Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Species I (Claims 1-9 and 18-20), without traverse, in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0074939).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses a light emitting element, comprising: a first electrode (EL1); a hole transport region (HTR) on the first electrode; an emission layer (EL) on the hole transport region; an electron transport region (ETR) on the emission layer; and a second electrode (EL2) on the electron transport region, wherein the electron transport region comprises a nanoparticle comprising a nanoparticle core, and a ligand, the nanoparticle core comprises a core compound represented by the following Formula 1 [0107], and the ligand is bonded to the surface of the nanoparticle core, and represented by the following Formula 2 or Formula 3: in Formula 1, A is Zn, or Sn, and “x”, and “y” are each independently an integer of 1 to 5, in Formula 2, M is one among Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Be, Ca, Sr, and Ba, R.sub.1 is a hydrogen atom, a deuterium atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group of 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group of 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group of 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, “a” is an integer of 0 to 3, and “custom-character”, and are each a position connected with the nanoparticle core, and in Formula 3, R2 is a hydrogen atom, a deuterium atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group of 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group of 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group of 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, M is the same as defined with respect to Formula 2, “b” is an integer of 0 to 3, and “custom-character” is a position connected with the nanoparticle core [0010-0016].
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses the electron transport region comprises: an electron transport layer (ETL) on the emission layer; and an electron injection layer (EIL) on the electron transport layer, and the electron transport layer comprises the nanoparticle.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses the nanoparticle core is doped with a metal element [0013].
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses the metal element is at least one among Zn, Mg, Li, Na, Ni, and Cu [0013].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses the emission layer comprises a quantum dot [0017].
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses in Formula 1, “x” is 1, and “y” is 2 [0107].
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses if the ligand is represented by Formula 2, R.sub.1 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and if the ligand is represented by Formula 3, R.sub.2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 1 to 5 carbon atoms [0013].
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses if the ligand is represented by Formula 2, R.sub.1 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 6 to 20 carbon atoms, and if the ligand is represented by Formula 3, R.sub.2 is a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 6 to 20 carbon atoms [0114].
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 7 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, in view of Choi (KR 20200059651, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 7
Jung discloses Claim 1.
Jung is silent with respect to “in Formula 1, “A” is Sn, and in Formula 2 and Formula 3, M is Ca”.
FIG. 2 of Choi discloses a similar light element, wherein in Formula 1, “A” is Sn, and in Formula 2 and Formula 3, M is Ca [0101-0107].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jung, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung in the above manner for purpose of improving light extraction efficiency (text of Choi).
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 16 of Jung discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (BS); and a display element layer on the base layer and comprising a light emitting element (FIG. 4), wherein: the light emitting element comprises: a first electrode (EL1); a hole transport region (HTR) on the first electrode; an emission layer (EL) on the hole transport region; an electron transport region (ETR) on the emission layer; and a second electrode (EL2) on the electron transport region, wherein the electron transport region comprises a nanoparticle comprising a nanoparticle core, and a ligand, the nanoparticle core comprises a core compound represented by the following Formula 1 [0107], and the ligand is bonded to the surface of the nanoparticle core, and represented by the following Formula 2 or Formula 3: in Formula 1, A is Zn, or Sn, and “x”, and “y” are each independently an integer of 1 to 5, in Formula 2, M is one among Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Be, Ca, Sr, and Ba, R.sub.1 is a hydrogen atom, a deuterium atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group of 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group of 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group of 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, “a” is an integer of 0 to 3, and “custom-character”, and are each a position connected with the nanoparticle core, and in Formula 3, R2 is a hydrogen atom, a deuterium atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group of 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group of 6 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, or a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group of 2 to 30 ring-forming carbon atoms, M is the same as defined with respect to Formula 2, “b” is an integer of 0 to 3, and “custom-character” is a position connected with the nanoparticle core [0010-0016].
Jung is silent with respect to “a circuit layer on the base layer”.
FIG. 1 of Choi discloses a similar display device comprising: a base layer (102); a circuit layer (104-160) on the base layer; and a display element layer (180) on the circuit layer and comprising a light emitting element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jung, as taught by Choi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jung in the above manner for purpose of proving a driving circuit (text of Choi).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses the light emitting element further comprises: a hole transport region (HTR) on the first electrode; and an emission layer (EL) between the hole transport region and the electron transport region (ETR), and the emission layer comprises a quantum dot [0006].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 4 of Jung discloses the electron transport region comprises: an electron transport layer (ETL) on the emission layer; and an electron injection layer (EIL) on the electron transport layer, and the electron transport layer comprises the nanoparticle.
Pertinent Art
US 20180179441.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897