DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biloiu et al. (US PGPub 2021/0305001, hereinafter Biloiu).
Regarding claim 1, Biloiu discloses an ion extraction optics for extracting a plurality of ion beams (adjusting extraction slits of an extraction plate using a set of adjustable beam blockers, see abstract), comprising:
an extraction plate defining an extraction aperture (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a first aperture 132, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]); and
a beam blocker located adjacent the extraction aperture and mounted to the extraction plate by a first actuator and a second actuator (beam blocker 124A is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]), wherein the beam blocker and the extraction aperture define a first extraction slit and a second extraction slit (beam blocker 124A has a first inner slit 142A defined between a first blocker edge and extraction plate 122 and a first outer slit 142B defied by a distance between a first blocker second edge and a second perimeter point of the first aperture 132, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]); and
wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are adapted to move the beam blocker relative to the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator are adapted to move the beam blocker in a direction orthogonal to a rear surface of the extraction plate between a first position, wherein the beam blocker is a first distance from the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]; the first inner slit 142A at a defined a first distance D1, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]), and a second position, wherein the beam blocker is a second distance from the extraction plate, wherein the first position the first extraction slit extracts an ion beam at a first extraction angle and wherein the second position the first extraction slit extracts an ion beam at a second extraction angle different than the first extraction angle (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about the first axis 148 to adjust the distance D1 as well as beam blocker 124A is movable relative to the extraction plate 122 to further adjust distance D1, see paragraph [0036]; to vary the second position to be different from the first, see paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator can be operated to move the beam blocker to change extraction angles of a first ion beam and a second ion beam extracted through the first extraction slit and the second extraction slit, respectively, independent of a process recipe used to produce the first ion beam and the second ion beam (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]; to form a first slit at a distance D1 and a second slit at a distance D2, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]; beam blocker 124A is rotatable about the first axis 148 to adjust the distance D1 and D2 as well as beam blocker 124A is movable relative to the extraction plate 122 to further adjust distance D1 and D2, see paragraph [0036]; to vary the second position to be different from the first, see paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator are further adapted to move the beam blocker in a direction parallel to a rear surface of the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Biloiu discloses the first actuator is mounted to the extraction plate on a first lateral side of the extraction aperture and the second actuator is mounted to the extraction plate on a second lateral side of the extraction aperture opposite the first lateral side (beam blocker 124A is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Biloiu discloses the extraction aperture is a first extraction aperture and wherein the beam blocker is a first beam blocker (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a first aperture 132, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]; beam blocker 124A is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]), the extraction plate further defining a second extraction aperture, the ion extraction optics further comprising a second beam blocker located adjacent the second extraction aperture and mounted to the extraction plate by a third actuator and a fourth actuator (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a second aperture 134, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]; second beam blocker 124B is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; second beam blocker 124B is rotatable about a second axis 152 (e.g. by a third actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 156 (e.g. by a fourth actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]), wherein the second beam blocker and the second extraction aperture define a third extraction slit and a fourth extraction slit, wherein the third actuator and the fourth actuator are adapted to move the second beam blocker nearer and further from the extraction plate (second beam blocker 124B has a second inner slit 144A defined between a second blocker edge and extraction plate 122 and a second outer slit 144B defied by a distance between a second blocker second edge 167 and a second perimeter point 168 of the second aperture 134, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0035]; second beam blocker 124B is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; second beam blocker 124B is rotatable about a second axis 152 (e.g. by a third actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 156 (e.g. by a fourth actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Biloiu discloses a processing apparatus (processing apparatus 100, see paragraph [0019]) comprising:
a plasma chamber adapted to contain a plasma (plasma chamber 102 to generate a plasma 103 therein, see paragraph [0019]);
a process chamber located adjacent the plasma chamber and adapted to contain a substrate for processing (process chamber 104 containing wafer or substrate 116, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0020]); and
an ion extraction optics located between the plasma chamber and the process chamber and adapted to extract a plurality of ion beams from the plasma chamber and to direct the plurality of ion beams into the process chamber (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a first aperture 132, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]; four extraction slits may generate four different ribbon beams or ion beamlets 130, see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0025]), the ion extraction optics comprising:
an extraction plate defining an extraction aperture (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a first aperture 132, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]); and
a beam blocker located adjacent the extraction aperture and mounted to the extraction plate by a first actuator and a second actuator, wherein the beam blocker and the extraction aperture define a first extraction slit and a second extraction slit (beam blocker 124A is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; beam blocker 124A has a first inner slit 142A defined between a first blocker edge and extraction plate 122 and a first outer slit 142B defied by a distance between a first blocker second edge and a second perimeter point of the first aperture 132, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]); and
wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are adapted to move the beam blocker relative to the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 11, the first actuator and the second actuator are adapted to move the beam blocker between a first position, wherein the beam blocker is a first distance from the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]; the first inner slit 142A at a defined a first distance D1, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]), and a second position, wherein the beam blocker is a second distance from the extraction plate, wherein at the first position the first extraction slit extracts an ion beam at a first extraction angle and wherein at the second position the first extraction slit extracts an ion beam at a second extraction angle different than the first extraction angle (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about the first axis 148 to adjust the distance D1 as well as beam blocker 124A is movable relative to the extraction plate 122 to further adjust distance D1, see paragraph [0036]; to vary the second position to be different from the first, see paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 12, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator can be operated to move the beam blocker to change extraction angles of a first ion beam and a second ion beam extracted through the first extraction slit and the second extraction slit, respectively, independent of a process recipe used to produce the first ion beam and the second ion beam (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]; to form a first slit at a distance D1 and a second slit at a distance D2, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]; beam blocker 124A is rotatable about the first axis 148 to adjust the distance D1 and D2 as well as beam blocker 124A is movable relative to the extraction plate 122 to further adjust distance D1 and D2, see paragraph [0036]; to vary the second position to be different from the first, see paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator are further adapted to move the beam blocker in a direction parallel to a rear surface of the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Biloiu discloses the first actuator is mounted to the extraction plate on a first lateral side of the extraction aperture and the second actuator is mounted to the extraction plate on a second lateral side of the extraction aperture opposite the first lateral side (beam blocker 124A is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 18, Biloiu discloses the extraction aperture is a first extraction aperture and wherein the beam blocker is a first beam blocker (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a first aperture 132, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]; beam blocker 124A is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]), the extraction optics further defining a second extraction aperture, the ion extraction optics further comprising a second beam blocker located adjacent the second extraction aperture and mounted to the extraction plate by a third actuator and a fourth actuator (extraction plate 122 includes a cut out region 128 with a second aperture 134, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0027]; second beam blocker 124B is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; second beam blocker 124B is rotatable about a second axis 152 (e.g. by a third actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 156 (e.g. by a fourth actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]), wherein the second beam blocker and the second extraction aperture define a third extraction slit and a fourth extraction slit, wherein the third actuator and the fourth actuator are adapted to move the second beam blocker nearer and further from the extraction plate (second beam blocker 124B has a second inner slit 144A defined between a second blocker edge and extraction plate 122 and a second outer slit 144B defied by a distance between a second blocker second edge 167 and a second perimeter point 168 of the second aperture 134, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0035]; second beam blocker 124B is positioned relative to the aperture plate 122, see Fig. 2A and paragraph [0032]; second beam blocker 124B is rotatable about a second axis 152 (e.g. by a third actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 156 (e.g. by a fourth actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biloiu in view of Yi et al. (US PGPub 2016/0047596, hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claim 6, Biloiu fails to explicitly disclose the first actuator and the second actuator are servo motors.
Yi discloses a servo motor system for moving components of a device (apparatus 100 may include a servo motor system for moving components along the linear slider, see paragraph [0018]).
Yi modifies Biloiu by providing servo motors as the first and second actuators.
In light of this teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Biloiu by providing a servo motor as a means of positioning the beam blocker of Biloiu for the purpose of having control over the size of the extracted ion beam.
Regarding claim 15, Biloiu fails to explicitly disclose the first actuator and the second actuator are servo motors.
Yi discloses a servo motor system for moving components of a device (apparatus 100 may include a servo motor system for moving components along the linear slider, see paragraph [0018]).
Yi modifies Biloiu by providing servo motors as the first and second actuators.
In light of this teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Biloiu by providing a servo motor as a means of positioning the beam blocker of Biloiu for the purpose of having control over the size of the extracted ion beam.
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biloiu in view of Allen et al. (US PGPub 2015/0325405, hereinafter Allen).
Regarding claim 7, Biloiu fails to explicitly disclose the first actuator and the second actuator are linear actuators.
Allen discloses providing linear drive mechanisms to position the plasma source 16 (the linear drive mechanism may be operatively connected to the carriage and may drive or scan the carriage, as well as the plasma source, between two positions, the linear drive mechanism may be any type of linear actuator or linear motor, see paragraph [0020]).
Allen modifies Biloiu by providing a specific means (linear actuator) of providing a controllable positioning action to a component.
Since both inventions are drawn to plasma source ion beam devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Biloiu by providing linear actuators as the first and second actuators for the purpose of moving components in a controllable manner as taught by Allen.
Regarding claim 8, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator are independently operable to move a first end of the beam blocker in a direction orthogonal to a rear surface of the extraction plate and a first distance from the extraction plate (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]; the first inner slit 142A at a defined a first distance D1, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]), and to move a second end of the beam blocker in a direction orthogonal to the rear surface of the extraction plate a second distance from the extraction plate, wherein the first distance may be different than the second distance (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about the first axis 148 to adjust the distance D1 as well as beam blocker 124A is movable relative to the extraction plate 122 to further adjust distance D1, see paragraph [0036]; to vary the second position to be different from the first, see paragraph [0036]).
Biloiu fails to explicitly disclose the first actuator and the second actuator are linear actuators.
Allen discloses providing linear drive mechanisms to position the plasma source 16 (the linear drive mechanism may be operatively connected to the carriage and may drive or scan the carriage, as well as the plasma source, between two positions, the linear drive mechanism may be any type of linear actuator or linear motor, see paragraph [0020]).
Allen modifies Biloiu by providing a specific means (linear actuator) of providing a controllable positioning action to a component.
Since both inventions are drawn to plasma source ion beam devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Biloiu by providing linear actuators as the first and second actuators for the purpose of moving components in a controllable manner as taught by Allen.
Regarding claim 16, Biloiu fails to explicitly disclose the first actuator and the second actuator are linear actuators.
Allen discloses providing linear drive mechanisms to position the plasma source 16 (the linear drive mechanism may be operatively connected to the carriage and may drive or scan the carriage, as well as the plasma source, between two positions, the linear drive mechanism may be any type of linear actuator or linear motor, see paragraph [0020]).
Allen modifies Biloiu by providing a specific means (linear actuator) of providing a controllable positioning action to a component.
Since both inventions are drawn to plasma source ion beam devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Biloiu by providing linear actuators as the first and second actuators for the purpose of moving components in a controllable manner as taught by Allen.
Regarding claim 17, Biloiu discloses the first actuator and the second actuator are independently operable to move a first end of the beam blocker a first distance from the extraction plate and to move a second end of the beam blocker a second distance from the extraction plate, wherein the first distance may be different than the second distance (beam blocker 124A is rotatable about a first axis 148 (e.g. by an actuator not shown) and may be movable relative to the extraction plate 122 in a first direction 150 (e.g. by another actuator not shown), see paragraph [0033]; to form a first slit at a distance D1 and a second slit at a distance D2, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0034]; beam blocker 124A is rotatable about the first axis 148 to adjust the distance D1 and D2 as well as beam blocker 124A is movable relative to the extraction plate 122 to further adjust distance D1 and D2, see paragraph [0036]; to vary the second position to be different from the first, see paragraph [0036]).
Biloiu fails to explicitly disclose the first actuator and the second actuator are linear actuators.
Allen discloses providing linear drive mechanisms to position the plasma source 16 (the linear drive mechanism may be operatively connected to the carriage and may drive or scan the carriage, as well as the plasma source, between two positions, the linear drive mechanism may be any type of linear actuator or linear motor, see paragraph [0020]).
Allen modifies Biloiu by providing a specific means (linear actuator) of providing a controllable positioning action to a component.
Since both inventions are drawn to plasma source ion beam devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Biloiu by providing linear actuators as the first and second actuators for the purpose of moving components in a controllable manner as taught by Allen.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878 /DAVID A VANORE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878