DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-23 are pending. Claims 22 and 23 are withdrawn. Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0165569).
I. Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 12-14 and 16-21, Liu teaches a process of depositing silica (0052) in a gap in a bottom-up approach (0068) comprising: providing a substrate comprising a gap having an inner surface in a reaction chamber (Figures 1 and 2); exposing the substrate to a first nitrogen plasma (Figure 4 and 0077) to partially modify the inner surface of the gap which will create nitrogen terminations in the reaction chamber; then exposing the substrate to a second argon plasma in the reaction chamber (Figure 4 and 0078) which will partially passivate the modified surfaces (0068); then contacting the substrate with a vapor-phase silicon precursor (0049) meeting the limitations of the formula as claimed in claims 12-14 (0059) to conformally deposit the material and chemisorb the material on the unmodified areas of the gap (no material is deposited on the modified surface, thereby meeting the reduction of at least 60%) of the partially passivated surface (abstract, 0090 and Figure 4). Liu fails to explicitly teach the first plasma having a first ion energy that is higher than the ion energy of the second plasma.
However, Liu does teach that the first plasma can be conducted at a power of 100-1000 W and the second plasma can be conducted at a power of 100-1000 W (see 0077-0078, and note that increasing and decreasing the power necessarily changes the ion energy up and down, respectively). Furthermore, Liu teaches that the power will need adjusted based on substrate size (0078) and adjusting the power/ion energy will alter the degree to which the substrate is modified and the depth of the gap that is modified. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges of a first ion energy higher than a second through process optimization to optimize the selective modification of the gap, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
II. Regarding claims 5 and 6, Liu teaches that the plasma pre-treatment may be a nitrogen plasma (0070), but fails to explicitly teach that in embodiments with two plasma treatments that the second plasma comprises nitrogen. However, Liu does teach that nitrogen plasmas can remove reactive groups in the gap to inhibit coating with the silicon precursor (0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s process by additionally including nitrogen in the second plasma. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for even better inhibition of the surface.
III. Regarding claims 8 and 9, Liu makes obvious claim 1, but fails to teach the first ion energy is at least 15 eV and the second ion energy is at most 5 eV. However, the ion energy is a result-effective variable as altering the ion energy will alter the degree to which the surface is modified and the depth in the gap that the surface is modified. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
IV. Regarding claim 15, Liu makes obvious claim 1, including the gap comprising a bottom (Figure 2), but fails to explicitly teach modifying the bottom with the first plasma. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom with the first plasma. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would allow for selective deposition on the sidewalls of the gap.
2. Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yuan et al. (KR 20210063434, reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Liu makes obvious claim 1, but fails to teach the inner gap/substrate surface comprising silicon nitride and/or oxide. However, Liu teaches that their substrate is a semiconductor substrate (0045) and can have additional layers made of different material (0045). Further, Yuan teaches a similar process for gap filling (abstract) a semiconductor substrate (Description of Embodiments section, page 3) and Yuan teaches that the substrate can comprise silicon nitride and oxides (Description of Embodiments section, page 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to modify Liu’s process by utilizing a substrate including surfaces of silicon nitride and/or oxides as disclosed by Yuan. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have substituted one semiconductor substrate for another with a reasonable expectation of success (as both Liu and Yuan are teaching semiconductor substrates to be gap filled in a similar process), and the predictable result of providing a process for gap filling a semiconductor substrate.
Conclusion
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claims 22 and 23 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-21 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
October 10, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717