DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending before the Office for review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-11 and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 19, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-8 and 12-16) in the reply filed on May 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YOSHIZAKI et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0024780).
With regards to claim 1, Yoshizaki discloses a polishing composition comprising: colloidal silica in which an organic acid is fixed on a surface (Paragraphs [0021]-[0025]); and a pH adjusting agent (Paragraphs [0060]-[0069]), wherein an average aspect ratio of the colloidal silica is 1.38 or more (Paragraph [0030] discloses 1 to 2).
With regards to claim 4, Yoshizaki discloses wherein a pH is less than 7. (Paragraph [0063]).
With regards to claim 5, Yoshizaki discloses wherein a pH is less than 4. (Paragraph [0063]).
With regards to claim 6, Yoshizaki discloses wherein the pH adjusting agent is an acid. (Paragraph [0064])
With regards to claim 7, Yoshizaki discloses wherein the organic acid is a sulfonic acid. (Paragraph [0025])
With regards to claim 8, Yoshizaki discloses wherein, in a case of polishing objects to be polished, containing SiO2 and SiN, the SiN has a selectively higher polishing removal rate than the SiO2. (Paragraphs [0012]-[0019], [0082]-[0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOSHIZAKI et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0024780) in view of HAINS et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0301178).
With regards to claims 2 and 3, Yoshizaki discloses the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed.
However Yoshizaki does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a particle size distribution of the colloidal silica calculated by SEM image analysis, a ratio (D90 - D10)/D50 of a difference between a particle diameter D90 when a cumulative number of particles from a fine particle side reaches 90% of a total number of particles and a particle diameter D10 when the cumulative number of particles from the fine particle side reaches 10% of the total number of particles to a particle diameter D50 when the cumulative number of particles from the fine particle side reaches 50% of the total number of particles is 70% or more and 105% or less and wherein the ratio (D90 - D10)/D50 is 90% or more and 105% or less.
Hains discloses a chemical mechanical polishing composition comprising colloidal silica particles wherein the colloidal silica particles aggregation is evaluated using high magnification scanning electron microscopy (SEM) wherein the particle distribution NSpan – D90/-D10/D50 wherein NSpan is greater than 0.42 (Paragraphs [0018]-[0024]) wherein the NSpan of the colloidal silica provides a composition wherein a high polishing rate and highly planar surface (Paragraph [0120]). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the particle size distributions to amounts including a ratio (D90 - D10)/D50 of a difference between a particle diameter D90 when a cumulative number of particles from a fine particle side reaches 90% of a total number of particles and a particle diameter D10 when the cumulative number of particles from the fine particle side reaches 10% of the total number of particles to a particle diameter D50 when the cumulative number of particles from the fine particle side reaches 50% of the total number of particles is 70% or more and 105% or less and wherein the ratio (D90 - D10)/D50 is 90% or more and 105% or less in order to provide a distribution ratio of colloidal silica in a composition wherein the composition provides a high polishing rate and highly planar surface as taught by the modified teachings of Yoshizaki (Hains Paragraph [0120]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Yoshizaki to include the particle size distribution as rendered obvious by Hains because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired polishing composition using the particle distribution as rendered obvious by Hains. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 12, the modified teachings of Yoshizaki renders obvious wherein a pH is less than 7. (Yoshizaki Paragraph [0063]).
With regards to claim 13, the modified teachings of Yoshizaki renders obvious wherein a pH is less than 4. (Yoshizaki Paragraph [0063]).
With regards to claim 14, the modified teachings of Yoshizaki renders obvious wherein the pH adjusting agent is an acid. (Yoshizaki Paragraph [0064])
With regards to claim 15, the modified teachings of Yoshizaki renders obvious wherein the organic acid is a sulfonic acid. (Yoshizaki Paragraph [0025])
With regards to claim 16, the modified teachings of Yoshizaki renders obvious wherein, in a case of polishing objects to be polished, containing SiO2 and SiN, the SiN has a selectively higher polishing removal rate than the SiO2. (Yoshizaki Paragraphs [0012]-[0019], [0082]-[0085]).
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713