DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Heating mechanism in claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 21-24; and
A chemical delivery unit in claim 14.
The heating mechanism has been interpreted as being an infrared lamp (Paragraph 0022), a microwave source (Paragraph 0023) or a flash lamp (Paragraph 0024) or other equivalent heater; and
The chemical delivery unit has been interpreted as being a pipe 218 as seen in Figures 2-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21 recites the limitation "the heating mechanism" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 21 and its dependent claims 22-26, it is not clear if “the heating mechanism” in line 6 is the same heating mechanism as the “a heating mechanism” in line 10 or if they are two different heating mechanisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoepp et al, WO 99/50886.
Schoepp et al teaches:
Regarding claim 8, a semiconductor fabrication apparatus, comprising: a processing chamber (outer walls in Figure 1); a substrate stage 12 integrated in the processing chamber and being configured to secure a semiconductor wafer 13; a gas distribution plate 22 integrated inside the processing chamber, wherein the gas distribution plate defines a portion of a top surface of the processing chamber (Figure 1); and a heating mechanism 68 disposed on sidewalls of the processing chamber and is operable to perform a baking process (Figure 3), wherein from a top view, the heating mechanism has a ring shape surrounding the substrate stage (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, a chemical delivery unit 23 connected to the gas distribution plate 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoepp et al, WO 99/50886.
Schoepp et al was discussed above.
Schoepp et al differs from the present invention in that Schoepp et al does not teach that the heating mechanism includes four connected segments.
It has been held that a change in shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. (See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) MPEP 2144.04.IV.B)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to change the shape of the heating mechanism of Schoepp et al from a single ring to 4 connected segments that form a ring.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,222,794 B2 (‘794). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘794 teach the claimed invention.
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,033,863 B2 (‘863). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘863 teach the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. The following references show the typical prior art heating mechanisms US 6021152 A, WO 2025222050 A1, or JP 03046225.
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716