DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10-14, 17, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No.
18/931594 in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0249603, henceforth known as Kim et al US ‘603).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1. See claims 1 and 10 of the co-pending application where it is recited that a mask assembly comprising: a mask frame comprising an opening area; at least one mask sheet covering the opening area of the mask frame; and a support stick (see claims 8 and 9 of the co-pending application) disposed between the mask frame and the at least one mask sheet, the support stick having ends fixed to the mask frame, wherein the at least one mask sheet comprises: a plurality of submasks (sub-masks) disposed side by side in a direction intersecting the first direction in which the support stick extends; and a connection stick disposed between the plurality of submasks and connecting two adjacent submasks among the plurality of submasks.
The co-pending application fails to recite
the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area
b) the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view
The prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 teaches a mask assembly which features a mask assembly comprising a mask frame 130, a mask sheet with a plurality of submasks 140, 160 support sticks 135a, 135b, and connection sticks (blocking portions154, 174). See Figs. 3 and 9. See in Figures 3 and 9 of Kim et al US ‘603 that the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area and the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view. The motivation to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603 where the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area and the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view is that this design enhances support of the mask sheet (plurality of submasks) upon the mask frame and enhances the support of each submask relative to each other. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application with the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area and the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view is that this design enhances support of the mask sheet (plurality of submasks) with the support sticks upon the mask frame and enhances the support of each submask relative to each other with the connection sticks as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603.
Regarding claim 2. See claim 9 of the co-pending application wherein the support stick comprises an opening formed in the first direction, and the connection stick is accommodated in the opening.
Regarding claim 4. The claims of the co-pending application fails to recite that a thickness of the connection stick and a thickness of the support stick are same. See the prior art of Kim et al ‘603 where support sticks 135a, 135b are provided see Fig. 3 of Kim et al US ‘603 note that the support sticks act as connection sticks as they are disposed between the submasks 140 and 160 especially at the outermost submasks closest to the sides of the frames and there are blocking portions 154, 174 which are also connection sticks which also separate the submasks. See in Figs 3 and 9 of Kim US ‘603 that the support sticks/connection sticks 135a/135b have the same thickness as the dimensions are optimal for ample support and separation of the submasks on the frame and ensuring separation of deposition materials between adjacent submasks. In essence, Kim et al shows that it is known to have structures that have the same thickness or different thickness between the submasks. The dimensions of the mask assembly to include the thickness of the support sticks and connection sticks are a matter of design choice and optimization which would be determined by one of ordinary skill without undue experimentation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application and modify the mask assembly as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 so that the support sticks/connection sticks have the same thickness as the dimensions are optimal for ample support and separation of the submasks on the frame and ensuring separation of deposition materials between adjacent submasks.
Regarding claim 6. See claims 1, 8, and 9 of the co-pending application where it is recited that a support stick is provided with an opening for the connection stick to be inserted in. See also that claims 1, 6, and 11 recite a plurality of submasks. However, the sub-masks of the co-pending application are briefly recited and, the co-pending application fails to recite that the mask assembly wherein the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick disposed between the second submask and the third submask.
See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks and connection sticks are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks (blocking portions 154, 174) which are provided along the top/lower submasks respectively. The motivation to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application wherein the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick disposed between the second submask and the third submask as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603 is that this design enhances support of the mask sheet (plurality of submasks) with the support sticks upon the mask frame and enhances the support of each submask relative to each other with the connection sticks as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603.
Regarding claims 10 and 20. The claims of the co-pending application were discussed above. The co-pending application fails to recite that the support stick comprises a pair of parallel substicks each extending in the first direction, and the connection stick is accommodated between the pair of parallel substicks. See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks and connection sticks are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks 154, 174 interpreted as substicks which support the submasks. See how support sticks 135a, 135b are also provided in a parallel design .The motivation to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application wherein the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick disposed between the second submask and the third submask as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603 is that this design enhances support of the mask sheet (plurality of submasks) with the support sticks upon the mask frame and enhances the support of each submask relative to each other with the connection sticks as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603.
Regarding claim 11. The claims of the co-pending application were discussed above. The mask assembly of claim 10, wherein a distance between the pair of parallel substicks is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm.
The prior art of Kim et al suggests in [0069], [0070], and [0079] – [0092] that the dimensions of the width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks are designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks (see especially [0079] and [0092] of Kim et al. Ultimately the dimensions of the mask assembly is a matter of design choice and optimization where each dimension would be determined without undue routine experimentation to ensure that the mask sheets comprising the submasks be amply supported by the mask frame, connection sticks, and support sticks and that the flow of deposition materials be controlled and ensure independent processing of the various regions along the substrate as delineated by each submask. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify design the dimensions of the width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks of the co-pending application to be designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks as these dimensions can be optimized as suggested in the prior art of Kim et al.
Regarding claims 12 and 17. See claims 1, 8, and 9 of the co-pending application where it is briefly recited that there are sub-masks but, the co-pending application fails to recite that the
the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a pair of parallel first substicks to accommodate a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a pair of parallel second substicks to accommodate a second connection stick between the second submask and the third submask.
See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks and connection sticks are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks 154, 174 which correspond to the submasks. The motivation to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application wherein the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick disposed between the second submask and the third submask as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603 is that this design enhances support of the mask sheet (plurality of submasks) with the support sticks upon the mask frame and enhances the support of each submask relative to each other with the connection sticks as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603.
Regarding claim 13. The claims of the co-pending application were discussed above. The co-pending application fails to teach a mask assembly of claim 12, wherein a separation distance between the pair of parallel first substicks is different from a separation distance between the pair of parallel second substicks. The prior art of Kim et al suggests in [0069], [0070], and [0079] – [0092] that the dimensions of mask assembly to include the width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks (interpreted as the separation distance) are designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks (see especially [0079] and [0092] of Kim et al. Ultimately the dimensions of the mask assembly is a matter of design choice and optimization where each dimension would be determined without undue routine experimentation to ensure that the mask sheets comprising the submasks be amply supported by the mask frame, connection sticks, and support sticks and that the flow of deposition materials be controlled and ensure independent processing of the various regions along the substrate as delineated by each submask. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify design the dimensions of the width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the separation distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks of the co-pending application to be designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks as these dimensions can be optimized as suggested in the prior art of Kim et al.
Regarding claim 14. The claims of the co-pending application were discussed above.
See claim 10 of the co-pending application where it is recited that the apparatus comprising: a mask assembly facing a display substrate; and a deposition source facing the mask assembly on a side opposite to a side on which the display substrate is located, wherein the mask assembly comprises: a mask frame comprising an opening area; at least one mask sheet covering the opening area of the mask frame; and a support stick (see claims 17 and 18) disposed between the mask frame and the at least one mask sheet.
The co-pending application fails to recite the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area, the support stick having ends fixed to the mask frame, the at least one mask sheet comprises a plurality of submasks disposed side by side in a direction intersecting the first direction in which the support stick extends; and a connection stick disposed between the plurality of submasks and connecting two adjacent submasks among the plurality of submasks, and the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view. See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks and connection sticks are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks 154, 174 which are provided to the upper and lower submasks. The motivation to modify the design of the mask assembly based on the claims of the co-pending application wherein the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick disposed between the second submask and the third submask as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603 is that this design enhances support of the mask sheet (plurality of submasks) with the support sticks upon the mask frame and enhances the support of each submask relative to each other with the connection sticks as suggested by Kim et al US ‘603.
Claims 3, 5, 7-9, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No.
18/931594 in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0249603 henceforth known as Kim et al US ‘603) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10-14, 17, and 20, and in further view of Kim et al (KR 10-2023-0016097 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith Kim et al KR ‘097).
The apparatus resulting from the claims of the co-pending application as modified by the teachings of Kim et al US ‘603 was discussed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 16. The apparatus resulting from the claims of the co-pending application as modified by the teachings of Kim et al US ‘603 fails to claim that a width of the opening is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm.
The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 teaches a mask assembly with a mask frame 151, support stick 154 (recited by Kim et al KR ‘097 as the first support stick), connection stick 153 (referred to as the second support stick 153 in KR ‘097), and a plurality of submasks 152. Note that the support stick 154 is provided with an opening (a hole recited in the Machine Generated English Translation when discussing second support stick 153 and first support stick 154) into which the connection stick 153 is inserted. See Figs. 2a-2c. Upon observing Fig. 2c it is noted that the opening of the support stick is wider than the width of the connection stick but the prior art of KR ‘097 fails to teach specifically that the width of the opening is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm. The dimensions of the mask assembly to include the width of the opening and the width of the connection stick are matters of optimization and design choice in order to ensure the support stick opening has ample space to allow the connection stick to be inserted therein. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to design the mask assembly resulting from the combined teachings of the claims of the co-pending application and the prior art of both Kim et al US’603 and Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the width of the opening is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm as this range would have been determined without undue routine experimentation to ensure the dimensions are optimal so that the connection stick can be inserted within the support stick.
Regarding claims 7 and 18. The apparatus resulting from the claims of the co-pending application as modified by the teachings of Kim et al US ‘603 fails to claim that a width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are different.
The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 illustrates that the width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are the same as illustrated in Fig. 2b, but the dimensions of the support stick are matter of design choice and optimization such that the design of the mask assembly could ensure a width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are different as long as the submasks are amply supported by the support sticks. Throughout the prior art of Kim et al KR’097 it is suggested that the dimensions such as thickness and width of support sticks and connection sticks are a matter of optimization and design choice. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to design the mask assembly resulting from the combined teachings of the claims of the co-pending application and the prior art of both Kim et al US’603 and Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are different as long as the submasks are amply supported by the support sticks.
Regarding claims 8 and 19. See the rejection of claims 7 and 18 above and that it is a matter of design choice and optimization that the width of the first support and width of the second support stick are different. Likewise when the widths of the support sticks are different the widths of the openings of the of the support sticks accommodating the connection sticks to be inserted therethrough can also be different as it is also matter of design choice and optimization Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to design the mask assembly resulting from the combined teachings of the claims of the co-pending application and the prior art of both Kim et al US’603 and Kim et al KR’097 as the dimensions of the mask assembly to include the widths of the support sticks and the width of the openings of each support stick where the connection stick is to be inserted would be determined without undue routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 9. The co-pending application fails to recite that the at least one mask sheet comprises a first mask sheet and a second mask sheet disposed side by side in the first direction, the support stick comprises a first opening and a second opening spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and a connection stick of the first mask sheet is accommodated in the first opening, and a connection stick of the second mask sheet is accommodated in the second opening. See Fig. 2b of Kim et al KR ‘097 where the support stick 154 has several openings along its length where connection sticks are inserted there through. If the submasks include submasks shaped like those of submasks in Fig. 3 of Kim et al US ‘603 the support sticks (sub sticks) would be located between the submasks as illustrated in Figs. 3 and 8 of Kim et al ‘097. The combined teachings of the claims of the co-pending application with the various designs of the sub masks and support sticks as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al US ‘602 and Kim et al ‘097 would lead to a design where at least one mask sheet comprises a first mask sheet and a second mask sheet disposed side by side in the first direction, the support stick comprises a first opening and a second opening spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and a connection stick of the first mask sheet is accommodated in the first opening, and a connection stick of the second mask sheet is accommodated in the second opening in order to ensure the submasks are amply supported by the mask frame, connection sticks, and support sticks and that the flow of deposition materials be controlled and ensure independent processing of the various regions along the substrate as delineated by each submask.
Regarding claim 15. See claim 9 of the co-pending application where it is recited that the support stick comprises an opening formed in the first direction. The claims of the co-pending application as modified by Kim et ale connection stick is accommodated in the opening of the support stick.
Regarding claim 5. See the combination of claims 1 and 2 of the co-pending application where it is recited that there is a connection stick disposed between sub-masks adjacent to each other and that each of the plurality of submasks are disposed on the connection stick. Claim 9 of the co-pending application recites that the support stick defines an opening into which the connection stick is inserted. Thus, the plurality of submasks contact the support stick via the connection stick.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2021/0249603).
Regarding claim 1. The prior art of Kim et al teaches mask assembly 100 comprising: a mask frame 130 comprising an opening area 132; at least one mask sheet covering the opening area of the mask frame; and a support sticks 135a, 135b disposed between the mask frame and the at least one mask sheet, the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area, the support stick having ends fixed to the mask frame, wherein the at least one mask sheet comprises: a plurality of submasks 140, 160 disposed side by side in a direction intersecting the first direction in which the support stick extends; and a connection stick 154,174 disposed between the plurality of submasks and connecting two adjacent submasks among the plurality of submasks, and the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view. See Figs. 1 and 3 of Kim et al.
Regarding claims 10 and 20. See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks 135a, 135b and connection sticks 155,174 are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where thew sub mask are split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks 154, 174 which are parallel sticks on connection 154,174 interpreted as substicks which support the submasks wherein the support stick comprises a pair of parallel substicks each extending in the first direction, and the connection stick is accommodated between the pair of parallel substicks.
Regarding claim 12. The mask assembly of claim 10, wherein the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view, the first support stick including a pair of parallel first substicks to accommodate a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a pair of parallel second substicks to accommodate a second connection stick between the second submask and the third submask. See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks and connection sticks are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks 154, 174 interpreted as substicks which support the submasks.
Regarding claim 14. The apparatus for manufacturing a display apparatus of Kim et al US ‘603 features, the apparatus comprising: a mask assembly facing a display substrate; see Fig,. 22 with a deposition source 310 facing the mask assembly 100 on a side opposite to a side on which the display substrate is located, wherein the mask assembly comprises: a mask frame comprising an opening area 132/132a-132c dependent upon which design of the mask assembly 100 is used see Figs. 1, 3, and 8-11; at least one mask sheet 120/140 covering the opening area of the mask frame; and a support stick 135a, 135b disposed between the mask frame and the at least one mask sheet, the support stick extending in a first direction to traverse the opening area, the support stick having ends fixed to the mask frame, the at least one mask sheet comprises: a plurality of submasks 120/140 disposed side by side in a direction intersecting the first direction in which the support stick extends; and a connection stick 154,174 disposed between the plurality of submasks and connecting two adjacent submasks among the plurality of submasks, and the connection stick overlaps the support stick in a plan view. See Figs. 3 and 9 of Kim et al US’603 above where support sticks and connection sticks are featured. Observe in Kim et al US ‘603 that there are a plurality of submasks see Figs. 1, 3, and 12 where split masks 140, 160 are illustrated with connection sticks 154, 174 which correspond to the submasks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2021/0249603).
The teachings of Kim et al were discussed above.
The prior of Kim et al fails to teach
Regarding claim 11. The mask assembly of claim 10, wherein a distance between the pair of parallel substicks is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm.
Kim et al suggests in [0069], [0070], and [0079] – [0092] s that the dimensions of the opening(s), width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks are designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks (see especially [0079] and [0092] of Kim et al. Ultimately the dimensions of the mask assembly is a matter of design choice and optimization where each dimension would be determined without undue routine experimentation to ensure that the mask sheets comprising the submasks be amply supported by the mask frame, connection sticks, and support sticks and that the flow of deposition materials be controlled and ensure independent processing of the various regions along the substrate as delineated by each submask. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to design the dimensions of the opening(s), width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks are designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks as these dimensions can be optimized as suggested in the prior art of Kim et al.
Regarding claim 13. The apparatus of Kim et al US’603 fails to teach a separation distance between the pair of parallel first substicks is different from a separation distance between the pair of parallel second substicks. The prior art of Kim et al does suggest in [0069], [0070], and [0079] – [0092] that the dimensions of mask assembly to include the width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks (interpreted as the separation distance) are designed to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks (see especially [0079] and [0092] of Kim et al. Ultimately the dimensions of the mask assembly is a matter of design choice and optimization where each dimension would be determined without undue routine experimentation to ensure that the mask sheets comprising the submasks be amply supported by the mask frame, connection sticks, and support sticks and that the flow of deposition materials be controlled and ensure independent processing of the various regions along the substrate as delineated by each submask. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify design the dimensions of the width of connection stick, thickness of connection stick, thickness of support stick, width of support stick(s), and the separation distance between a pair of parallel sub sticks of the mask assembly of Kim et al US ‘603 to ensure that the mask frame amply support the mask sheets/submasks and the deposition materials not be passed between the support sticks or connection sticks as these dimensions can be optimized as suggested in the prior art of Kim et alUS’603.
Claims 2-9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2021/0249603, henceforth known as Kim et al US ‘603) in view of Kim et al (KR 10-2023-0016097 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith Kim et al KR ‘097).
The teachings of the prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 were discussed above.
The prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 fails to teach:
Regarding claim 2. The mask assembly of claim 1, wherein the support stick comprises an opening formed in the first direction, and the connection stick is accommodated in the opening.
The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 teaches a mask assembly with a mask frame 151, support stick 154 (recited by Kim et al KR ‘097 as the first support stick), connection stick 153 (referred to as the second support stick 153 in KR ‘097), and a plurality of submasks 152. Note that the support stick 154 is provided with an opening (a hole recited in the Machine Generated English Translation when discussing second support stick 153 and first support stick 154) into which the connection stick 153 is inserted. See Figs. 2a-2c. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 with an opening in the support stick as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the connection stick can be inserted within the support stick.
Regarding claims 3 and 16. The prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 fails to teach a width of the opening is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm. The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 teaches a mask assembly with a mask frame 151, support stick 154 (recited by Kim et al KR ‘097 as the first support stick), connection stick 153 (referred to as the second support stick 153 in KR ‘097), and a plurality of submasks 152. Note that the support stick 154 is provided with an opening (a hole recited in the Machine Generated English Translation when discussing second support stick 153 and first support stick 154) into which the connection stick 153 is inserted. See Figs. 2a-2c. Upon observing Fig. 2c it is noted that the opening of the support stick is wider than the width of the connection stick but the prior art of KR ‘097 fails to teach specifically that the width of the opening is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm. The dimensions of the mask assembly to include the width of the opening and the width of the connection stick are matters of optimization and design choice in order to ensure the support stick opening has ample space to allow the connection stick to be inserted therein. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to design the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 as modified by the prior art of Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the width of the opening is formed to be larger than a width of the connection stick by at least about 12 μm but less than about 18 μm as this range would have been determined without undue routine experimentation to ensure the dimensions are optimal so that the connection stick can be inserted within the support stick.
Regarding claim 4. The mask assembly of claim 2, wherein a thickness of the connection stick and a thickness of the support stick are same. See in Fig. 3 of prior art of Kim et al ‘603 where support sticks 135a, 135b are provided and note that the support sticks act as connection sticks are they are disposed between the submasks 140 and 160 especially at the outermost submasks closest to the sides of the frames.. These support sticks/connection sticks have the same thickness.
Regarding claim 5. See the Figures of Kim et al US’603 where the plurality of submasks 140/160 contact the support stick 135a,135b.
Regarding claim 6. Recall in the apparatus of Kim et al US’603 that the plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view. Recall that the design of the mask assembly of Kim et al US ‘603 fails to teach the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick disposed between the second submask and the third submask.
The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 teaches a mask assembly with a mask frame 151, support stick 154 (recited by Kim et al KR ‘097 as the first support stick), connection stick 153 (referred to as the second support stick 153 in KR ‘097), and a plurality of submasks 152. Note that the support stick 154 is provided with an opening (a hole recited in the Machine Generated English Translation when discussing second support stick 153 and first support stick 154) into which the connection stick 153 is inserted. See Figs. 2a-2c. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 with an opening in the support stick as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the connection stick can be inserted within the support stick.
Regarding claims 7 and 18. The apparatus of Kim et al US’603 fails to teach width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are different.
The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 illustrates that the width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are the same as illustrated in Fig. 2b, but the dimensions of the support stick are matter of design choice and optimization such that the design of the mask assembly could ensure a width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are different as long as the submasks are amply supported by the support sticks. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to design the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 and Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the width of the first support stick and a width of the second support stick are different as long as the submasks are amply supported by the support sticks.
Regarding claims 8 and 19. The apparatus of Kim et al US’603 fails to teach a width of the first opening and a width of the second opening are different. See the rejection of claims 7 and 18 above and that it is a matter of design choice and optimization that the width of the first support and width of the second support stick are different. Likewise when the widths of the support sticks are different the widths of the openings of the of the support sticks accommodating the connection sticks to be inserted therethrough can also be different as it is also matter of design choice and optimization Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to design the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 as modified by the prior art Kim et al KR’097 with optimal dimensions which could be determined without undue routine experimentations to ensure that the dimensions of the mask assembly to include the widths of the support sticks and the width of the openings of each support stick would ensure the connection stick is to be inserted amply.
Regarding claim 9. The apparatus of Kim et al US’603 fails to teach the at least one mask sheet comprises a first mask sheet and a second mask sheet disposed side by side in the first direction, the support stick comprises a first opening and a second opening spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and a connection stick of the first mask sheet is accommodated in the first opening, and a connection stick of the second mask sheet is accommodated in the second opening. See Fig. 2b of Kim et al KR ‘097 where the support stick 154 has several openings along its length where connection sticks are inserted there through. If the submasks include submasks shaped like those of submasks in Fig. 5 of Kim et al US ‘603 the support sticks (sub sticks) would be located between the submasks as illustrated in Figs. 3 and 8 of Kim et al ‘097. Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combined teachings of the various designs of the sub masks and support sticks as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al US ‘602 and Kim et al ‘097 which would lead to a design where at least one mask sheet comprises a first mask sheet and a second mask sheet disposed side by side in the first direction, the support stick comprises a first opening and a second opening spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and a connection stick of the first mask sheet is accommodated in the first opening, and a connection stick of the second mask sheet is accommodated in the second opening in order to ensure the submasks are amply supported by the mask frame, connection sticks, and support sticks and that the flow of deposition materials be controlled and ensure independent processing of the various regions along the substrate as delineated by each submask.
Regarding claim 15. The prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 fails to teach the support stick comprises an opening formed in the first direction, and the connection stick is accommodated in the opening of the support stick. The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 teaches a mask assembly with a mask frame 151, support stick 154 (recited by Kim et al KR ‘097 as the first support stick), connection stick 153 (referred to as the second support stick 153 in KR ‘097), and a plurality of submasks 152. Note that the support stick 154 is provided with an opening (a hole recited in the Machine Generated English Translation when discussing second support stick 153 and first support stick 154) into which the connection stick 153 is inserted. See Figs. 2a-2c. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 with an opening in the support stick as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the connection stick can be inserted within the support stick.
Regarding claim 17. Recall the prior art of Kim et al US ‘603 teaches a plurality of submasks comprise a first submask, a second submask, and a third submask, disposed side by side in a second direction, and the support stick comprises: a first support stick extending in the first direction between the first submask and the second submask, in a plan view. Recall the prior art of Kim et al ‘uS603 fails to teach the first support stick including a first opening accommodating a first connection stick between the first submask and the second submask; and a second support stick extending in the first direction between the second submask and the third submask, in a plan view, the second support stick including a second opening accommodating a second connection stick between the second submask and the third submask. The prior art of Kim et al KR’097 teaches a mask assembly with a mask frame 151, support stick 154 (recited by Kim et al KR ‘097 as the first support stick), connection stick 153 (referred to as the second support stick 153 in KR ‘097), and a plurality of submasks 152. Note that the support stick 154 is provided with an opening (a hole recited in the Machine Generated English Translation when discussing second support stick 153 and first support stick 154) into which the connection stick 153 is inserted. See Figs. 2a-2c. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the mask assembly of Kim et al US’603 with an opening in the support stick as suggested by the prior art of Kim et al KR’097 to ensure that the connection stick (s) can be inserted within the support stick(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR102427524B1 features a plurality of mask sheets 100, mask openings 101.
US 11,877,500 teaches a mask assembly with a fame 500, support sticks 510,530, submasks 400, and block sticks 510.
US 6,749,690 teaches submasks 12a, 12b; frame with sides 17a, 17b; connection sticks 32 see Fig. 1.
US 2019/0352765 teaches a deposition mask see Fig. 2 where the mask frame 12 with support sticks 12a, submasks 11 with connection sticks 13a,
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716