DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 2017/0316935)
With respect to claims 2, 7, 8 Tan describes a method comprising: providing a substrate having underlayer including a metal oxide layer and a patterned carbon containing material of an extreme ultraviolet photoresist or EUV resist (claim 1, 16, para 40, 45; fig. 8a); exposing the EUV resist to an oxidant using oxygen-containing gas to modify a surface of the EUV resist; removing the modified EUV resist surface with a plasma of an inert gas such as He, Ar, Xe, N2 (para 45-50, claim 1, 20). Tan describes that “the result photoresist has smooth sidewalls and reduce roughness, with improvement of LER. Stringers were reduced and scum of the photoresist was reduced.” (para 91). Therefore, it is expected that the modification process would modify the scum of the photoresist and remove the modified scum in order to reduce the scum of the photoresist.
Unlike claimed invention, Tan is silent about the underlying metal oxide layer is exposed. However, he describes that the layer to be etched includes underlayer of metal oxides (para 45). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an exposed underlayer of metal oxide so that it can be etched or patterned with expected results.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the step of removal the modified EUV including modified scum is done at about 30-100V and at a power about 30-500W (para 50), in which the voltage would be typically in a continuous as there is no description of a pulsed mode.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6, 8, 9, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12062538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 10-18 of patent 12062538 describe the same steps of treating an EUV resist with halogen-containing gases to modify the scum on the photoresist and removing the modified scum with a plasma of inert gas comprising He, Ne, Ar, or Xe at about 0-100V continuously or 100-400V in a pulsing mode.
Claims 7, 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12062538 in view of Tan et al. (US 2017/0316935). With respect to claims 7 and 10, the claims 1, 10-27 of patent 12062538 fail to teach using oxygen-containing gas as the reactant to modify the scum and a power between 50-150W for the step of removing the modified scum. Tan teaches a similar method wherein oxygen-containing gas is used to modify an EUV photoresist and removing the modified EUV with an inert gas using a power between 30-500W (para 45-50; claims 1, 5, 9). It would have been obvious to use oxygen-containing gas in light of Tan because it would facilitate in the step of modifying the EUV photoresist and removing the modified EUV with expected results.
Claims 11-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12062538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-32 of patent 12062538 describe the same steps of repeating selective deposition to fill divots on an EUV photoresist with materials of silicon-containing precursor and amorphous carbon cap using a plasma of hydrocarbon, hydrogen and inert gas, which is then exposed to oxygen-containing reactant, wherein the silicon-containing precursor turns into silicon oxide and the material does not deposit on the exposed portion of an underlying metal oxide layer and then etching the EUV on the substrate with a plasma of inert gas. Even though claims 1-32 don’t describe the etching inside divots occurs at lower rate than non-divot areas. However, the method of claims 1-32 have the same steps using the same gases for selective deposition and etching; therefore, it is expected that the etching of the patterned EUV would also provide the etching inside divots occurs at a lower rate than non-divot areas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 and its dependent claims are allowed over the prior art Tan because Tan, while teaches modifying the EUV with oxygen-contaning gases; he doesn’t teach modifying the EUV with a halogen-containing gas.
Claims 11-22 are allowed because the prior art Tan, while teaches a method to reduce roughness, stringers, scum and smooth sidewall of a photoresist as described above by using ALE and selective deposition to fill crevices or divots on the EUV (abs. para 3); however, Tan doesn’t teach selectively etching the pattern EUV resist, wherein etching inside the crevices or divots occurs at a lower rate than non-divot areas.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
3/9/2026