Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 introduce an element of “training, over a plurality of steps, a machine learning (ML) model… .”
The claims then comprise a step of “providing to a machine learning (ML) model, a set of files…”
It is unclear if this is the same machine learning model or different machine learning models. It also renders subsequent invocations of the element “the ML model” unclear, because both “ML models” were introduced using the same language.
Claims 8 and 15 contain a limitation wherein “the set of feature vectors is grouped based on a hierarchy of characteristics.”
The element “a hierarchy of characteristics” had already been introduced previously in the claims. It is unclear if this element is referring to the same or a different hierarchy of characteristics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0294840), in view of Park et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0160890), and further in view of Larkin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0057414).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a method comprising:
…
providing to a machine learning (ML) model, a set of files, wherein the ML model is configured to generate, based on the set of files, a feature vector database comprising a set of feature vectors, wherein each of the set of feature vectors corresponds to a particular file of the set of files and wherein the set of feature vectors is grouped based on … characteristics (see Lee paragraphs [0024]-[0025]. A set of music files may be used to train a neural network. Feature vectors of the music files are generated. Each of the feature vectors is generated from a music file. The feature vectors may be grouped based on characteristics into subspaces corresponding to musical attributes);
in response to receiving a query file to be compared to the set of files, processing the query file using the ML model to generate a query feature vector (see Lee paragraphs [0026]-[0027]. The user may supply a query music file to the system. The system will generate a feature vector of the query music file); and
querying, by a processing device, the feature vector database using the query feature vector to identify one or more of the set of files that are similar to the query file (see Lee paragraphs [0027]-[0028]. Based on the feature vector, the system will search for music file similar to the query music file. As noted in paragraph [0028], the searching compares the query music file vector to the stored feature vectors).
Lee does not explicitly teach:
Training, over a plurality of steps, a machine learning model to group files based on a hierarchy of characteristics, wherein at each of the plurality of steps, the ML model is trained to group files iteratively, and
wherein at each progressive iteration the ML model learns to group files based on a characteristic from the hierarchy of characteristics that is progressively lower on the hierarchy of characteristics;
wherein the set of feature vectors is grouped based on a hierarchy of characteristics;
Park teaches:
Training, over a plurality of steps, a machine learning model to group files based on … characteristics, wherein at each of the plurality of steps, the ML model is trained to group files iteratively, and wherein at each progressive iteration the ML model learns to group files based on a particular characteristic from the … characteristics (see paragraph [0123]. Park teaches to cluster (or group) nodes (or files) based on characteristics);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Lee by the teachings of Park, because both references are directed towards training data. Park merely adds to Lee an additional method to train the data, which will help to identify groups of entities within an entity network based on relationships between the entities. The learning process of Park will help to categorize data in a more accurate manner (see Park paragraph [0032]).
Larkin teaches:
Training, over a plurality of steps, a machine learning model to [match] files based on a hierarchy of characteristics, wherein at each of the plurality of steps, the ML model is trained to group files iteratively (see Larkin paragraphs [0043] and [0094]. Larkin relies upon a hierarchy of match models, such that each iteration is associated with a different matching model of a hierarchical string matching machine learning framework), and
wherein at each progressive iteration the ML model learns to group files based on a characteristic from the hierarchy of characteristics that is progressively lower on the hierarchy of characteristics (see Larkin paragraphs [0043] and [0094]-[0096]. A sequence of progressively “lower” match models in a hierarchy is used with each iteration. It is noted that Applicant does not define “lower” nor provide any details regarding the nature of the hierarchy of characteristics);
wherein the set of feature vectors is grouped based on the hierarchy of characteristics (see paragraphs [0043] and [0094]-[0096] for a hierarchy of characteristics. It is noted that Lee paragraphs [0024]-[0025] teach to calculate feature vectors based on characteristics. Larkin is simply relied upon to show wherein those characteristics used by a machine learning model may be based on a hierarchy);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Lee by the teachings of Larkin, because both references are directed towards searching for files using feature vectors. Larkin merely adds to Lee an additional method to recognizing matching of data, notably based on a hierarchy of matching characteristics. The process of Larkin will help to improve predictive accuracy of string-based machine learning models (see Larkin paragraph [0021]).
As to claim 2, Lee as modified by Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ML model is trained using training data comprising a plurality of training data batches, wherein each of the plurality of training data batches comprises a set of training files with a label for each characteristic in the hierarchy of characteristics (see Lee paragraph [0025]. The machine learning model is trained using a plurality of training data. Each of the model subspaces is trained using a different label for each characteristic. Larkin teaches the existence of a hierarchy of characteristics, see paragraphs [0043] and [0094]-[0096]) and
wherein training the ML model comprises:
at each of the plurality of steps:
grouping, using the ML model, a respective training data batch iteratively based on the hierarchy of characteristics to generate an output for each iteration (see Park paragraph [0061] for training based on different clusters. See Park paragraph [0074], which indicates how there are multiple iterations) ; and
for each iteration:
analyzing the output with a hierarchical contrastive learning (HCL) loss function to determine a loss value (see Park paragraph [0061]. A contrastive learning loss function is used to identify hierarchical community loss); and
adjusting one or more weights of the ML model based at least in part on the loss value (see Park paragraph [0075]. Loss is measured and weights are adjusted in the model).
As to claim 3, Lee as modified by Park teaches the method of claim 2, wherein training the ML model further comprises:
for each iteration:
analyzing the output with a focal loss function to determine a second loss value (see Park paragraph [0061]. Two samples may be used to calculate a total loss value); and
adding the loss value and the second loss value to generate a total loss value, wherein the one or more weights of the ML model are adjusted based on the total loss value (see Park paragraph [0061]. The two samples are added to generate a community loss. As noted in paragraph [0075], node weights may be adjusted to minimize a loss).
As to claim 4, Lee as modified teaches the method of method of claim 1, wherein querying the feature vector database using the query feature vector comprises:
using a nearest neighbors algorithm to identify from the feature vector database, one or more of the set of feature vectors that are similar to the query feature vector (see Lee paragraph [0160]).
As to claim 5, Lee as modified teaches the method of method of claim 4, further comprising:
for each of the identified one or more feature vectors, retrieving a file from the set of files corresponding to the identified feature vector to obtain the one or more of the set of files that are similar to the query file set (see Lee paragraphs [0028]-[0029] and [0160]); and
providing the one or more of the set of files that are similar to the query file as a result set (see Lee paragraphs [0028]-[0029] and [0160]).
As to claims 8 and 15, see the rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 9 and 16, see the rejection of claim 2.
As to claims 10 and 17, see the rejection of claim 3.
As to claims 11 and 18, see the rejection of claim 4.
As to claims 12 and 19, see the rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0294840), in view of Park et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0160890), in view of Larkin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0057414), and further in view of Srivastava et al. (US Pre-Grant Patent 8,561,193).
As to claim 6, Lee as modified teaches the method of method of claim 1.
Lee does not teach wherein the hierarchy of characteristics comprises:
threat type, malware family, subtype, compiler, packer, and library.
Srivastava teaches wherein the hierarchy of characteristics comprises:
threat type, malware family, subtype, compiler, packer, and library (see Srivastava 5:10-37. Srivastava teaches wherein each of these characteristics may be extracted and recorded as part of a file. It is noted that Lee extracts characteristics from a file to use when creating feature vectors. Larkin teaches the creation of a hierarchy of features. Srivastava simply shows wherein such features may be related to malware attributes, including those claimed. It is additionally note that the specific data types of the hierarchy do not appear to functionally change the invention, and that no order for the data types is claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Lee by the teachings of Srivastava, because both references are directed towards extracting data. Srivastava merely adds to Lee an additional type of data entity that may be categorized and searched for using the system of Lee. This will make the search system of Lee be able to respond to additional types of user requests.
As to claims 13 and 20, see the rejection of claim 6.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0294840), in view of Park et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0160890), in view of Larkin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0057414), and further in view of Alme et al. (US Pre-Grant Patent 8,561,193).
As to claim 7, Lee as modified teaches the method of method of claim 1,
Lee does not teach wherein each of the set of files and the query file are portable executable files
Alme teaches wherein each of the set of files and the query file are portable executable files (see Alme paragraphs [0033], [0035] and [0064]. Malicious executable files may be used for training. Additionally, executable files are searched when received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Lee by the teachings of Alme, because both references are directed towards extracting data and searching vectors of data. Alme merely adds to Lee an additional type of data entity that may be categorized and searched for using the system of Lee. This will make the search system of Lee be able to respond to additional types of user requests.
As to claim 14, see the rejection of claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLES D ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152