DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun et al. (US 2023/0329068 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Yun”).
With respect to claim 1, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, a display device comprising: a substrate (100) including a display area (CA) and a peripheral area (PA) adjacent to the display area (CA) (see Par.[0082]-[0083], [0089] wherein the peripheral area PA may be outside the central area CA; it is desirable to apply a structure, such as the contractible substrate 100, to at least a portion of the corner area CAN; as a result, the structure of the display panel 10 in the corner area CNA may be different from the structure of the display panel 10 in the central area CA; the pixel PX that may be arranged in at least one of the central area CA); a plurality of light-emitting diodes (DPE) arranged in the display area (CA) (see Par.[0093] wherein FIG. 4 is an equivalent circuit diagram of the pixel circuit PC electrically connected to an OLED, which is a display element DPE forming a pixel included in the display apparatus 1 of FIG. 1A; the display element DPE may emit red light, green light, or blue light, or may emit red light, green light, blue light, or white light); a first inorganic encapsulation layer (310) disposed on the plurality of light-emitting diodes (DPE); an organic encapsulation layer (320) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer (310) (see Par.[0135]-[0136] wherein the encapsulation layer 300 may include a first inorganic encapsulation layer 310, a second inorganic encapsulation layer 320, and an organic encapsulation layer 330 therebetween; the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310 and the second inorganic encapsulation layer 320 may include silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (SiN.sub.x), silicon oxynitride (SiON), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), tantalum oxide (Ta.sub.2O.sub.5), hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2), or zinc oxide (ZnO or ZnO.sub.2); the organic encapsulation layer 330 may include PET, polyethylene naphthalate, polycarbonate, polyimide, polyethylene sulfonate, polyoxymethylene, polyarylate, HMDSO, acrylic resin (e.g., PMMA, polyacrylic acid, etc.), or any combination thereof); a plurality of inorganic patterns (400, 510) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (320) and spaced apart from each other (see Par.[0174]-[0175] wherein the touch sensor layer 400 may include the first touch insulating layer 410, the first touch conductive layer MTL1, a second touch insulating layer 420, the second touch conductive layer MTL2, and a third touch insulating layer 430; see Par.[0139]-[0141] wherein the first touch conductive layer 510 may include at least one of molybdenum (Mo), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), and titanium (Ti); for example, the first touch conductive layer 510 may have a multilayer structure of Ti/Al/Ti in which a titanium layer, an aluminum layer, and a titanium layer are sequentially stacked in this stated order; see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6 wherein at least two alternate plurality of pixels are spaced apart); and a touch electrode (500) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (320) and defining a plurality of electrode holes respectively overlapping the plurality of light-emitting diodes (DPE) in a plan view (see Par.[0099] wherein the display apparatus 1 may include a substrate 100, a pixel circuit layer PCL, a display element layer DEL, an encapsulation layer 300, a protective layer 400, and a touch sensor layer 500, and an anti-reflection layer 600).
With respect to claim 2, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (400) covers one of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (220) in a plan view, and the plurality of inorganic patterns are respectively arranged inside the plurality of electrode holes in a plan view (see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6).
With respect to claim 3, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (400) covers two or more of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (220) in a plan view, and each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (400) overlaps two or more of the plurality of electrode holes in a plan view (see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6).
With respect to claim 6, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein the plurality of inorganic patterns (400) comprise a first inorganic layer (410) and a second inorganic layer (430) (see Par.[0137]-[0138] wherein the protective layer 400 may prevent or reduce the occurrence of cracks in at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310 and/or the second inorganic encapsulation layer 320; a second inorganic protective layer 430 may be disposed on a first inorganic protective layer 410).
With respect to claim 7, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, further comprising: a first inorganic layer (520) disposed on the plurality of inorganic patterns (400) and covering the first opening, wherein the touch electrode (530) is disposed on the first inorganic layer (see Par.[0141]-[0142] wherein the first touch insulating layer 520 may include at least one inorganic material selected from aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), tantalum oxide (Ta.sub.2O.sub.5), hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2), zinc oxide (ZnO), silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (SiN.sub.x), and oxynitride (SiON)).
With respect to claim 8, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, further comprising: an organic layer (540) disposed on the plurality of inorganic patterns and filling the first opening, wherein the touch electrode is disposed on the organic layer (see Par.[0143] wherein the second touch insulating layer 540 may be disposed on the second touch conductive layer 530; the second touch insulating layer 540 may have a flat upper surface).
With respect to claim 13, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, further comprising: a common voltage line (ELVSSL) arranged in the peripheral area; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (540) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer and overlapping the common voltage line in a plan view, wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer defines a second opening extending in a direction parallel to an edge of the substrate (see Par.[0148]-[0152] wherein the pixel circuit layer PCL may further include a lower wiring LWL and an electrode power supply line ELVSSL; see Par.[0143] wherein the second touch insulating layer 540 may include a polymer-based material; the polymer-based material may be transparent; for example, the second touch insulating layer 540 may include silicone-based resin, acrylic resin, epoxy-based resin, polyimide, polyethylene, or the like).
With respect to claim 14, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein the second opening overlaps the organic encapsulation layer in a plan view (see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6).
With respect to claim 15, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein the second opening surrounds at least a portion of the display area in a plan view (see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6).
With respect to claim 16, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, a display device comprising: a substrate (100) including a display area (CA) and a peripheral area adjacent to the display area (PA) (see Par.[0082]-[0083], [0089] wherein the peripheral area PA may be outside the central area CA; it is desirable to apply a structure, such as the contractible substrate 100, to at least a portion of the corner area CAN; as a result, the structure of the display panel 10 in the corner area CNA may be different from the structure of the display panel 10 in the central area CA; the pixel PX that may be arranged in at least one of the central area CA); a plurality of light-emitting diodes (DPE) arranged in the display area (CA) (see Par.[0093] wherein FIG. 4 is an equivalent circuit diagram of the pixel circuit PC electrically connected to an OLED, which is a display element DPE forming a pixel included in the display apparatus 1 of FIG. 1A; the display element DPE may emit red light, green light, or blue light, or may emit red light, green light, blue light, or white light); a first inorganic encapsulation layer (310) disposed on the plurality of light-emitting diodes and extending to the peripheral area; an organic encapsulation layer (320) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (540) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer and defining a first opening in the peripheral area (see Par.[0135]-[0136] wherein the encapsulation layer 300 may include a first inorganic encapsulation layer 310, a second inorganic encapsulation layer 320, and an organic encapsulation layer 330 therebetween; the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310 and the second inorganic encapsulation layer 320 may include silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (SiN.sub.x), silicon oxynitride (SiON), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), tantalum oxide (Ta.sub.2O.sub.5), hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2), or zinc oxide (ZnO or ZnO.sub.2); the organic encapsulation layer 330 may include PET, polyethylene naphthalate, polycarbonate, polyimide, polyethylene sulfonate, polyoxymethylene, polyarylate, HMDSO, acrylic resin (e.g., PMMA, polyacrylic acid, etc.), or any combination thereof; see Par.[0143] wherein the second touch insulating layer 540 may include a polymer-based material; the polymer-based material may be transparent; for example, the second touch insulating layer 540 may include silicone-based resin, acrylic resin, epoxy-based resin, polyimide, polyethylene, or the like).
With respect to claim 17, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein the first opening overlaps the organic encapsulation layer in a plan view (see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6).
With respect to claim 18, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, further comprising: a common voltage line (ELVSSL) arranged in the peripheral area and surrounding at least a portion of the display area in a plan view; an organic insulating layer arranged between the substrate and the plurality of light-emitting diodes, and overlapping a boundary of the common voltage line at one side by extending from the display area to the peripheral area in a plan view (see Par.[0148]-[0152] wherein the pixel circuit layer PCL may further include a lower wiring LWL and an electrode power supply line ELVSSL; see Par.[0143] wherein the second touch insulating layer 540 may include a polymer-based material; the polymer-based material may be transparent; for example, the second touch insulating layer 540 may include silicone-based resin, acrylic resin, epoxy-based resin, polyimide, polyethylene, or the like); and a dam (CDAM) overlapping a boundary of the common voltage line at another side in a plan view (see Par.[0157] wherein the first pattern 119P and the second pattern 121P may form the first corner dam CDAM1 together with the inorganic pattern line IPL; the pixel defining layer 119 is formed, a second corner dam CDAM2 may be formed simultaneously by using the same material as each other; the second corner dam CDAM2 is spaced apart from the first corner dam CDAM1 and located on the corner inorganic pattern CIP).
With respect to claim 19, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein the first opening is disposed closer to the display area than to an end of the organic insulating layer (see Figs.1A, 3, 5-6).
With respect to claim 20, Yun discloses, in Figs.1A-12, the display device, wherein the peripheral area is bent with a curvature in a rear direction of the substrate (see Par.[0068] wherein as illustrated in FIG. 2A, a portion of the peripheral area PA, the middle area MA, and the first area A1 may be bent with a first radius R1 of curvature; as illustrated in FIG. 2B, another portion of the peripheral area PA, the middle area MA, and the second area A2 may be bent with a second radius R2 of curvature; as illustrated in FIG. 2C, the corner area CNA and the middle area MA may be bent with a third radius R3 of curvature).
Claims 1-7, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2023/0214073 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Han”).
With respect to claim 1, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, a display device comprising: a substrate (101) including a display area (AA) and a peripheral area (IA) adjacent to the display area (AA) (see Par.[0045]-[0049] wherein the inactive area IA is provided at an edge area of the substrate 101 so as to enclose the active area AA and is defined as an area in which the image is not displayed or a peripheral area; the inactive area IA may include a first inactive area IA1 provided at a first edge of the substrate 101, a second inactive area IA2 provided at a second edge of the substrate 101 parallel to the first inactive area IA1, a third inactive area IA3 provided at a third edge of the substrate 101, and a fourth inactive area IA4 provided at a fourth edge of the substrate 101 parallel to the third inactive area IA3); a plurality of light-emitting diodes (130) arranged in the display area (AA) (see Par.[0036]-[0038] wherein the display device 100 having the touch sensor illustrated in FIG. 1 displays images by means of a unit pixel including a light emitting diode 130; the unit pixel is configured by red (R), green (G), and blue (B) sub pixels PXL or configured by red (R), green (G), blue (B), and white (W) sub pixels PXL); a first inorganic encapsulation layer (141) disposed on the plurality of light-emitting diodes (130) (see Par.[0116]-[0117] wherein the encapsulation unit 140 may include a first inorganic encapsulation layer 141, an organic encapsulation layer 143, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer 145); an organic encapsulation layer (154) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer (141); a plurality of inorganic patterns (156) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (154) and spaced apart from each other (see Par.[0093] wherein a touch insulating layer 156, a touch sensing unit, an auxiliary line 250); and a touch electrode (TE1, TE2, 153, 250, RL) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (154) and defining a plurality of electrode holes respectively overlapping the plurality of light-emitting diodes in a plan view (see Par.[0118]-[0121] wherein the touch buffer layer 154 may be formed of an inorganic material, for example, silicon oxide SiOx or silicon nitride SiNx, but is not limited thereto, and may be formed of an organic material; the touch insulating layer 156 may be formed of an inorganic material layer or an organic material layer; when the touch insulating layer 156 is an inorganic material layer, the touch insulating layer 156 may be configured as a single layer of silicon nitride SiNx or silicon oxide SiOx or a multilayer thereof; the bridge pattern 153 may be formed of a transparent conductive layer and for example, formed of a transparent conductive oxide, such as ITO or IZO; see Par.[0123] wherein the first touch electrode TE1 and the second touch electrode TE2 of the touch sensing unit may be formed of a transparent conductive layer such as indium-tin-oxide (ITO) or indium-zinc-oxide (IZO); the first touch electrode TE1 and the second touch electrode TE2 may be formed of an opaque conductive layer having an opening).
With respect to claim 2, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) covers one of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (130) in a plan view, and the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) are respectively arranged inside the plurality of electrode holes in a plan view (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 3, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) covers two or more of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (130) in a plan view, and each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) overlaps two or more of the plurality of electrode holes in a plan view (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 4, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein a first opening is defined between the plurality of inorganic patterns (156), and the first opening overlaps at least a portion of the touch electrode (TE1, TE2, 153, 250, RL) in a plan view (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 5, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein a portion (153, 250) of the touch electrode (153, TE, 250, RL), which overlaps the first opening in a plan view, is in direct contact with the organic encapsulation layer (154), and a remaining portion (TE, RL) of the touch electrode (153, TE, 250, RL) is disposed on the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 6, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) comprise a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 7, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, further comprising: a first inorganic layer (158) disposed on the plurality of inorganic patterns (156) and covering the first opening, wherein the touch electrode (TE, RL) is disposed on the first inorganic layer (156) (see Par.[0125] wherein the second touch insulating layer 158 may be formed of an inorganic material, for example, formed of silicon oxide or silicon nitride).
With respect to claim 13, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, further comprising: a common voltage line arranged in the peripheral area; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (143) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer and overlapping the common voltage line in a plan view, wherein the second inorganic encapsulation layer defines a second opening extending in a direction parallel to an edge of the substrate (see Par.[0126]-[0128] wherein the common voltage line VSS which is connected to the second electrode 135 may be disposed; the common voltage line VSS may be electrically connected to the second electrode 135 of the light emitting diode 130; see Par.[0116]-[0117] wherein the organic encapsulation layer 143 may be disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer 141).
With respect to claim 14, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein the second opening overlaps the organic encapsulation layer in a plan view (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 15, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein the second opening surrounds at least a portion of the display area in a plan view (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 16, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, a display device comprising: a substrate (101) including a display area (AA) and a peripheral area (IA) adjacent to the display area (see Par.[0045]-[0049] wherein the inactive area IA is provided at an edge area of the substrate 101 so as to enclose the active area AA and is defined as an area in which the image is not displayed or a peripheral area; the inactive area IA may include a first inactive area IA1 provided at a first edge of the substrate 101, a second inactive area IA2 provided at a second edge of the substrate 101 parallel to the first inactive area IA1, a third inactive area IA3 provided at a third edge of the substrate 101, and a fourth inactive area IA4 provided at a fourth edge of the substrate 101 parallel to the third inactive area IA3); a plurality of light-emitting diodes (130) arranged in the display area (DA) (see Par.[0036]-[0038] wherein the display device 100 having the touch sensor illustrated in FIG. 1 displays images by means of a unit pixel including a light emitting diode 130; the unit pixel is configured by red (R), green (G), and blue (B) sub pixels PXL or configured by red (R), green (G), blue (B), and white (W) sub pixels PXL); a first inorganic encapsulation layer (141) disposed on the plurality of light-emitting diodes (130) and extending to the peripheral area; an organic encapsulation layer (154) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer (141); and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (156) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer and defining a first opening in the peripheral area (see Par.[0118]-[0121] wherein the touch buffer layer 154 may be formed of an inorganic material, for example, silicon oxide SiOx or silicon nitride SiNx, but is not limited thereto, and may be formed of an organic material; the touch insulating layer 156 may be formed of an inorganic material layer or an organic material layer; when the touch insulating layer 156 is an inorganic material layer, the touch insulating layer 156 may be configured as a single layer of silicon nitride SiNx or silicon oxide SiOx or a multilayer thereof; the bridge pattern 153 may be formed of a transparent conductive layer and for example, formed of a transparent conductive oxide, such as ITO or IZO; see Par.[0123] wherein the first touch electrode TE1 and the second touch electrode TE2 of the touch sensing unit may be formed of a transparent conductive layer such as indium-tin-oxide (ITO) or indium-zinc-oxide (IZO); the first touch electrode TE1 and the second touch electrode TE2 may be formed of an opaque conductive layer having an opening).
With respect to claim 17, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein the first opening overlaps the organic encapsulation layer in a plan view (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 18, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, further comprising: a common voltage line arranged in the peripheral area and surrounding at least a portion of the display area in a plan view; an organic insulating layer arranged between the substrate and the plurality of light-emitting diodes, and overlapping a boundary of the common voltage line at one side by extending from the display area to the peripheral area in a plan view (see Par.[0126]-[0128] wherein the common voltage line VSS which is connected to the second electrode 135 may be disposed; the common voltage line VSS may be electrically connected to the second electrode 135 of the light emitting diode 130; see Par.[0116]-[0117] wherein the organic encapsulation layer 143 may be disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer 141); and a dam (129) overlapping a boundary of the common voltage line at another side in a plan view (see Par.[0127]-[0129] wherein the first auxiliary line 250-1 may be electrically connected to the common voltage line VSS to be closer to the outside of the substrate 101 than the dam 129).
With respect to claim 19, Han discloses, in Figs.1-7, the display device, wherein the first opening is disposed closer to the display area than to an end of the organic insulating layer (see Fig.4).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0235172 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Lee”).
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, a display device comprising: a substrate (SUB) including a display area (DA) and a peripheral area (NDA) adjacent to the display area (DA) (see Par.[0075]-[0077] wherein the main region MA may include a display region DA in which pixels are formed to display an image and a non-display region NDA which is a peripheral region of the display region DA); a plurality of light-emitting diodes (EML/170) arranged in the display area (DA) (see Par.[0130] wherein an organic light-emitting layer 173 of the light-emitting element layer EML from moisture permeating through the substrate SUB susceptible to moisture transmission; see Par.[0140]-[0144] wherein the light-emitting elements 170 and the pixel definition layer 180 are formed on the planarizing film 160; each of the light-emitting elements 170 may include a first electrode 171, a common organic layer 172, an organic light-emitting layer 173, and a second electrode 174); a first inorganic encapsulation layer (191) disposed on the plurality of light-emitting diodes (170); an organic encapsulation layer (192-193) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer (191) (see Par.[0162] wherein the first inorganic film 191 and the second inorganic film 193 may be formed as a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, a silicon oxide layer, a titanium oxide layer, or an aluminum oxide layer, but the inventive concepts are not limited thereto; the organic film 192 may be made of acryl resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyamide resin, polyimide resin, or the like, but the inventive concepts are not limited thereto); a plurality of inorganic patterns (INS1, INS2, INS3) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (192-193) and spaced apart from each other (see Par.[0166]-[0169] wherein a third insulating film INS3 is formed on the second insulating film INS2; the first insulating film INS1 and the second insulating film INS2 may be formed as an inorganic film, for example, a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, a silicon oxide layer, a titanium oxide layer, or an aluminum oxide layer); and a touch electrode (TE) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (192-193) and defining a plurality of electrode holes/(space between TE) respectively overlapping the plurality of light-emitting diodes (170) in a plan view (see Fig.9 for overlapping TE; see Par.[0172] wherein the touch electrodes TE and RE include the first metal layer ML1 and the second metal layer ML2).
With respect to claim 2, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS) covers one of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (170) in a plan view, and the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS) are respectively arranged inside the plurality of electrode holes in a plan view (see Fig.9).
With respect to claim 3, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS) covers two or more of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (170) in a plan view, and each of the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS) overlaps two or more of the plurality of electrode holes in a plan view (see Fig.9).
With respect to claim 4, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein a first opening is defined between the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS), and the first opening overlaps at least a portion of the touch electrode (TE) in a plan view (see Fig.9).
With respect to claim 5, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein a portion (ML2) of the touch electrode (TE), which overlaps the first opening in a plan view, is in direct contact with the organic encapsulation layer (192-193), and a remaining portion (ML1) of the touch electrode (TE) is disposed on the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS1) (see Fig.9).
With respect to claim 6, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein the plurality of inorganic patterns (INS) comprise a first inorganic layer (INS1) and a second inorganic layer (INS2) (see Par.[0166]-[0169] wherein a third insulating film INS3 is formed on the second insulating film INS2; the first insulating film INS1 and the second insulating film INS2 may be formed as an inorganic film, for example, a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, a silicon oxide layer, a titanium oxide layer, or an aluminum oxide layer); and a touch electrode (TE) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer (192-193) and defining a plurality of electrode holes/(space between TE) respectively overlapping the plurality of light-emitting diodes (170) in a plan view (see Fig.9 for overlapping TE; see Par.[0172] wherein the touch electrodes TE and RE include the first metal layer ML1 and the second metal layer ML2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choung et al. (US 11,348,983 B1 hereinafter referred to as “Choung”).
With respect to claim 9, Lee discloses all the claimed limitation of claim 1. Moreover Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting diodes comprises a pixel electrode (171), an opposing electrode (174), and an emission layer (173) arranged between the pixel electrode (171) and the opposing electrode (174), the display device further comprises: a pixel-defining layer (PDL/180) defining a plurality of pixel openings exposing center portions of pixel electrodes; and a metal bank layer/(portion of 174 directly above PDL) (174_PDL) disposed on the pixel-defining layer (PDL), including a first sub-metal layer/(lower portion f 174_PDL) and a second sub-metal layer (portion of 174_PDL) on the first sub-metal layer, and defining a plurality of openings overlapping the plurality of pixel openings in a plan view,(see Fig.8, Par.[0174] wherein the common organic layer 172 may form a common layer on the first electrode 171 and the pixel definition layer 180; the organic light-emitting layer 173 may be independently stacked on the common organic layer 172 for each of the subpixels R, G, and B; the second electrode 174 may form a common layer on the common organic layer 172 and the organic light-emitting layer 173; see Par.[0144] wherein the pixel definition layer 180 may be formed to cover an edge of the first electrode 171). However, Lee does not explicitly disclose the second sub-metal layer comprises tips protruding from a side surface of the first sub-metal layer to a center direction of each of the plurality of pixel openings.
Choung discloses, in Figs.1A-1H, the display device, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting diodes comprises a pixel electrode (104), an opposing electrode (114), and an emission layer (112) arranged between the pixel electrode (104) and the opposing electrode (114) (see col.6 lines 20-67 wherein the OLED material 112 may include one or more of a HIL, a HTL, an EML, and an ETL. The OLED material 112 is disposed on the metal layer 104. In some embodiments, which can be combined with other embodiments described herein, the OLED material 112 is disposed on the metal layer 104 and over a portion of the PDL structures 126. The cathode 114 is disposed over the OLED material 112 of the PDL structures 126 in each sub-pixel 106) with the encapsulation layer 116 extending under at least a portion of each of the overhang structures 110), the display device further comprises: a pixel-defining layer (126) defining a plurality of pixel openings exposing center portions of pixel electrodes; and a metal bank layer (128, 110, 118a) disposed on the pixel-defining layer (126), including a first sub-metal layer (128) and a second sub-metal layer (110) on the first sub-metal layer, and defining a plurality of openings overlapping the plurality of pixel openings in a plan view, and the second sub-metal layer (110B) comprises tips protruding from a side surface of the first sub-metal layer to a center direction of each of the plurality of pixel openings (see col.5 lines 60-67 and col.6 lines 1-20, wherein a first sub-configuration 125A of the first configuration 101A of the overhang structures 110, as shown in FIG. 1A, the base portion 110A includes a conductive oxide of at least one of the TCO material or the TMO material. The TCO material includes, but is not limited to, one or more of IZO, IGZO, ITO, or combinations thereof. The TMO material includes a transition metal. The transition metal is any element whose atom has a partially filed d sub-shell, or which can give rise to cations with an incomplete d sub-shell. Examples of the TMO material include, but are not limited to, one or more of oxides of Ru, V, Ti, Zn, Cu, Mo, or combinations thereof).
Lee and Choung are analogous art because they are all directed to a display device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Lee to include Choung because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Pixel area structure in Lee by including a metal bank with tips as taught by Choung in order to utilize the conductive overhang tips structures disposed over the upper surface of the PDL structures extend over a portion of the OLED material and the cathode so as when lifted off, the organic material does not leave behind a particle issue that disrupts OLED performance, thereby providing an efficacy methods of forming sub-pixel circuits to increase pixel-per-inch and provide improved OLED performance.
With respect to claim 10, Choung discloses, in Figs.1A-1H, the display device, wherein the opposing electrode is in direct contact with the side surface of the first sub-metal layer (see Fig.1B).
With respect to claim 10, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein the opposing electrode is in direct contact with the side surface of the first sub-metal layer (see Fig.8).
With respect to claim 11, Choung discloses, in Figs.1A-1H, the display device, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (116) is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the tips and the side surface of the first sub-metal layer (col.6 lines 50-67 wherein the encapsulation layer 116 includes the non-conductive inorganic material, such as a silicon-containing material; the silicon-containing material may include Si.sub.3N.sub.4 containing materials).
With respect to claim 11, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the tips and the side surface of the first sub-metal layer (see Fig.8).
With respect to claim 12, Lee discloses, in Figs.1-23, the display device, wherein a width of each of the plurality of inorganic patterns is greater than a width of ones of the plurality of pixel openings overlapping the plurality of inorganic patterns in a plan view (see Fig.8).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818