Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hochberg et al. (US 20160116688 A1).
CLAIM 1. Hochberg teaches a electronic package (Hochberg Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a carrier structure 160/560 (Hochberg ¶[0038], ¶[0046]);
an electronic element 102 disposed on the carrier structure 160/560 and electrically connected to the carrier structure 160/560 (¶[0036], [0038]);
a supporting structure 120 “disposed on the carrier structure 160/560 (¶[0038], [0040] Fig. 1A);
a semiconductor element 104 disposed on the carrier structure 160/560 and electrically connected to the carrier structure 160/560 (¶[0037], [0038] & Fig. 1A-B);
an optoelectronic element 108/109 disposed on the semiconductor element 104 (Fig. 4), electrically connected to the semiconductor element 104, and partially supported by the supporting structure 120 (¶[0039], [0040] & Figs. 1-5).
CLAIM 2 Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor element 104 is an electronic integrated circuit. (¶[0037], [0038] & Fig. 1-5).
CLAIM 3 Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the optoelectronic element 109 is a photonic integrated circuit. (¶[0039] & Fig. 1-5).
CLAIM 4 Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the optoelectronic element 108/109 is connected to an optical fiber 131/132/206. (¶[0036], [0039], [0041] & Fig. 1-5)
CLAIM 5 Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 4, wherein the optical fiber 131/132/206 is passed through at least part of a top of the supporting structure 120. (¶[0040], [0041] & Fig. 1-5).
CLAIM 6 Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 5, wherein the supporting structure 120 is formed with grooves 151/152/250/256, for at least a part of the optical fiber 131/132/206 to be accommodated in the grooves 151/152/250/256 (¶[0040], [0041] & Fig. 1-5).
CLAIM 7. Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 5, wherein the supporting structure 120 is provided with a protecting layer 204, for at least a part of the optical fiber 131/132/206 to be fixed by the protecting layer 140 (¶[0040], [0041] & Fig. 1-5).
CLAIM 8. Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the supporting structure 120 is made of thermal conductive material (¶[0040] & Fig. 1-5).
CLAIM 9. Hochberg teaches the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the electronic element 102 is a switch chip. (¶[0036] & Fig. 1-5).
Conclusion
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
9/4/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898