DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on June 24, 2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Acknowledgement
The present office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this office action are claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazume (US 2018/0190637) in view of Pagaila (US 2010/0289126)
With respect to Claim 16, Kitazume shows (Fig. 1-11) most aspects of the current invention including a method of forming a semiconductor package, comprising:
providing a first die (30),
stacking a second die (21) on the first die along a first direction (vertical)
forming a first inductor (22) over the first die,
forming a second inductor (23) over the first die
wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are physically separated
However, Kitazume fails to show wherein the first inductor comprising a plurality of first coils around a first axis, wherein the first axis is substantially perpendicular to the first direction and wherein the second inductor includes a plurality of second coils around a second axis.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Pagaila teaches (Fig 5) a method of forming a semiconductor package, comprising a die (122) stacked on a build-up interconnect structure along a first direction (vertical), forming a first inductor (pillars 180a, 180b with core 182) adjacent to the die, wherein the first inductor comprising a plurality of first coils around a first axis, wherein the first axis is substantially perpendicular to the first direction, and further forming a second inductor (pillars 180c, 180d with core 184) adjacent to the die, wherein the second inductor includes a plurality of second coils around a second axis. Pagaila teaches doing so to provide integrated 3D inductors coiled around inductor cores (par 50) which provide the electrical characteristics needed for high frequency applications, such as resonators, high-pass filters, low-pass filters, band-pass filters, symmetric Hi-Q resonant transformers, matching networks, and tuning capacitors (par 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first inductor comprising a plurality of first coils around a first axis, wherein the first axis is substantially perpendicular to the first direction and wherein the second inductor includes a plurality of second coils around a second axis, in the device of Kitazume, as taught by Pagaila to provide integrated 3D inductors coiled around inductor cores which provide the electrical characteristics needed for high frequency applications, such as resonators, high-pass filters, low-pass filters, band-pass filters, symmetric Hi-Q resonant transformers, matching networks, and tuning capacitors.
With respect to Claim 18, Pagaila teaches (Fig 5) wherein the second axis is substantially perpendicular to the first direction
With respect to Claim 19, Kitazume shows (Fig. 1-11) wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are disposed at different sides of the second die
With respect to Claim 20, Kitazume shows (Fig. 1-11) wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are disposed at opposite sides of the second die.
Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazume (US 2018/0190637) in view of Pagaila (US 2010/0289126) and in further view of Kim (US 2017/0373025).
With respect to Claim 21, Kitazume in view of Pagaila show most aspects of the current invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein the second axis is different from the first axis.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches (Fig 2,7) a method of forming a semiconductor package, comprising a die (230) on the first die along a first direction (vertical), forming a first inductor (250) adjacent to the die, the first inductor around a first axis that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction and a second inductor (780) around a second axis that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the second axis is different from the first axis. Kim teaches the first inductor and the second inductor may be electrically coupled such that they are electrically in parallel with each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the second axis is different from the first axis, in the device of Kitazume and Pagaila, as taught by Kim because the first inductor and the second inductor may be electrically coupled such that they are electrically in parallel with each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a method of forming a semiconductor package comprising wherein the second conductive patterns are connected to the first conductive patterns to form a first coil and a second coil surrounding the first coil, the first coil has a first total height extended along the first direction, the second coil has a second total height along the first direction, and the second total height is different from the first total height.
Examiner's comments: the closest prior art references (Gu US 2016/0133614; Pagaila US 2010/0289126; Song US 2016/0141244; Hu US 2019/0148342; Kitazume US 2018/0190637) are all directed in part to semiconductor package comprising a second die stacked on a first die, a first inductor disposed over the first die, wherein the first inductor has a plurality of first coils, similar to the instant inventions.
However, none of the references neither anticipates nor renders obvious the following features of wherein the second conductive patterns are connected to the first conductive patterns to form a first coil and a second coil surrounding the first coil, the first coil has a first total height extended along the first direction, the second coil has a second total height along the first direction, and the second total height is different from the first total height.
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a method of forming a semiconductor package comprising wherein the through vias, the first conductive layers, the first conductive vias, the second conductive layers and the second conductive vias are connected to form an inductor having a first coil and a second coil surrounding the first coil and the first coil and the second coil are around an axis substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Examiner's comments: the closest prior art references (Gu US 2016/0133614; 17. Song US 2016/0141244; Hu US 2019/0148342; Kitazume US 2018/0190637) are all directed in part to semiconductor package comprising a second die stacked on a first die, a first inductor disposed over the first die, wherein the first inductor has a plurality of first coils, similar to the instant inventions.
However, none of the references neither anticipates nor renders obvious the following features of wherein the through vias, the first conductive layers, the first conductive vias, the second conductive layers and the second conductive vias are connected to form an inductor having a first coil and a second coil surrounding the first coil and the first coil and the second coil are around an axis substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-
217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q. B./
Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814