DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US 2020/0257017.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method comprising: conveying a geological logging tool (fig. 1 #102) within a subterranean formation (fig. 1 #106); acquiring elemental data using the geological logging tool (para. 0030 “In various embodiments, the characterization 200 may be provided from one or more downhole logging operations, such as the BHGE Formation Lithology eXplorer™ (FLeX™) elemental spectroscopy wireline logging tool, a pulsed neutron spectroscopy tool, or any other tool that provides “low resolution” (LR) logging data” at least one embodiment of the logging tool provides elemental data); calculating mineralogy of the subterranean formation based at least on the elemental data (fig. 2 para. 0030); and calculating lithology of the subterranean formation based at least on the mineralogy calculated from at least the elemental data acquired by the geological logging tool (para. 0030, 0033-0035).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the calculating mineralogy and the calculating lithology is performed in real time while the geological logging tool is still conveyed into the subterranean formation (para. 0033).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the geological logging tool comprises at least one geological logging tool selected from the group consisting of pulsed neutron logging wireline tool, pulsed neutron logging-while-drilling tool, neutron-induced gamma ray spectroscopy tool with chemical sources, and any combination thereof (para. 0021-0022, 0030).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a method comprising: conveying a geological logging tool (fig. 1 #102) within a subterranean formation (fig. 1 #106), wherein the geological logging tool comprises at least one geological logging tool selected from the group consisting of pulsed neutron logging wireline tool, pulsed neutron logging-while-drilling tool, neutron-induced gamma ray spectroscopy tool with chemical sources, and any combination thereof (para. 0021-0022, 0030);
acquiring elemental data using the geological logging tool (para. 0030 “In various embodiments, the characterization 200 may be provided from one or more downhole logging operations, such as the BHGE Formation Lithology eXplorer™ (FLeX™) elemental spectroscopy wireline logging tool, a pulsed neutron spectroscopy tool, or any other tool that provides “low resolution” (LR) logging data” at least one embodiment of the logging tool provides elemental data);
calculating mineralogy of the subterranean formation based at least on the elemental data (fig. 2 para. 0030) in real time while the geological logging tool is still conveyed in the subterranean formation (para. 0033); and
calculating lithology of the subterranean formation based at least on the mineralogy calculated from at least the elemental data acquired by the geological logging tool (para. 0030, 0033-0035).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest calculating the mineralogy of the subterranean formation based at least on the elemental data comprises calculating anhydrite and residuals contents, then calculating dolomite and residuals contents, then calculating calcite content based at least in part on remaining calcium content, then calculating pyrite content based at least in part on a minimum of remaining iron and remaining sulfur, and then calculating chlorite content from minimum of remaining magnesium and remaining iron and residuals, along with other claim limitations.
Claims 5-11 are dependent on claim 4 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest wherein calculating the mineralogy of the subterranean formation based at least on the elemental data comprises calculating anatase from titanium after accounting for titanium in clays using a concentration of aluminum, along with other claim limitations.
Claims 14-20 are dependent on claim 13 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884