Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/2024 and 4/3/2025 were filed before the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 6/26/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 6/25/2024 are approved by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “DISPLAY MODULE HAVING A PLURALITY OF DAM PATTERNS ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0199946).
With respect to Claim 1, Lee teaches a display module defining a module hole OA and comprising a base layer 100 including a first region surrounded by a second region in plan view, pixels in the second region, data lines connected to the pixels, and dam patterns in the first region and surrounding the module hole in plan view. The dam patterns comprising a first pattern 112 above the base layer, a lower layer 209 above the first pattern. A second pattern 111 above the lower layer 209 and comprising a same material (i.e. both made of metal) as the data lines. An upper layer 211 above the second pattern 11 and defining an opening exposing a portion of the second pattern. The device in Fig. 1 is for a mobile phone which would allow a window above the display module 60. An electronic module would be below the display module of a cellphone, overlapping the first region, and overlapping the module hole (see paragraphs 58, 69-78, and 157-187; Figs. 1-3, 7-9, and 15).
With respect to Claim 7, Lee teaches the pixels comprise a transistor and
a light-emitting element comprising a first electrode 221 connected to the
transistor. A second electrode 223 above the first electrode 221, and a common layer 222 between the first electrode and the second electrode (see paragraphs 126—130; Fig. 7).
With respect to Claim 19, Lee teaches the pixels comprise a light-
emitting element connected to a transistor TI comprising an active pattern and a gate
overlapping the active pattern. One of the dam patterns 113 is below and overlaps the first pattern. A dummy pattern 113 comprising a same material (i.e. made of metal) as the gate (i.e. made of metal) or the active pattern (see paragraphs 157 and 158; Figs.
With respect to Claim 20, Lee teaches the display module has a display panel comprising the base layer 100 and the pixels. An input sensor 70 above the display panel for sensing an external input. An organic cover layer above the input sensor. An anti-reflective layer 50 between the organic cover layer and the window (see paragraphs 68, 70, 72, and 73).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-6 and 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record teaches or suggest the combination of
a thickness of the upper layer is less than a thickness of the lower layer. At least one of opposing sides of the second pattern protrudes between the lower layer and the upper layer in claim 2.
The lower layer defines a contact hole exposing at least a portion of the first pattern. The upper layer is in the contact hole and contacts the first pattern in claim 6.
A first floating pattern between the dam patterns adjacent to each other, comprising a same material as the common layer, and disconnected from the common layer in claim 8.
The second pattern and the data lines comprise a first layer comprising titanium. A second layer comprising aluminum above the first layer. A third layer comprising titanium above the second layer in claim 15.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.usptol gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/June 27, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897