respect to claim 6, Kim discloses wherein a minimum distance between a third short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in a planar shape of the pixel opening and the first short side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings (See Figure 2).
With respect to claim 7, Kim discloses wherein, a pixel opening[OP1/2/3], in which a light emitting element is disposed [151/152/153], is defined in the display panel, the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings overlaps the pixel opening, the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings has a polygonal shape including a first long side, a second long side opposite to the first long side, a first short side crossing the first long side and the second long side, and a second short side opposite to the first short side, and the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings extends in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the first short side and the second short side (See Figure 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 8, Kim discloses wherein a minimum distance between a third long side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the first long side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth long side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings (See Figure 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 9, Kim discloses wherein, a pixel opening [OP1/2/3], in which a light emitting element is disposed [151/152/153], is defined in the display panel, a planar shape of the pixel opening is a polygonal shape with a long side and a short side, the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings overlaps the pixel opening, the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings has a polygonal shape including a first long side, a second long side opposite to the first long side, a first short side crossing the first long side and the second long side, and a second short side opposite to the first short side, a shape of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in a plan view is arranged in a repeating unit of 4×2 matrix, the center portion located at a first row and a first column, the center portion located at the first row and a fourth column, the center portion located at a second row and a second column, and the center portion located at the second row and a third column extend in a direction parallel to the long side of the planar shape of the pixel opening, and the center portion located at the first row and the second column, the center portion located at the first row and the third column, the center portion located at the second row and the first column, and the center portion located at the second row and the fourth column extend in a direction parallel to the short side of the planar shape of the pixel opening (See Figure 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 10, Kim discloses wherein, a minimum distance between a third short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the first short side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings, and a minimum distance between a third long side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the first long side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth long side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings (See Figure 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 11, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a display panel including a light emitting element [151/152/153], which is disposed in a pixel opening [OP1/2/3] defined in the display panel, wherein the pixel opening has a planar shape with a long side and a short side; a first refractive pattern [172a3/b3/c3] disposed on the display panel, wherein the first refractive pattern has a first refractive index, overlaps the pixel openings, and defines a plurality of refractive openings including a center portion whose planar shape is a polygonal shape with a first long side, a second long side opposite to the first long side, a first short side crossing the first long side and the second long side, and a second short side opposite to the first short side and a peripheral portion extending from the center portion (see Figure 2); and a second refractive layer [173] disposed on the first refractive pattern, wherein the second refractive layer has a second refractive index less than the first refractive index (See Figure 3 and ¶[0008]), wherein a shape of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in a plan view is arranged in a repeating unit of 4×2 matrix (see Figure 2), the center portion located at a first row and a first column, the center portion located at the first row and a fourth column, the center portion located at a second row and a second column, and the center portion located at the second row and a third column extend in a direction parallel to the long side of the planar shape of the pixel opening, and the center portion located at the first row and the second column, the center portion located at the first row and the third column, the center portion located at the second row and the first column, and the center portion located at the second row and the fourth column extend in a direction parallel to the short side of the planar shape of the pixel opening (See Figure 2).
With respect to claim 12, Kim discloses wherein, the first refractive pattern includes a first refractive opening [14a] whose peripheral portion extends from a side of the center portion and a second refractive opening [14b] whose peripheral portion extends from a vertex of the center portion in the plan view, and the first refractive opening and the second refractive opening are alternately arranged in a first direction (See Figures 2-3).
With respect to claim 13, Kim discloses wherein, the first refractive pattern includes a first refractive opening [14a] whose peripheral portion extends from a side of the center portion and a second refractive opening [14b] whose peripheral portion extends from a vertex of the center portion in the plan view, and the first refractive opening and the second refractive opening are alternately arranged in a second direction crossing a first direction (see Figures 2-3).
With respect to claim 14, Kim discloses wherein a minimum distance between a third short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the first short side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings, and wherein a minimum distance between a side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the first long side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening and the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings (See Figures 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 15, Kim discloses wherein, the display panel includes a first pixel disposed on a substrate [110] and a second pixel disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the first pixel, the first pixel includes first to third sub-pixels which emit light having different colors, respectively, the second pixel includes fourth to sixth sub-pixels which emit light having different colors, respectively, the peripheral portion of the plurality of refractive openings overlapping each of the first to third sub-pixels extends from a side of the center portion, and the peripheral portion of the plurality of refractive openings overlapping each of the fourth to sixth sub-pixels extends from a vertex of the center portion (see ¶[0044] and Figure 2).
With respect to claim 16, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a display panel [DA]; a first refractive pattern [172a3/b3/c3] disposed on the display panel, wherein the first refractive pattern has a first refractive index, and defines a plurality of refractive openings including a center portion whose planar shape is a polygonal shape with a first long side, a second long side opposite to the first long side, a first short side crossing the first long side and the second long side, and a second short side opposite to the first short side and a peripheral portion extending from the center portion; and a second refractive layer [173] disposed on the first refractive pattern, wherein the second refractive layer has a second refractive index less than the first refractive index (See Figure 3 and ¶[0008]), wherein a shape of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in a plan view is arranged in a repeating unit of 2×2 matrix (see Figure 2), the center portion located at a first row and a first column, and the center portion located at a second row and a second column extend in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the first long side and the second long side, and the center portion located at the first row and the second column, and the center portion located at the second row and the first column extend in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the first short side and the second short side (See Figures 2 and 6).
With respect to claim 17, Kim discloses wherein, the first refractive pattern includes a first refractive opening [14a] whose peripheral portion extends from a side of the center portion and a second refractive opening [14b] whose peripheral portion extends from a vertex of the center portion in the plan view, and the first refractive opening and the second refractive opening are alternately arranged in a first direction (See Figures 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 18, Kim discloses wherein, the first refractive pattern includes a first refractive opening [14a] whose peripheral portion extends from a side of the center portion and a second refractive opening [14b] whose peripheral portion extends from a vertex of the center portion in the plan view, and the first refractive opening and the second refractive opening are alternately arranged in a second direction crossing a first direction (See Figures 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 19, Kim discloses wherein, a pixel opening [OP1/2/3], in which a light emitting element [151/152/153] is disposed, is defined in the display panel, a minimum distance between a third short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings and the first short side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth short side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings and the second short side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening, and wherein a minimum distance between a third long side of the pixel opening adjacent to the first long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings and the first long side of the center portion in the planar shape of the pixel opening is equal to a minimum distance between a fourth long side of the pixel opening adjacent to the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings and the second long side of the center portion of the plurality of refractive openings in the planar shape of the pixel opening (See Figures 2-3 and 6).
With respect to claim 20, Kim discloses wherein, the display panel includes a first pixel disposed on a substrate [110] and a second pixel disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the first pixel, the first pixel includes first to third sub-pixels which emit light having different colors, respectively, the second pixel includes fourth to sixth sub-pixels which emit light having different colors, respectively, the peripheral portion of the plurality of refractive openings overlapping each of the first to third sub-pixels extends from a side of the center portion, and the peripheral portion of the plurality of refractive openings overlapping each of the fourth to sixth sub-pixels extends from a vertex of the center portion (see ¶[0044] and Figure 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0066665 A1) discloses a display device with multiple refractive indexes to control light directionality
Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0005846 A1) discloses a display device with multiple refractive indexes to control light directionality
/JONATHAN HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818