DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the products are distinct and cannot be made by another process. This is not found persuasive because product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113). Thus, the product can be made by any method that results in a coated product before melt infiltration, including CVD that results in the growth of particles, a slurry method that includes sintering or regular drying over freeze drying, or any other common deposition method such as dipping, PVD, ALD etc., as long as the structure is implied.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 109020588 (hereafter CN, citations taken from the attached Google translated document).
As to claim 1, CN teaches a method for uniformly distributing particulate matter in a fiber reinforcement of a ceramic matrix composite material (abstract, at least as broadly as ‘uniformly distributing’ is claimed, also claim 3), comprising: providing at least one preform of at least one fiber reinforcement; infiltrating the at least one preform with at least one slurry comprising at least one particulate material and at least one solvent (claim 1) to form at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising at least one particulate material; freezing the at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material; sublimating the at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one structural support comprising the at least one particulate material uniformly distributed thereupon within at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform (freeze drying includes both freezing and sublimation in claim 1); and melt-infiltrating with at least one metal, at least one metalloid, at least one metal alloy, or at least one metalloid alloy (Si melt in claim 1), the at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one structural support to form at least one melt-infiltrated CMC material.
As to claim 2, CN includes a binder in its claim 1.
As to claims 4-9, CN includes the particulate materials, such as BN, Si3N4 and SiC powders in its slurry in its claim 1 and abstract, for example. The carbon materials are on p3. As CN includes the alternatives of Claim 4, it follows that the further limited alternatives are also met.
As to claims 10-15, the fibers are coated with a BN material on p 3-4 and the examiner takes official notice, along with what is taught in CN, that it is common in the art to use CVD or slurry infiltration, as it is used here, to deposit protective coatings on fibers. As CN includes the alternatives of Claim 12, it follows that the further limited alternatives are also met.
As to claim 16, the foam material is an inherent result of the claimed method. Further, ‘foam like’ material is broad and includes porous materials. Thus, as CN teaches the claimed method, this result is taught as well.
As to claim 17, the melt infiltration is as claimed in the abstract and p2.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheedy et al. (US 2018/0155252 A1)
As to claim 1, Sheedy teaches a method for uniformly distributing particulate matter in a fiber reinforcement of a ceramic matrix composite material (abstract, at least as broadly as ‘uniformly distributing’ is claimed, para 0003), comprising: providing at least one preform of at least one fiber reinforcement; infiltrating the at least one preform with at least one slurry comprising at least one particulate material and at least one solvent (para 0005-0006, 0022) to form at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising at least one particulate material; freezing the at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material; sublimating the at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one structural support comprising the at least one particulate material uniformly distributed thereupon within at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform (freeze drying includes both freezing and sublimation in the abstract and para 0022-0026); and melt-infiltrating with at least one metal, at least one metalloid, at least one metal alloy, or at least one metalloid alloy (melt infiltration in claim 1, para 0029, step 660 in Fig 6 includes standard CMC processes which inherently includes melt infiltration by metal or metalloids), the at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one structural support to form at least one melt-infiltrated CMC material.
As to claim 2, Sheedy includes a binder in para 0022.
As to claim 16, the foam material is an inherent result of the claimed method. Thus, as Sheedy teaches the claimed method, this result is taught as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN in view of Harris (US 2019/0100466 A1)
As to claim 3, CN teaches a gel binder (carboxymethylcellulose in claim 1) but not those claimed. Harris teaches the claimed gel binders in para 0018 in order to make the particle distribution more uniform in para 0017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify CN to include the claimed binders as taught by Harris in order to make the particle distribution more uniform.
As to claims 4-9, Harris additionally teaches other particulate materials that may be used in a ceramic matrix composite slurry in para 0016. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify CN to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claims 10-15, Harris additionally teaches a protective coating using other claimed materials deposited by CVD in para 0014. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify CN to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris, and use CVD as a deposition method for the coating on the fibers, as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 1- 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheedy et al. in view of EITHER Harris OR CN
As to claim 1, Sheedy teaches a method for uniformly distributing particulate matter in a fiber reinforcement of a ceramic matrix composite material (abstract, at least as broadly as ‘uniformly distributing’ is claimed, para 0003), comprising: providing at least one preform of at least one fiber reinforcement; infiltrating the at least one preform with at least one slurry comprising at least one particulate material and at least one solvent (para 0005-0006, 0022) to form at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising at least one particulate material; freezing the at least one slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material; sublimating the at least one frozen slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one particulate material to form at least one structural support comprising the at least one particulate material uniformly distributed thereupon within at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform (freeze drying includes both freezing and sublimation in the abstract and para 0022-0026); and melt-infiltrating with at least one metal, at least one metalloid, at least one metal alloy, or at least one metalloid alloy (melt infiltration in claim 1, para 0029, step 660 in Fig 6 includes standard CMC process), the at least one sublimated slurry infiltrated preform comprising the at least one structural support to form at least one melt-infiltrated CMC material. Though it can be argued that a CMC melt process inherently includes metals or metalloids, this is also made obvious by Harris in para 0010. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheehy to include a metal or metalloid in its melt as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
In the alternative, CN teaches melt infiltration as well in its claim 1 using a metalloid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheehy to include a metal or metalloid in its melt as CN teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claim 2, Sheedy includes a binder in para 0022.
As to claim 3, Sheedy does not include the claimed binders. Harris teaches the claimed gel binders in para 0018 in order to make the particle distribution more uniform in para 0017. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheehy o include the claimed binders as taught by Harris in order to make the particle distribution more uniform.
As to claims 4-9, Sheedy teaches particulate materials but not those claimed in its slurry. Harris teaches particulate materials that may be used in a ceramic matrix composite slurry in para 0016 that are as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
In the alternative, CN includes the particulate materials, such as BN, Si3N4 and SiC powders in its slurry in its claim 1 and abstract, for example. The carbon materials are on p3. As CN includes the alternatives of Claim 4, it follows that the further limited alternatives are also met.
As to claims 10-15, Sheedy teaches an interface coating, but not of the materials claimed. Harris teaches a protective/interface coating using the claimed materials deposited by CVD in para 0014. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include the claimed materials as taught by Harris, and use CVD as a deposition method for the coating on the fibers, as Harris teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claim 16, the foam material is an inherent result of the claimed method. Thus, as Sheedy teaches the claimed method, this result is taught as well.
As to claim 17, the metalloid melt infiltration is as claimed in the CN abstract and p2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sheedy to include the claimed materials as taught by CN as CN teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715