DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahajani et al (US2014/0023794; hereafter Mahajani).
Claim 1: Mahajani teaches a method of depositing a silicon-containing film (see, for example, abstract, [0014]), the method comprising:
exposing a substrate in a processing system to a silicon-containing precursor (first reactive gas comprising silicon) (See, for example, [0006], [0014], [0047];
exposing the substrate to a nitrogen-containing reactant (second reactive gas, further such as ammonia, hydrazine) (See, for example, [0006-0007], [0048-49]);
exposing the substrate to a first plasma (densifying (third) gas plasma treatment) including one or more of nitrogen or hydrogen, and one or more of argon or helium (further, at least Ar and N2) (see, for example, [0006-0009], [0014-17], [0041-42], [0049]).
and exposing the substrate to a second plasma (densifying (third) gas plasma treatment) including one or more of nitrogen, argon, helium, nitrous oxide (further, at least Ar and N2) (see, for example, [0006-0009], [0014-17], [0041-42], [0049] [0123]; As the plasma densifying process occurs over a finite portion of time, an initial time “t”, where t is < the total (T) duration is interpreted as corresponding to “exposing the substrate to a first plasma” and subsequent time “t2”, wherein t2 </ T-t1, is interpreted as corresponding to “exposing the substrate toa second plasma”; additionally / alternatively plasma introduction is taught as “pulsed”, wherein sequential pulses of plasmas are applied, therein particular singular and distinct pulses can be interpreted as corresponding to first and second plasma exposures).
Claim 2: Mahajani further teaches repeating one or more operations of the method to deposit the silicon-containing film to a predetermined thickness (see, for example, [0054])
Claim 3: Mahajani further teaches a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process, and exposing the substrate to the silicon-containing precursor the nitrogen-containing reactant is performed without the use of plasma (see, for example, [0123]).
Claim 4: Mahajani further teaches wherein the PEALD process is a spatial PEALD process or a temporal PEALD process (see, for example, [0071], [0082], [0127]).
Claim 5: Mahajani further teaches wherein the nitrogen-containing reactant comprises ammonia (see, for example, See, for example, [0006-0007], [0048-49], claim 3).
Claim 6: Mahajani further teaches wherein each of the first plasma and the second plasma is independently generated (such as a separate pulse) by a plasma source comprising one or more of a remote plasma source, an inductively coupled plasma (ICP) source, a capacitively coupled plasma (CCP) source, or a microwave plasma source (see, for example, [0068], [0123]).
Claim 7: Mahajani further teaches each of the first plasma and the second plasma independently comprises a microwave plasma generated by the microwave plasma source (see, for example, [0068], [0123]).
Claims 8 and 10: Mahajani further teaches wherein the first / second plasma comprises nitrogen and one or more of argon or helium (such as Ar and N2) (see, for example, [0006-0009], [0014-17], [0041-42], [0049], claim 4).
Claim 9: Mahajani further teaches wherein the first plasma comprises hydrogen and one or more of argon (Ar) or helium (He) (See, for example, [0049], claim 4).
Claim 11: Mahajani further teaches wherein a bias is provided to the second plasma (such as the plasma being capacitively coupled (self biased)) (See, for example, [0068]).
Claim 12: Mahajani further teaches wherein the second plasma comprises one or more of nitrous oxide (see, for example, [0008], claim 4).
Claim 13: Mahajani further teaches wherein a bias is provided to the second plasma (such as the plasma being capacitively coupled (self biased)) (See, for example, [0068]).
Claim 14: Mahajani further teaches 14. The method of claim 1, wherein the silicon-containing film comprises one or more of silicon nitride (SiN), silicon oxide (SiO), silicon carbonitride (SiCN), silicon oxycarbide (SiOC), or silicon carboxynitride (SiCON) (See, for example, [0006] wherein film of SiN, SiC, SiCN is taught as well as use of oxidizing agent, thus inclusion of oxygen therein as well).
Claim 15: Mahajani further teaches wherein the substrate comprises at least one feature having a bottom surface and two sidewalls (see, for example, [0003] wherein method is used for conformal deposition of materials onto substrates possessing surface features with aspect ratios of 10 or greater, thus a distance between such feature is interpreted as a bottom surface, and two surfaces extending therefrom is interpreted as two sidewalls).
Claim 18: Mahajani further teaches the pressure during deposition is 40 Torr (see, for example, [0054]).
Claim 19: Mahajani teaches a method of depositing a silicon-containing film (see, for example, abstract, [0014]), the method comprising:
exposing a substrate in a processing system to a silicon-containing precursor (first reactive gas comprising silicon) (See, for example, [0006], [0014], [0047]);
exposing the substrate to ammonia (second reactive gas, further such as ammonia) (See, for example, [0006-0007]);
exposing the substrate to a first plasma (densifying (third) gas plasma treatment) including nitrogen, and argon (such as mixture of at least Ar, He, and N2) (see, for example, [0006-0009], [0014-17]).
and exposing the substrate to a second plasma (densifying (third) gas plasma treatment) including nitrogen and helium (such as a mixture of at least Ar, He, and N2), (see, for example, [0006-0009], [0014-17],[0123]; As the plasma densifying process occurs over a finite portion of time, an initial time “t”, where t is < the total (T) duration is interpreted as corresponding to “exposing the substrate to a first plasma” and subsequent time “t2”, wherein t2 </ T-t1, is interpreted as corresponding to “exposing the substrate toa second plasma”; additionally / alternatively plasma introduction is taught as “pulsed”, wherein sequential pulses of plasmas are applied, therein particular singular and distinct pulses can be interpreted as corresponding to first and second plasma exposures).
wherein the method comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process (see, for example, [0123]),
and exposing the substrate to the silicon-containing precursor and the ammonia (NH.sub.3) is performed without the use of plasma (see, for example, [0123]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahajani.
Claim 16: Mahajani teaches the method of claim 15 above, and further teaches wherein the aspect ratio is 10 or greater (see, for example, [0003]). Although such a range is not explicitly in a range of 1:1 to 100:1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an aspect ratio within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 17: Mahajani teaches the method of claim 1 above, and further teaches wherein the film is formed at a temperature which is less than about 500oC (see, for example, [0051]). Although such a range is not explicitly in a range of 100 to 600C as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a temperature within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahajani in view of Chandra et al (US2018/0033614; hereafter Chandra).
Claim 20: Mahajani teaches a method of depositing a silicon-containing film (see, for example, abstract, [0014]), the method comprising:
exposing a substrate in a processing system to a silicon-containing precursor (first reactive gas comprising silicon) (See, for example, [0006], [0014], [0047]);
exposing the substrate to a second reactive gas (such as ammonia or hydrazine) (See, for example, [0006-0007], claim 3);
exposing the substrate to a first plasma (densifying (third) gas plasma treatment) including hydrogen, and argon (such as mixture of at least argon, hydrogen, and nitrous oxide) (see, for example, [0006-0009], claim 4).
and exposing the substrate to a second plasma (densifying (third) gas plasma treatment) including nitrous oxide (such as a mixture of at least argon, hydrogen, and nitrous oxide), (see, for example, [0006-0009], [0123], claim 4; As the plasma densifying process occurs over a finite portion of time, an initial time “t”, where t is < the total (T) duration is interpreted as corresponding to “exposing the substrate to a first plasma” and subsequent time “t2”, wherein t2 </ T-t1, is interpreted as corresponding to “exposing the substrate toa second plasma”; additionally / alternatively plasma introduction is taught as “pulsed”, wherein sequential pulses of plasmas are applied, therein particular singular and distinct pulses can be interpreted as corresponding to first and second plasma exposures).
wherein the method comprises a plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process (see, for example, [0123]),
and exposing the substrate to the silicon-containing precursor and the second reactant is performed without the use of plasma (see, for example, [0123]).
Mahajani has taught exemplary embodiments of forming silicon nitride, silicon carbide, and silicon carbonitride films by the method, and wherein the second reactant to achieve such film chemistry is ammonia or hydrazine (See, for example, [0007], claim 3); but it has not taught ethylenediamine as the second reactant. Chandra teaches a method of forming carbon-doped silicon containing films, such as SiOC, SiNC, SiONC (see, for example, abstract, [0003]). Chandra further teaches wherein formation of such films can predictably be achieved by ALD / CVD deposition of silicon and nitrogen containing precursors; wherein, in addition to ammonia or hydrazine, ethylenediamine is taught as a suitable nitrogen-containing source gas for formation of such films (see, for example, [0088-89], and [0095]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated ethylenediamine as the second reactant since ethylenediamine performs predictably as a nitrogen-containing source gas for ALD/ CVD deposition of Si-N containing films, and since where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297,301 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 372 F.2d 566, 568 (CCPA 1967).
Conclusion
/NATHAN H EMPIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712