Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 and 21-25 in the reply filed on 28 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,508,615. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim the “same invention”. Specifically, at least claim 1 of this application is a generic claim of a patented species claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,508,615. A species (narrow) claim is said to anticipate a generic (broad) claim thus double patenting exists.
Regarding claim 1, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 1 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 2, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 1 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 9, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 10 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 10, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 13 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 11, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 13 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 12, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 10 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 14, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 13 of 11,508,615
Regarding claim 15, all elements of this claim are anticipated by claim 16 of 11,508,615.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2020/0357680) in view of Haneda (US. Pat. Pub. 2021/0118935).
Regarding claim 21, Eto teaches a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a conductive structure [fig. 1f, 104]
a second dielectric material, wherein the second dielectric material surrounds a first portion the conductive structure [fig. 1f, 102 surrounds a first portion of 104];
a first spacer layer disposed on the second dielectric material, wherein the first spacer layer surrounds a second portion of the conductive structure [fig. 1f, 126 on 102, surrounds a portion of 104 exposed from 102];
a second spacer layer disposed on the first spacer layer, wherein an air gap is formed between the second spacer layer and the first spacer layer [fig. 1f, 128 on 126, air gap 134 is formed between 126 and 128, air gap is adjacent 126 on the left most 104 and adjacent 128 on the 104 to the right of the left most 104]; and
a third dielectric material disposed on the second spacer layer [fig. 1f, 132].
Eto fails to teach a first dielectric material present with the conductive structure over said first dielectric material but does teach components present below and connected to interconnect structures 104.
Haneda teaches a multi layer interconnect structure with an interlayer dielectric layer between the substrate and interconnect/wiring structures above [fig. 1, substrate 100, interlayer dielectric 110 (first dielectric), wiring layers 130 in dielectric 120 (second dielectric)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Haneda into the method of Eto by forming a first dielectric material with a conductive structure disposed over said first dielectric material. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Eto in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of providing a dielectric layer which prevents components formed on/above the dielectric from being influenced by the surface3 shape of the substrate 100.
Regarding claim 22, Eto in view of Haneda discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 21, wherein the first space layer comprises a first portion interfacing a first portion of the second spacer layer [Eto, fig. 1f, 128 is in direct contact with 126 which would be interpreted as interfacing].
Regarding claim 23, Eto in view of Haneda teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 22, wherein the first spacer layer comprises a second portion substantially parallel to a second portion of the second spacer layer, and the air gap is located between the second portion of the first spacer layer and the second portion of the second spacer layer [Eto, fig. 1f, a portion of 126 is parallel with a portion of 128 with air gap 134 between them].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 13, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under double patenting above but are believed to be allowable if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899