Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 9 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 117241622, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Li discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: a substrate (10); overhang pixel isolation structures (PIS 41, directly under 43); overhang structures (40), the overhang structures including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures; separation PIS (41, along the direction orthogonal to overhang PIS); a metal structure (21) disposed over the substrate; an inorganic layer (42) disposed over each overhang PIS and over each separation PIS [0034], the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings; organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (22) disposed over the metal structure, wherein the OLED material is disposed between the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures; and a cathode (23) disposed over the OLED material.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 1 of Li discloses a sub-pixel, comprising overhang structures (PIS 41, directly under 43) disposed over a substrate (40) including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures, a metal structure (21) disposed over the substrate, an inorganic layer(42) disposed under each extension of the overhang structures, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings, the sub-pixel is made by a process comprising: depositing an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (22) over the substrate, the OLED is disposed over the metal structure, wherein the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures is disposed between the OLED material; and depositing a cathode (23), wherein the cathode is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 1 of Li discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: overhang structures (PIS 41, directly under 43) disposed over a substrate (40) including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures, a metal structure (21) disposed over the substrate, an inorganic layer (42) disposed under each extension of the overhang structures, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings, the sub-pixel is made by a process comprising: depositing an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (22) over the substrate, the OLED is disposed over the metal structure, wherein the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures is disposed between the OLED material; and depositing a cathode (23), wherein the cathode is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-15 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0344417)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: a substrate (102); overhang pixel isolation structures (PIS 126 in rows); overhang structures (110), the overhang structures including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures; separation PIS (126 in columns); a metal structure (104) disposed over the substrate; an inorganic layer (130) disposed over each overhang PIS and over each separation PIS, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings; organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (112) disposed over the metal structure, wherein the OLED material is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures; and a cathode (114) disposed over the OLED material.
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses adjacent overhang PIS have the metal structure disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses adjacent separation PIS have the metal structure disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses the overhang structures include a second structure (110C) disposed over a first structure (110A).
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses an encapsulation layer (116) disposed over the cathode (114) and past an endpoint of the cathode.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses the plurality of openings extend through the inorganic layer to a top surface of the separation PIS or an upper surface of the overhang PIS.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: overhang structures (110) disposed over a substrate (102) including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures, a metal structure (104) disposed over the substrate, an inorganic layer (130) disposed under each extension of the overhang structures, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings, the sub-pixel is made by a process comprising: depositing an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (112) over the substrate, the OLED is disposed over the metal structure, wherein the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures is disposed between the OLED material; and depositing a cathode (114), wherein the cathode is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures
Regarding Claim 10
The limitation “the inorganic layer is deposited using evaporation deposition” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses overhang pixel isolation structures (PIS 126) disposed under the overhang structures.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses adjacent overhang PIS have the metal structure disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses adjacent separation PIS have the metal structure disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses an encapsulation layer (120) disposed over the cathode (114) and past an endpoint of the cathode, wherein the encapsulation layer extends under at least a portion of the extensions of overhang structures, along the sidewall of the overhang structures, and contacts a bottom surface of the extensions of the overhang structures.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: overhang structures (110) disposed over a substrate (102) including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures, a metal structure (104) disposed over the substrate, an inorganic layer (130) disposed under each extension of the overhang structures, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings, the sub-pixel is made by a process comprising: depositing an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (112) over the substrate, the OLED is disposed over the metal structure, wherein the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures is disposed between the OLED material; and depositing a cathode (114), wherein the cathode is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses depositing an encapsulation layer (116) over the cathode (114) and past an endpoint of the cathode, wherein the encapsulation layer extends under at least a portion of the extensions of overhang structures, along the sidewall of the overhang structures, and contacts a bottom surface of the extensions of the overhang structures.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses the plurality of openings extend through the inorganic layer to a top surface of the separation PIS or an upper surface of the overhang PIS.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 1 of Choung discloses the plurality of openings extend through the inorganic layer to a top surface of the separation PIS or an upper surface of the overhang PIS.
Claims 1, 9, 15 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuda (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0269971)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Fukuda discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: a substrate (10); overhang pixel isolation structures (PIS 5 in rows); overhang structures (6) [0040], the overhang structures including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures; separation PIS (5 in columns); a metal structure (LE) disposed over the substrate; an inorganic layer (SE) disposed over each overhang PIS and over each separation PIS, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings; organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (OR) disposed over the metal structure [0053], wherein the OLED material is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures; and a cathode (UE) [0052] disposed over the OLED material.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 3 of Fukuda discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: overhang structures (6) disposed over a substrate (12) including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures, a metal structure (LE) disposed over the substrate, an inorganic layer (SE) disposed under each extension of the overhang structures, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings, the sub-pixel is made by a process comprising: depositing an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (OR) over the substrate, the OLED is disposed over the metal structure, wherein the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures is disposed between the OLED material; and depositing a cathode (UE), wherein the cathode is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 3 of Fukuda discloses a sub-pixel, comprising: overhang structures (6) disposed over a substrate (12) including an extension disposed past a sidewall of the overhang structures, a metal structure (LE) disposed over the substrate, an inorganic layer (SE) disposed under each extension of the overhang structures, the inorganic layer including a plurality of openings, the sub-pixel is made by a process comprising: depositing an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material (OR) over the substrate, the OLED is disposed over the metal structure, wherein the inorganic layer under each extension of the overhang structures is disposed between the OLED material; and depositing a cathode (UE), wherein the cathode is disposed under each extension of the overhang structures
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 3 of Fukuda discloses portions of the inorganic layer are removed by an etching process [0080].
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 4, 7 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung, in view of Bo (CN 108232036, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 4
Choung discloses Claim 1, wherein the inorganic layer comprises a metal oxide [0028].
Choung is silent with respect to “the inorganic layer comprises aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3)”.
FIG. 5 of Bo discloses a similar sub-pixel, wherein the inorganic layer comprises aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Choung, as taught by Bo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choung in the above manner for purpose of improving the adhesion ([0048] of Bo).
Regarding Claim 7
Choung discloses Claim 1.
Choung is silent with respect to “the plurality of openings comprise about 20 percent of the inorganic layer”.
FIG. 5 of Bo discloses a similar sub-pixel, comprising an inorganic layer (140) disposed over each overhang PIS and over each separation PIS, wherein the plurality of openings comprise about 20 percent of the inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Choung, as taught by Bo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choung in the above manner for purpose of preventing oxygen and water from corroding the pixel body. ([0003] of Bo).
Regarding Claim 19
Choung discloses Claim 15.
Choung is silent with respect to “the inorganic layer comprises aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3)”.
FIG. 5 of Bo discloses a similar sub-pixel, wherein the inorganic layer comprises aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Choung, as taught by Bo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choung in the above manner for purpose of improving the adhesion ([0048] of Bo).
Pertinent Art
Lin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0376204); Zhu (CN 117279430), CN 117529179, CN 116261925, JP 2023120847, JP 2005026103.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897