DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0149103 A1 to Oh et al. (hereinafter “Oh”).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
a housing forming a recess with a recess floor (LED package 100 comprising housing defined by shape of encapsulant 30 with a recessed floor; Fig. 1; paragraph [0096]);
a lead frame structure within the housing (lead frame 20 within encapsulant 30 housing; Fig. 1; paragraph [0054]);
one or more LED chips positioned on the lead frame structure and at the recess floor (plurality of LEDs 10 disposed on recessed floor within lead frame 20; Fig. 1; paragraph [0054]); and
a plurality of features of the lead frame structure, the plurality of features being nonplanar relative to the recess floor and positioned laterally adjacent to mounting areas of the one or more LED chips (structural features of lead frame 20 are nonplanar with recessed floor of encapsulant 30 housing and positioned laterally adjacent to areas where LEDs 10 are mounted; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein: the one or more LED chips comprise a first LED chip; and the lead frame structure comprises a first lead and a second lead, and the first LED chip is flip-chip mounted to the first lead and the second lead with a chip bonding material (LED 10 may be flip chip mounted to first and second lead frame 20 electrodes 21, 22 via bonding medium B1, B2; Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0052], [0055], [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 2, wherein: the first lead and the second lead each comprise a first region that includes at least one feature of the plurality of features and a second region where the first LED chip is flip-chip mounted (each of electrodes 21, 22 includes a first region that are part of structural features of lead frame 20 and a second region where LED 10 is flip chip mounted; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 3, wherein the second region is devoid of the plurality of features (second region may be where LED 10 is mounted and therefore devoid of structural features; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 3, wherein at least one other feature of the plurality of features is in the second region (second region may be where structural features of lead frame 20 are disposed; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 2, wherein: a first feature of the plurality of features is part of the first lead; the first feature extends parallel to the recess floor along a first plane in the recess; and the first LED chip is mounted to the first lead along a second plane that is closer to the recess floor than the first plane (structural features of lead frame include first electrode 21, where the structural feature may extend parallel to the recessed floor along a first plane and the LED 10 is mounted to first electrode 21 along second plane closer to floor than first plane; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 6, wherein the first lead extends from the first plane to the second plane in an angled manner (the first electrode 21 structure may be defined to extend from the first plane to the second plan at an angle; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 6, further comprising: a coating on the first lead and the second lead, the coating extending to a third plane in the recess such that the first plane is between the third plane and the second plane (electrode separation wall 31 made from encapsulant 30 on first and second electrodes 21, 22 and extending to a third plane passing through the recessed floor such that first plane is between second and third plane; Figs. 1-2; paragraph [0063]); and an encapsulant in the recess such that the coating is between the encapsulant and the first lead and the coating is between the encapsulant and the second lead (electrode separation wall 31 disposed between encapsulant 30 and portions of first and second electrodes 21, 22; Figs. 1-2; paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 8, wherein the coating comprises an epoxy material (electrode separation wall 31 made from encapsulant 30 which may be an epoxy; paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 10, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, further comprising an encapsulant in the recess, wherein the encapsulant forms an interface with at least a portion of the plurality of features (electrode wall 31 of encapsulant 30 disposed in recessed floor of housing and interfaced with structural features of lead frame 20; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 10, wherein the encapsulant comprises an epoxy material (electrode separation wall 31 made from encapsulant 30 which may be an epoxy; paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 12, Oh discloses the LED package of clam 10, wherein the plurality of features extend into the recess and below the recess floor (structural features of lead frame 20 extend through the recessed floor; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 12, wherein a portion of the encapsulant is positioned between a portion of the plurality of features and the recess floor (portion of electrode wall 31 positioned between portion of structural features of lead frame 20 and recessed floor; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 13, wherein a portion of the housing is positioned between another portion of the plurality of features and the recess floor (portion of housing defined by shape of encapsulant 30 positioned between another portion of structural features of lead frame 20 and recessed floor; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the one or more LED chips are mounted to the lead frame structure with a chip bonding material, and the plurality of features form a raised barrier configured to confine the chip bonding material (LED 10 may be flip chip mounted to first and second lead frame 20 electrodes 21, 22 via bonding medium B1, B2, where structural features of lead frame 20 form raised barrier capable of confining bonding medium B1, B2; Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0052], [0055], [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the plurality of features form a plurality of rows on the lead frame structure (structural features of lead frame 20 may be defined to be rows thereof; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the plurality of features form a plurality of islands of the lead frame structure (structural features of lead frame 20 may be defined to be islands thereof; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the plurality of features form a grid of the lead frame structure (structural features of lead frame 20 may be defined to be in a grid shape; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein the plurality of features form a plurality of indentations of the lead frame structure (structural features of lead frame 20 may be defined to be indentations thereof; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein at least one feature of the plurality of features forms a primary shape with at least one secondary shape formed along a side of the primary shape (structural features may include a primary and secondary shape alongside one another; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, Oh discloses the LED package of claim 1, wherein at least two features of the plurality of features form a wicking cavity between top surfaces of the at least two features and underlying portions of the lead frame structure (structural features of lead frame 20 may be defined to form a cavity between top surfaces thereof and underlying portions of remaining lead frame 20 material; Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh.
Regarding claim 22, a first interpretation of Oh discloses a lighting device comprising:
a light-emitting diode (LED) package mounted (LED package 100 mounted to structures; Fig. 1; paragraphs [0058], [0096]), the LED package comprising:
a housing forming a recess with a recess floor (encapsulant 30 housing have a recessed floor; Fig. 1; paragraph [0096]);
a lead frame structure within the housing (lead frame 20 within encapsulant 30 housing; Fig. 1; paragraph [0054]);
one or more LED chips positioned on the lead frame structure and at the recess floor (plurality of LEDs 10 disposed on recessed floor within lead frame 20; Fig. 1; paragraph [0054]); and
a plurality of features of the lead frame structure, the plurality of features being nonplanar relative to the recess floor and positioned laterally adjacent to mounting areas of the one or more LED chips (structural features of lead frame 20 are nonplanar with recessed floor of encapsulant 30 housing and positioned laterally adjacent to areas where LEDs 10 are mounted; Fig. 1).
The first interpretation of Oh does not explicitly disclose a board.
However, a second interpretation of paragraph [0058] of Oh discloses the lead frame 20 including a flexible printed circuit board. Further, a PCB is necessarily utilized in the disclosed display and lighting devices (see paragraphs [0001], [0041], [0122]) that the package 100 may be used within, otherwise optical misalignment (see paragraphs [0006], [0017], [0067]) would occur which would negate an aimed goal of Oh and further render the disclosed display and lighting devices inoperable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in this manner in order to provide operable display and lighting devices that are not optically misaligned.
Regarding claim 23, Oh discloses the lighting device of claim 22. The first interpretation of Oh fails to explicitly disclose further comprising signal processing and driver circuitry electrically coupled to the board, wherein the board is a printed circuit board (PCB) of an LED display.
However, a second interpretation of Oh discloses signal processing and driver circuitry electrically coupled to the board, wherein the board is a printed circuit board (PCB) of an LED display (LED package 100 used in a driven display device having associated circuitry and processing disposed on flexible PCB; Fig. 1; paragraphs [0002], [0058], [0096]). Further, paragraph [0058] of Oh discloses the lead frame 20 including a flexible printed circuit board. Moreover, a PCB is necessarily utilized in the disclosed display and lighting devices (see paragraphs [0001], [0041], [0122]) that the package 100 may be used within, otherwise optical misalignment (see paragraphs [0006], [0017], [0067]) would occur which would negate an aimed goal of Oh and further render the disclosed display and lighting devices inoperable. Further, Oh already discloses driven display devices via circuitry (see paragraphs [0002], [0058], [0122]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in this manner in order to provide operable display and lighting devices that are not optically misaligned.
Regarding claim 24, Oh discloses the lighting device of claim 22. The first interpretation of Oh fails to explicitly disclose wherein the LED package is coupled with the board by solder material between the lead frame structure and the board.
However, a second interpretation of Oh discloses wherein the LED package is coupled with the board by solder material between the lead frame structure and the board (solder paste may be utilized between flexible PCB and LED 10 within lead frame 20 structure; Figs. 1-2; paragraph [0063]). Further, paragraph [0058] of Oh discloses the lead frame 20 including a flexible printed circuit board. Moreover, a PCB is necessarily utilized in the disclosed display and lighting devices (see paragraphs [0001], [0041], [0122]) that the package 100 may be used within, otherwise optical misalignment (see paragraphs [0006], [0017], [0067]) would occur which would negate an aimed goal of Oh and further render the disclosed display and lighting devices inoperable. Further, Oh already discloses driven display devices via circuitry (see paragraphs [0002], [0058], [0122]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in this manner in order to provide operable display and lighting devices with proper electrical connections and not optically misaligned.
Regarding claim 25, Oh discloses the lighting device of claim 22. The first interpretation of Oh further discloses wherein the one or more LED chips comprises at least three LED chips in a linear arrangement (plurality of LEDs 10 may be utilized where the LEDs 10 are arranged in a linear direction; Figs. 1-2; paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 26, Oh discloses the lighting device of claim 22. The first interpretation of Oh further discloses wherein: the one or more LED chips are mounted to the lead frame structure with a chip bonding material; and the plurality of features form a raised barrier configured to confine the chip bonding material during formation of the package bonding material (LED 10 may be flip chip mounted to first lead frame 20 electrode 21 via bonding medium B1 and LED 10 may be mounted to second lead frame 20 electrode 21 via bonding medium B2, where structural features of lead frame 20 form raised barrier capable of confining bonding mediums B1, B2; Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0052], [0055], [0061]-[0062]).
The first interpretation of Oh fails to disclose the LED package is mounted to the board with a package bonding material.
However, a second interpretation of paragraph [0058] of Oh discloses the lead frame 20 including a flexible printed circuit board having the LEDs bonded thereto. Further, a PCB is necessarily utilized in the disclosed display and lighting devices (see paragraphs [0001], [0041], [0122]) that the package 100 may be used within, otherwise optical misalignment (see paragraphs [0006], [0017], [0067]) would occur which would negate an aimed goal of Oh and further render the disclosed display and lighting devices inoperable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in this manner in order to provide operable display and lighting devices that are not optically misaligned.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0088837 A1 to Lee et al. and US 2021/0175392 A1 to Kong et al. each discloses LED packages having related structures arranged similar to the presently claimed invention.
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818