DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP § 606.01).
This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.
The following title is suggested: “A SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE HAVING MULTIPLE SOUCE/DRAIN EPITAXIAL LAYERS AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THEREOF.”
If Applicant does not agree with the suggested title above, Applicant must provide a new title that clearly reflects the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US Pub. 2018/0151378; hereinafter “Huang”) in view of Mochizuki et al. (US Pat. 10,453,824; hereinafter “Mochizuki”).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: an n-type field effect transistor (FET) (n-type finFET; page 2, paragraph 43); and a p-type FET (p-type finFET; page 2, paragraph 43), wherein: each of the n-type FET and the p-type FET comprises: semiconductor strips 52 disposed over a substrate 50 (page 2, paragraph 45); a source/drain epitaxial layer (82, 84) (page 5, paragraph 62) in contact with the semiconductor strips 52 (see fig. 24C); a gate dielectric layer (92, 96) (page 7, paragraph 91) disposed on the semiconductor strips 52 (see fig. 25A); a gate electrode layer (94, 98) (page 7, paragraph 92) disposed on the gate dielectric layer (92, 96) (see figs. 25A and 25B); wherein the source/drain epitaxial layer of the n-type FET 82 (page 5, paragraph 63) includes multiple SiP layers 45 having different P contents (the epitaxial source/drain region 82 may include SiP; page 5, paragraph 67; and epitaxy layers 45 may also include a lower layer and un upper layer with different material compositions divided by a dashed lines 43; page 5, paragraph 70; see figs. 15B and 25B), the source/drain epitaxial layer of the p-type FET 84 (page 6, paragraph 74) includes multiple SiGe layers 57 having different Ge contents (epitaxy layers 57 may also include a lower layer and an upper layer with different germanium percentages divided by dashed lines 63; page 6, paragraph 83; see figs. 20B and 25B).
Huang fails to disclose explicitly wherein a stack of semiconductor nanosheets disposed over the substrate; the source/drain epitaxial layer in contact with the semiconductor nanosheets; the gate dielectric layer wrapping around each channel region of the semiconductor nanosheets; the gate electrode layer disposed over the gate dielectric layer and wrapping around each channel region; insulating spacers disposed in spaces, respectively, the spaces being defined by adjacent semiconductor nanosheets, the gate electrode layer, and the source/drain epitaxial layer; and a lowermost SiP layer and a lowermost SiGe layer are not in contact with a bottommost one of the insulating spacers.
However, Mochizuki discloses a gate-all-around (GAA) FET device comprising: a stack of silicon nanosheet layers (107a-107c) over a substrate 102 (col. 4, lines 45-67; see fig. 10); epitaxially grown of source/drain regions 165 (col. 8, lines 4-18) in contact with the silicon nanosheet layers (107a-107c) (see fig. 10); a gate dielectric layer 185 (col. 9, lines 4-19) wrapping around each channel region of silicon nanosheet layers (107a-107c) (see fig. 10); a gate region 180 (col. 9, lines 19-36) disposed over the gate dielectric layer 185 and wrapping around each channel region (see fig. 10); inner spacer layers 150 (col. 6, lines 56-67) disposed in spaces (see fig. 10), respectively, the spaces being defined by adjacent silicon nanosheet layers (107a-107c), the gate region 180, and the source/drain region 165 (see fig. 10); and wherein the source/drain regions 165 further include lower epitaxial layers 160 (col. 7, lines 30-47) that are not in contact with a bottommost one of the inner spacer layers 150 (see fig. 10).
Huang also discloses lower epitaxy layers (39, 51) in the epitaxial source/drain regions (82, 84) (see fig. 25B). Accordingly, the lower epitaxy layers (39, 51) disclosed in Huang may be formed in the same manner as the lower epitaxial layer 160 disclosed in Mochizuki for a GAA structure.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a stack of semiconductor nanosheets, a gate structure wrapping around nanowire channels, inner spacers, and lower epitaxial layers, as taught by Mochizuki, in order to obtain a gate-all-around structure.
Regarding Claim 20, Huang discloses wherein a bottom of the lowermost SiP and SiGe layers (39, 51) have a V-shape or a U-shape (see fig. 25B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 18 recites the multiple SiP layers include a second epitaxial layer having a higher P content than the lowermost SiP layer disposed over the lowermost SiP layer, a third epitaxial layer having a higher P content than the second epitaxial layer disposed over the second epitaxial layer, and a fourth epitaxial layer having a lower P content than the third epitaxial layer disposed over the third epitaxial layer.
Claim 19 recites the multiple SiGe layers include a second SiGe layer having a higher Ge content than the lowermost SiGe layer disposed over the lowermost SiGe layer, a third second SiGe layer having a higher Ge content than the second SiGe layer disposed over the second SiGe layer, and fourth SiGe layer having a lower Ge content than the third SiGe layer disposed over the second SiGe layer.
These features in combination with the other elements of the base claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 recites the doped epitaxial layer comprises: a first doped epitaxial layer disposed over the non-doped base epitaxial layer; a second doped epitaxial layer having a higher dopant content than the first doped epitaxial layer disposed over the first doped epitaxial layer; and a third doped epitaxial layer having a lower dopant content than the second doped epitaxial layer disposed over the second epitaxial layer.
Claim 9 recites the source/drain epitaxial layer comprises: a first doped epitaxial layer, which is not in contact with a bottommost one of the insulating spacers; a second doped epitaxial layer having a higher dopant content than the first doped epitaxial layer disposed over the first doped epitaxial layer; a third doped epitaxial layer having a higher dopant content than the second doped epitaxial layer disposed over the second doped epitaxial layer; and a fourth doped epitaxial layer having a lower dopant content than the third doped epitaxial layer disposed over the third epitaxial layer.
These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 variously depend from claim 1 or 9, so they are allowed for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,062,580 (hereinafter “Pat-580”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Pat-580 discloses all the claimed limitations. See rejections below.
Regarding Claim 17, Pat-580 discloses a semiconductor device comprising: an n-type field effect transistor (FET) (see claim 16); and a p-type FET (see claim 16), wherein: each of the n-type FET and the p-type FET comprises: a stack of semiconductor nanosheets disposed over a substrate (see claim 16); a source/drain epitaxial layer in contact with the semiconductor nanosheets (see claim 16); a gate dielectric layer wrapping around each channel region of the semiconductor nanosheets (see claim 16); a gate electrode layer disposed over the gate dielectric layer and wrapping around each channel region (see claim 16); and insulating spacers disposed in spaces, respectively, the spaces being defined by adjacent semiconductor nanosheets, the gate electrode layer, and the source/drain epitaxial layer (see claim 16), wherein the source/drain epitaxial layer of the n-type FET includes multiple SiP layers having different P contents (see claim 16), the source/drain epitaxial layer of the p-type FET includes multiple SiGe layers having different Ge contents (see claim 16), and a lowermost SiP layer and a lowermost SiGe layer are not in contact with a bottommost one of the insulating spacers (non-doped base epitaxial layer is not in contact with a bottommost one of the insulating spacers; see claim 16).
Regarding Claim 18, Pat-580 discloses wherein the multiple SiP layers include a second epitaxial layer (a first epitaxial layer; see claim 18) having a higher P content than the lowermost SiP layer (non-doped base epitaxial layer; see claim 16) disposed over the lowermost SiP layer (see claim 16), a third epitaxial layer (a second epitaxial layer; see claim 18) having a higher P content than the second epitaxial layer disposed over the second epitaxial layer (see claim 18), and a fourth epitaxial layer (a third epitaxial layer; see claim 18) having a lower P content than the third epitaxial layer disposed over the third epitaxial layer (see claim 18).
Regarding Claim 19, Pat-580 discloses wherein the multiple SiGe layers include a second SiGe layer (a first SiGe layer; see claim 19) having a higher Ge content than the lowermost SiGe layer (a non-doped base epitaxial layer; see claim 19) disposed over the lowermost SiGe layer (see claim 19), a third second SiGe layer (a second SiGe layer; see claim 19) having a higher Ge content than the second SiGe layer disposed over the second SiGe layer (see claim 19), and fourth SiGe layer (a third SiGe layer; see claim 19) having a lower Ge content than the third SiGe layer disposed over the second SiGe layer (see claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20, Pat-580 discloses wherein a bottom of the lowermost SiP and SiGe layers (non-doped base epitaxial layer; see claim 16) have a V-shape or a U-shape (see claim 20).
Conclusion
/CHEUNG LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 August 22, 2026