Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2018-0003505, filed on 1/10/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kwak Won Kyu (KR 20160017845, provided in the IDS, English translation attached). (“Kwak”).
6. Regarding claim 1, Kwak teaches A display device [Figures 1-12, a display device is shown, see Abstract], comprising: a substrate including a display area and a non-display area outside the display area [Figures 8-10, a substrate is shown including a display area DA and a non-display area NDA outside the display area] ; a plurality of pixels disposed in the display area on the substrate [Figures 8-10, pixels (RP, GP) disposed in the display area DA is shown]; a driving integrated circuit (IC) disposed in the non-display area adjacent to a first side of the display area on the substrate [Figures 8-10, a driving IC is shown in image below disposed in the non-display area NDA]; a first conductive line disposed in the non-display area on the substrate, the first conductive line surrounding sides of the display area other than the first side [Figures 8-10, a first conductive line OL1 is shown]; a second conductive line disposed in the non-display area on the substrate, the second conductive line disposed along the first conductive line [Figures 8-10, a second conductive line OL2 is shown]; a first matching resistor disposed in the non-display area on the substrate, the first matching resistor electrically connected to the driving IC [Figures 8-10, a first matching resistor R disposed in NDA is shown, electrically connected to the driving IC]; and a second matching resistor disposed in the non-display area on the substrate, the second matching resistor electrically connected to the driving IC [Figures 8-10, a second matching resistor R disposed in NDA is shown, electrically connected to the driving IC], wherein the first conductive line is disposed between the display area and the second conductive line, the first conductive line and the second conductive line are disposed at different layers from each other, and the first conductive line and the second conductive line are electrically connected to the driving IC [Figures 8-10, broadly speaking, the first conductive line OL1 is disposed between the display area DA and the second conductive line OL2, the lines are disposed at different layers and the lines are electrically connected to the driving IC as shown below].
7. Regarding claim 2, Kwak teaches further comprising a plurality of data lines connected to the pixels, wherein each of the first conductive line and the second conductive line is electrically connected to at least one of the data lines [Figures 8-10, data lines D1-Dm connected to the pixels RP, GP are shown].
8. Regarding claim 3, Kwak teaches wherein each of the first matching resistor and the second matching resistor is electrically connected to at least one of the data lines [Figures 8-10, the first matching resistor and the second matching resistor is electrically connected to the data lines D1-Dm].
9. Regarding claim 4, Kwak teaches wherein the first conductive line and the second conductive line are electrically connected to a first data line and a second data line, respectively, the first matching resistor is electrically connected to a third data line adjacent to the first data line, and the second matching resistor is electrically connected to a fourth data line adjacent to the second data line [Figures 8-10, the arrangement is shown].
10. Regarding claim 5, Kwak teaches wherein the first matching resistor is connected to the third data line by a first switching element, and the second matching resistor is connected to the fourth data line by a second switching element [Figures 8-10, the arrangement is shown, see switching element/transistor TT1].
11. Regarding claim 6, Kwak teaches wherein the first conductive line is connected to the first data line by a first switching element, and the second conductive line is connected to the second data line by a second switching element [Figures 8-10, the arrangement is shown].
12. Regarding claim 10, Kwak teaches wherein a first pixel connected to the first data line emits a first color, and a second pixel connected to the second data line emits a second color different from the first color [Figures 8-10, the pixel connected to the data line is shown].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak Won Kyu (KR 20160017845). (“Kwak”).
15. Regarding claim 7, Kwak teaches the display device.
Kwak does not explicitly teach wherein a resistance of the second matching resistor is greater than a resistance of the first matching resistor.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwak to optimize the resistance value of the matching resistors because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
16. Regarding claim 8, Kwak teaches the display device.
Kwak does not explicitly teach wherein a resistance of the second conductive line is greater than a resistance of the first conductive line.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwak to optimize the resistance value of the conductive line because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
17. Regarding claim 9, Kwak teaches the display device.
Kwak does not explicitly teach wherein a resistance of the first matching resistor is greater than a resistance of the first conductive line, and a resistance of the second matching resistor is greater than a resistance of the second conductive line.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwak to optimize the resistance value of the conductive line because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Byun et al. (US 2016/0225312), Figures 1-3, a display panel including a display area, a non-display area, pixels, transistor switches and driving IC.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858