DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 6-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109020588 (hereafter CN, citations taken from the previously attached Google translated document) in view of Karandikar et al. (US 8474362)
As to claim 1, CN teaches a method for uniformly distributing particulate matter in a fiber reinforcement of a ceramic matrix composite material (abstract, at least as broadly as ‘uniformly distributing’ is claimed, also claim 3), comprising: providing at least one preform of at least one fiber reinforcement; infiltrating the at least one preform with at least one slurry comprising at least one particulate material and at least one solvent (claim 1) to form at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising at least one particulate material; freezing the at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material; sublimating the at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one structural support comprising the at least one particulate material uniformly distributed thereupon within at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform (freeze drying includes both freezing and sublimation in claim 1); and melt-infiltrating with at least one metal, at least one metalloid, at least one metal alloy, or at least one metalloid alloy (Si melt in claim 1), the at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one structural support to form at least one melt-infiltrated CMC material.
CN does not include that the at least one particulate material is diamond. Karandikar et al. teaches a similar process (Example 1) where diamond particulates are added to the slurry that infiltrates the CMC in order to enhance hardness and Young’s modulus of the composite (abstract, Col 6 lines 34-67, col 7 lines 24-35, Example 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify CN to include diamond particulate it its slurry as taught by Karandikar in order to enhance hardness and Young’s modulus of the composite.
As to claim 2, CN includes a binder in its claim 1.
As to claims 4 and 6-9, CN includes the particulate materials, such as BN, Si3N4 and SiC powders in its slurry in its claim 1 and abstract, for example. The carbon materials are on p3. As CN includes the alternatives of Claim 4, it follows that the further limited alternatives are also met. Further, Karandikar et al. includes these other particulate materials in its Examples.
As to claims 10-15, the fibers are coated with a BN material on CN p 3-4 and the examiner takes official notice, along with what is taught in CN, that it is common in the art to use CVD or slurry infiltration, as it is used here, to deposit protective coatings on fibers. As CN includes the alternatives of Claim 12, it follows that the further limited alternatives are also met.
As to claim 16, the foam material is an inherent result of the claimed method. Further, ‘foam like’ material is broad and includes porous materials. Thus, as CN teaches the claimed method, this result is taught as well.
As to claim 17, the melt infiltration is as claimed in the CN abstract and p2.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheedy et al. (US 2018/0155252 A1) in view of Karandikar et al. (US 8474362)
As to claim 1, Sheedy teaches a method for uniformly distributing particulate matter in a fiber reinforcement of a ceramic matrix composite material (abstract, at least as broadly as ‘uniformly distributing’ is claimed, para 0003), comprising: providing at least one preform of at least one fiber reinforcement; infiltrating the at least one preform with at least one slurry comprising at least one particulate material and at least one solvent (para 0005-0006, 0022) to form at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising at least one particulate material; freezing the at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material; sublimating the at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one structural support comprising the at least one particulate material uniformly distributed thereupon within at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform (freeze drying includes both freezing and sublimation in the abstract and para 0022-0026); and melt-infiltrating with at least one metal, at least one metalloid, at least one metal alloy, or at least one metalloid alloy (melt infiltration in claim 1, para 0029, step 660 in Fig 6 includes standard CMC processes which inherently includes melt infiltration by metal or metalloids), the at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one structural support to form at least one melt-infiltrated CMC material.
Sheedy does not include that the at least one particulate material is diamond. Karandikar et al. teaches a similar process (Example 1) where diamond particulates are added to the slurry that infiltrates the CMC in order to enhance hardness and Young’s modulus of the composite (abstract, Col 6 lines 34-67, col 7 lines 24-35, Example 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include diamond particulate it its slurry as taught by Karandikar in order to enhance hardness and Young’s modulus of the composite.
As to claim 2, Sheedy includes a binder in para 0022.
As to claim 16, the foam material is an inherent result of the claimed method. Thus, as Sheedy teaches the claimed method, this result is taught as well.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN and Karandikar et al. in view of Harris (US 2019/0100466 A1)
As to claim 3, CN teaches a gel binder (carboxymethylcellulose in claim 1) but not those claimed. Harris teaches the claimed gel binders in para 0018 in order to make the particle distribution more uniform in para 0017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify CN to include the claimed binders as taught by Harris in order to make the particle distribution more uniform.
As to claims 4 and 6-9, Harris additionally teaches other particulate materials that may be used in a ceramic matrix composite slurry in para 0016. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify CN to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, Karandikar et al. includes these other particulate materials in its Examples.
As to claims 10-15, Harris additionally teaches a protective coating using other claimed materials deposited by CVD in para 0014. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify CN to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris, and use CVD as a deposition method for the coating on the fibers, as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheedy et al. in view of EITHER Harris OR CN and in further view of Karandikar et al.
As to claim 1, Sheedy teaches a method for uniformly distributing particulate matter in a fiber reinforcement of a ceramic matrix composite material (abstract, at least as broadly as ‘uniformly distributing’ is claimed, para 0003), comprising: providing at least one preform of at least one fiber reinforcement; infiltrating the at least one preform with at least one slurry comprising at least one particulate material and at least one solvent (para 0005-0006, 0022) to form at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising at least one particulate material; freezing the at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material; sublimating the at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one structural support comprising the at least one particulate material uniformly distributed thereupon within at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform (freeze drying includes both freezing and sublimation in the abstract and para 0022-0026); and melt-infiltrating with at least one metal, at least one metalloid, at least one metal alloy, or at least one metalloid alloy (melt infiltration in claim 1, para 0029, step 660 in Fig 6 includes standard CMC process), the at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one structural support to form at least one melt-infiltrated CMC material. Though it can be argued that a CMC melt process inherently includes metals or metalloids, this is also made obvious by Harris in para 0010. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheehy to include a metal or metalloid in its melt as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
In the alternative, CN teaches melt infiltration as well in its claim 1 using a metalloid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheehy to include a metal or metalloid in its melt as CN teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Sheedy does not include that the at least one particulate material is diamond. Karandikar et al. teaches a similar process (Example 1) where diamond particulates are added to the slurry that infiltrates the CMC in order to enhance hardness and Young’s modulus of the composite (abstract, Col 6 lines 34-67, col 7 lines 24-35, Example 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include diamond particulate it its slurry as taught by Karandikar in order to enhance hardness and Young’s modulus of the composite.
As to claim 2, Sheedy includes a binder in para 0022.
As to claim 3, Sheedy does not include the claimed binders. Harris teaches the claimed gel binders in para 0018 in order to make the particle distribution more uniform in para 0017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheehy o include the claimed binders as taught by Harris in order to make the particle distribution more uniform.
As to claims 4 and 6-9, Sheedy teaches particulate materials but not those claimed in its slurry. Harris teaches particulate materials that may be used in a ceramic matrix composite slurry in para 0016 that are as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, Karandikar et al. includes these other particulate materials in its Examples.
In the alternative, CN includes the particulate materials, such as BN, Si3N4 and SiC powders in its slurry in its claim 1 and abstract, for example. The carbon materials are on p3. As CN includes the alternatives of Claim 4, it follows that the further limited alternatives are also met.
As to claims 10-15, Sheedy teaches an interface coating, but not of the materials claimed. Harris teaches a protective/interface coating using the claimed materials deposited by CVD in para 0014. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris, and use CVD as a deposition method for the coating on the fibers, as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claim 16, the foam material is an inherent result of the claimed method. Thus, as Sheedy teaches the claimed method, this result is taught as well.
As to claim 17, the metalloid melt infiltration is as claimed in the CN abstract and p2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include the claimed materials as taught by CN as CN teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718