DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the conductive base, insulating member, intermediate region, outer region, central region, inner ring supporting surface, outer ring supporting surface, first height, second height, third height must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Insulating member (any structure that insulates, due to lack of disclosure of corresponding structure in the specification) in at least claims 1-20.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Conductive base (no structure appears to be disclosed in specification).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “Insulating member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040129226 to Strang in view of US 20070215279 to Koshiishi.
Claims 1, 11: Strang discloses a substrate support comprising: an electrostatic chuck (300 [substrate holder], Fig. 9-10, para. [0033]) having: a central region (central 300) having a substrate supporting surface (central 310 [upper surface]) extending at a first height (Fig. 1, 6A, 9, 10); an outer region (outer region of 300) having an outer ring supporting surface (surface below 630 [mating lip]) extending at the first height (Fig. 6A); and an intermediate region (region under 600 [focus ring]) connected between the central region (central 300) and the outer region (region under 630), and having an inner ring supporting surface (320 [receiving feature]) extending at a second height lower than the first height (Fig. 10);
an insulating member (62 [shield ring], Fig. 9) disposed so as to surround the electrostatic chuck (300, Fig. 9); and a focus ring (600 [focus ring]) having an outer annular portion (630) and an inner annular portion (610, Fig. 6, 9, 10), the outer annular portion (630) being disposed on the outer ring supporting surface (surface below 630), the inner annular portion (610) being disposed on the inner ring supporting surface (320).
However Strang does not disclose a conductive base; the electrostatic chuck disposed on the conductive base, the outer annular portion being disposed on the insulating member.
Koshiishi discloses a conductive base (11 [mounting table], Fig. 1, para. [0042]); the electrostatic chuck (not shown, para. [0043]) disposed on the conductive base (11), and a focus ring (25 [focus ring]) that can be disposed on, next to, partially under, or otherwise arranged with an insulating member (26/61/62, Fig. 2, 6, 7, 14), for the purpose of circulating a heat medium for temperature control (para. [0043]) and/or electrically insulating portions of the components (para. [0012, 0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the conductive base and configuration, and the optionality of arranging the focus ring with the insulating member as taught by Koshiishi with motivation to circulating a heat medium for temperature control and/or electrically insulating portions of the components.
Claims 4, 14: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi discloses wherein the electrostatic chuck (30, Fig. 1, Strang) has a common bottom surface for the central region, the outer region and the intermediate region (Fig. 1).
Claims 5, 15: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi discloses wherein the outer annular portion of the focus ring (630 of 600, Fig. 6a, Strang) has an outer bottom surface (bottom surface of 630) extending at the first height (Fig. 6A), and the inner annular portion of the focus ring (610 of 600) has an inner bottom surface (bottom surface of 610) extending at the second height (Fig. 6A).
Claims 8, 18: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi discloses wherein the focus ring (600, Fig. 6A, Strang) is formed of Si or SiC (para. [0036]).
Claims 9, 19: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi does not explicitly disclose wherein the focus ring is formed of quartz.
Yet Strang teaches that a consumable or replaceable component such as one fabricated from silicon, quartz, alumina, carbon, or silicon carbide, can be inserted within the processing chamber for the purpose of protecting the surfaces of the more valuable components, and minimize the damage sustained by exposure to the processing plasma (para. [0005]). Strang is necessarily teaching that a focus ring can be one of the consumable or replaceable components.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept teachings of Strang as a material requirement for the focus ring, with motivation to protect the surfaces of the more valuable components, and minimize the damage sustained by exposure to the processing plasma.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strang in view of Koshiishi as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 18-19 above, and further in view of US 6475336 to Hubacek.
Claims 2, 12: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi does not disclose wherein a thickness of the inner annular portion of the focus ring corresponds to a difference between the first height and the second height.
Hubacek discloses wherein a thickness of an inner annular portion of the focus ring (60 [mating portion] of 58 [edge ring], Fig. 5) corresponds to a difference between the first height (height of 50) and the second height (height of bottom of 56), for the purpose of improving thermal coupling from the focus ring to the substrate support with the result that plasma erosion of the focus ring can be reduced (col. 3, lines 10-15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Hubacek with motivation to improve thermal coupling from the focus ring to the substrate support with the result that plasma erosion of the focus ring can be reduced.
Claims 6, 16: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi discloses wherein the outer annular portion of the focus ring (630 of 600, Fig. 6A, Strang) has an outer upper surface (upper surface of 630) extending at a third height higher than the first height (Fig. 6A).
However the apparatus of Strange in view of Koshiishi does not disclose and the inner annular portion of the focus ring has an inner upper surface extending at the first height.
Hubacek teaches the inner annular portion of the focus ring (60, Fig. 5) has an inner upper surface (upper surface of 60) extending at the first height (height of 50) for the purpose of improving thermal coupling from the focus ring to the substrate support with the result that plasma erosion of the focus ring can be reduced (col. 3, lines 10-15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Hubacek with motivation to improve thermal coupling from the focus ring to the substrate support with the result that plasma erosion of the focus ring can be reduced.
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strang in view of Koshiishi as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 18-19 above, and further in view of US 11049760 to Joubert.
Claims 7, 17: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi discloses wherein the third height corresponds to a height of a substrate placed on the substrate supporting surface.
It is noted that the recitations tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Joubert teaches that height different between the substrate and the edge ring can be less than about +/- 300 microns for the purpose of reducing edge effects and widening the processing window (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate height correspondence as necessary, with motivation to reduce edge effects and widen the processing window.
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strang in view of Koshiishi as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 18-19 above, and further in view of US 20160319428 to Rasheed.
Claims 10, 20: The apparatus of Strang in view of Koshiishi does not disclose wherein the focus ring extends beyond a periphery of the electrostatic chuck in a radial direction.
Rasheed teaches the focus ring (116 [edge ring], Fig. 1) extends beyond a periphery of the electrostatic chuck (not shown but included in 108 [substrate support], para. [0017]) in a radial direction (see para. [0019] where 116 may include a skirt or downwardly extending annular lip to protect the sides of the substrate support, which renders it necessarily extended beyond a periphery of the first electrode) for the purpose of protecting the sides of the substrate support (para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the extended portions of the edge ring as taught by Rasheed with motivation to protect the sides of the substrate support.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718