DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Chien (US 2022/0157821)
Regarding claim 1.
Chien teaches:
A semiconductor structure, comprising: a first trench resonator (fig 5:257a; [para 0052]) (note a capacitor inherently has a parasitic self-resonance dependent on the equivalent series resistance, the equivalent series inductance, and the capacitance) in a first dielectric layer (fig 5:137,143; [para 0052]) and comprising a first conductive layer (fig 5:251a; [para 0053]) and a second dielectric layer (fig 5:253a; [para 0053]);
and a second trench resonator (fig 7:257b; [para 0054]) in the first dielectric layer (fig 6:137,143; [para 0052])comprising a second conductive layer (fig 6:251b; [para 0054]) and a third dielectric layer (fig 6:253b; [para 0054]), wherein at least one of: a material composition of the second dielectric layer differs from a material composition of the third dielectric layer, or a material composition of the first conductive layer differs from a material composition of the second conductive layer ([para 0055]).
Regarding claim 2.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
comprising: a first conductive contact (fig 5:141; [para 0046]) in the first dielectric layer (fig 5:137,143; [para 0052]) and electrically coupled to the first conductive layer (fig 5:251a; [para 0053]);
and a first device (fig 5:113b; [para 0044]) electrically coupled to the first conductive contact (fig 5:141; [para 0046]) such that the first device (fig 5:113b; [para 0044]) is electrically coupled to the first conductive layer (fig 5:251a; [para 0053]) through the first conductive contact (fig 5:141; [para 0046]).
Regarding claim 3.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 2,
comprising: a second conductive contact (fig 6:141; [para 0052]) in the first dielectric layer (fig 5:137,143; [para 0052]) and electrically coupled to the second conductive layer (fig 6:251b; [para 0054]);
and a second device (fig 6:113b; [para 0052]) electrically coupled to the second conductive contact (fig 6:141; [para 0052]) such that the second device (fig 6:113b; [para 0052]) is electrically coupled to the second conductive layer (fig 6:251b; [para 0054]) through the first conductive contact (fig 6:141; [para 0052]).
Regarding claim 5.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
wherein a top surface of the first conductive layer (fig 5:251a; [para 0053]) is co-planar with a top surface of the second dielectric layer (fig 5:253a; [para 0053]).
Regarding claim 9.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
a conductive contact (fig 5:141; [para 0046]) in the first dielectric layer (fig 5:137,143; [para 0052]) and electrically coupled to the first conductive layer (fig 5:251a; [para 0053]).
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim (US 2002/0185671)
Regarding claim 16
Kim teaches:
A semiconductor structure, comprising: a first conductive contact (fig 1f:13; [para 0023]) in a first dielectric layer (fig 1f:12,15,17,18; [para 0024]);
and a first trench resonator (fig 1f:27; [para 0028])(note a capacitor inherently has a parasitic self-resonance dependent on the equivalent series resistance, the equivalent series inductance, and the capacitance)in the first dielectric layer (fig 1f:12,15,17,18; [para 0024]), wherein the first trench resonator (fig 1f:27; [para 0028]) comprises: a first barrier layer (fig 1f:20; [para 0028]) in contact with the first conductive contact (fig 1f:13; [para 0023]);
a first conductive layer (fig 1f:21a; [para 0028]) overlying the first barrier layer (fig 1f:20; [para 0028]);
and a second dielectric layer (fig 1f:22a; [para 0028]) overlying the first conductive layer (fig 1f:20; [para 0028]).
Regarding claim 19.
Kim teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 16,
Kim teaches:
a top surface of the first conductive layer (fig 1f:20; [para 0028]) is co-planar with a top surface of the first dielectric layer (fig 1f:12,15,17,18; [para 0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2022/0157821) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ching (US 2010/0213572)
Regarding claim 6.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, above
Chen does not teach a fourth dielectric.
Ching teaches:
a fourth dielectric layer (fig 1:17; [para 0014]) overlying the second dielectric layer (fig 1:230; [para 0018]);
and a conductive pad (fig 1:m1; [para 0015]) overlying the fourth dielectric layer (fig 1:17; [para 0014]) and the second dielectric layer (fig 1:230; [para 0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fourth dielectric and conductive pad in order to provide a voltage supply to the devices.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2022/0157821) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2004/0232557)
Regarding claim 10.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 9,
Chien does not teach a barrier layer
Kim teaches:
the first trench resonator (fig 1f:27; [para 0028]) comprises a barrier layer (fig 1f:20; [para 0028]) between the first conductive layer (fig 1f:2021a; [para 0028]) and the first dielectric layer (fig 1f:15,17; [para 0025.0027]), and the conductive contact (fig 1f:13; [para 0027]) is in contact with the barrier layer (fig 1f:20; [para 0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a barrier layer in order to prevent diffusion of the electrode material into the surrounding dielectric (paragraph 13).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2022/0157821) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ching (US 2010/0213572)
Regarding claim 11.
Chien teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1,
Chien does not teach: a conductive pad overlying the second dielectric layer
Ching teaches:
a conductive pad (fig 1:M1; [para 0015]) overlying the second dielectric layer (fig 1:230; [para 0018]) and a portion of the first conductive layer (fig 1:222; [para 0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a conductive pad over the dielectric in order to conduct voltage to the devices.
Claim(s) 12 through 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2022/0157821) in view of Shih (US 2021/0343735).
Regarding claim 12
Chien teaches:
A semiconductor structure, comprising: a first die region having a functional region (fig 4:200; [para 0051]) ;
, comprising: a first trench resonator (fig 5:257a; [para 0052]) comprising a first conductive layer (fig 5:251a; [para 0053]) and a first dielectric layer (fig 5:253a; [para 0052]);
and a second trench resonator (fig 7:257b; [para 0054]) comprising a second conductive layer (fig 6:251b; [para 0054]) and a second dielectric layer (fig 6:253b; [para 0054]), wherein a material composition (silicon dioxide; [para 0055]) of the first dielectric layer(fig 5:253a; [para 0052]) differs from a material composition (hafnium dioxide; [para 0055]) of the second dielectric layer (fig 6:253b; [para 0054]) .
Chien does not teach a peripheral region having a monitor structure therein.
Shih teaches
A semiconductor structure, comprising: a first die region (fig 1,24:100; [para 0014])having a functional region (fig 1,24:104c; [para 0014]) and a peripheral region ([fig 1,24:104t; [para 0014,0020]) outside the functional region (fig 1,24:104c; [para 0014]); and a first monitoring structure (fig 1,24:112,134’; [para 0014,0020]) in the peripheral region ([fig 1,24:104t; [para 0014,0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide memory structures in the peripheral region in order to enable testing of the structure (paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 13
Chien in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 12,
Chien teaches:
comprising: a second structure in the functional region (fig 4:200; [para 0051]), comprising: a third trench resonator (fig 4,5:257a; [para 0052]);
and a fourth trench resonator (fig 4,5:257a; [para 0052]).
Shih teaches:
a second monitoring structure (fig 1,3:112; [para 0028,0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional structures to test additional areas. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.VI.B.
Regarding claim 14.
Chien in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 12,
Chien teaches:
a second structure (fig 4:200; [para 0051]) , comprising: a third trench resonator (fig 4,5:257a; [para 0052]);
and a fourth trench resonator. (fig 4,5:257a; [para 0052]).
Shih teaches:
a second monitoring structure in (fig 1,3:112; [para 0028,0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional structures to test additional areas, gain additional data, and increase redundancy. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.VI.B.
Regarding claim 15.
Chien in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 15,
Shih teaches:
a dummy pattern (fig 15:144’; [para 0024]) disposed between the first monitoring structure (fig 15,20:134’; [para 0020]) and the second monitoring structure (fig 15,20:134’; [para 0020]).
Claim(s) 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2002/0185671) as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Giraudin (US 2006/0234464)
Regarding claim 17.
Kim teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 16,
Kim does not teach a third dielectric
Giraudin teaches:
a third dielectric layer (fig 8:2d; [para 0027]) overlying the first trench resonator (fig 8:4a,4b,4c; [para 0020]) and in contact with the first conductive layer (fig 8:4b; [para 0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a third dielectric layer I order to cover the semiconductor structures thereby providing protection and support for subsequent features.
Regarding claim 18.
Kim in view of Giraudin teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 17,
Giraudin teaches:
the third dielectric layer (fig 8:2d; [para 0027]) is in contact with the first conductive contact (fig 8:va-vd; [para 0023]).
Regarding claim 20.
Kim in view of Giraudin teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 16,
Giraudin teaches:
a third dielectric layer (fig 8:2d; [para 0027]) overlying the first trench resonator (fig 8:4a,4b,4c; [para 0020]);
and a conductive pad (fig 8:10b; [para 0027]) overlying the third dielectric layer (fig 8:2d; [para 0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a third dielectric layer I order to cover the semiconductor structures thereby providing protection and support for subsequent features.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach in combination with other elements of the claim, a semiconductor structure, comprising: a first trench resonator in a first dielectric layer and comprising a first conductive layer and a second dielectric layer; and a second trench resonator in the first dielectric layer and comprising a second conductive layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein at least one of: a material composition of the second dielectric layer differs from a material composition of the third dielectric layer, or a material composition of the first conductive layer differs from a material composition of the second conductive layer, the first device comprises a first transistor having a first gate dielectric layer with a first thickness; and the second device comprises a second transistor having a second gate dielectric layer with a second thickness different than the first thickness.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach in combination with other elements of the claim a semiconductor structure, comprising: a first trench resonator in a first dielectric layer and comprising a first conductive layer and a second dielectric layer; and a second trench resonator in the first dielectric layer and comprising a second conductive layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein at least one of: a material composition of the second dielectric layer differs from a material composition of the third dielectric layer, or a material composition of the first conductive layer differs from a material composition of the second conductive layer, the first trench resonator and the second trench resonator are positioned in a scribe line of a semiconductor wafer.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach in combination with other elements of the claim, a semiconductor structure, comprising: a first trench resonator in a first dielectric layer and comprising a first conductive layer and a second dielectric layer; and a second trench resonator in the first dielectric layer and comprising a second conductive layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein at least one of: a material composition of the second dielectric layer differs from a material composition of the third dielectric layer, or a material composition of the first conductive layer differs from a material composition of the second conductive layer, wherein a depth of the first conductive layer, measured from a top surface of the first dielectric layer to a bottommost point of the first conductive layer, is different than a depth of the second conductive layer, measured from the top surface of the first dielectric layer to a bottommost point of the second conductive layer.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art does not teach in combination with other elements of the claim, a semiconductor structure, comprising: a first monitoring structure in the peripheral region, comprising: a first trench resonator comprising a first conductive layer and a first dielectric layer; and a second trench resonator comprising a second conductive layer and a second dielectric layer, wherein a material composition of the first dielectric layer differs from a material composition of the second dielectric layer.
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817