DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 4 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no serious search burden has been established and that the International Search Report of PCT/EP2022/083699 cited EP 3872836 against claims 1-15. This is not found persuasive. The one reference that is relevant to the generic claims does not establish that it applies to the species-specific limitations. The species require different search queries. Species I requires a search for cross-piece slot geometries. Species II requires single-arm tangential extensions, and Species III for secondary radially-inward extensions. Searching for distinct geometries is a series search burden. The generic claims are examined herein, and the species claims will be considered for rejoinder upon allowance of a generic claim.
Claim 7 recites “an end portion extending radially inwardly,” which corresponds to the J-shaped secondary portion of Species III. Accordingly, claims 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A charged particle column of configured to” should read “A charged particle column configured to.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 recites “the charged particle beam,” which lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1 only introduces “charged particle sub-beams. “The charged particle beam” also appear in claims 2, 5, 8, 10, 11 and 13. For examination, the term is read as the charged particle sub-beam.
Claims 2-6, 8-15 depend on claim 1 and are also rejected as indefinite.
7. Regarding claim 2:
Claim 2 twice recites “desirably,” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or not. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination, the “desirably” clauses are treated as optional.
8. Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 recites “the surface of the recess,” which lacks antecedent basis since a surface of the recess is not introduced.
Claims 10-12 depend on claim 9 and are also rejected as indefinite.
9. Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 recites “wherein the recess at least one of the electrodes comprises a radially outward facing surface.” It is unclear whether the recess or the electrode comprises the surface. For examination, it is read as “at least one of the electrodes comprises a radially outward facing surface within the recess.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-6, 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Oae (US 5245194) in view of Platzgummer (US 20080203317).
13. Regarding claim 1:
Oae teaches a manipulator for manipulating a charged particle beam (fig. 3 electrostatic deflector. Col 1 lines 38-41 teaches an electrostatic deflector is used for such a high speed deflection of the electron beam), comprising:
a substrate with major surfaces (col 5 lines 11-13 teaches that insulating sleeve 30 is a body to extend in the axial direction. Col 4 lines 10-15, describing the sleeve-type deflector, teaches the electron beam that travels along the central axis of the sleeve. For a charged particle to pass through a sleeve, the bore has openings at its two opposing axial end faces. These end faces are the major surfaces)
through each manipulator is defined a through-passage with ends that define in the major surfaces associated aperture (the bore of sleeve 30 extends axially between the two end faces and opens in each. The bore of sleeve 30 is the associated aperture), the through passage is configured for passage of a path of a charged particle beam (fig. 3 shows that the bore of insulating sleeve 30 extends axially through the sleeve and opens at both ends. Col 4 lines 10-15, describing the sleeve-type deflector, teaches the electron beam that travels along the central axis of the sleeve is deflected by the electrode field),
an inner wall of the through-passage between the major surfaces comprising a plurality of electrodes configured to manipulate the charged particle beam (col 5 lines 16-20 teaches the inner surface of the sleeve 30 as well as the surface of the groove 31 are covered by a conductor film 32 except for a part 32a such that the conductor film 32 is divided into a number of separate electrodes 33. Electrodes 33 line along the inner surface of the bore),
the through-passage further defining a plurality of recesses, each recess between adjacent electrodes and each recess extending away from the path of the charged particle beam for isolating the adjacent electrodes (col 5 lines 11-27 teaches the insulating sleeve 30 is formed with a number of grooves 31 on the inner surface thereof to extend in the axial direction of the sleeve. There, the grooves 31 have a T-shaped cross section and are disposed symmetrically about the central axis of the sleeve. Each groove 31 lies between two adjacent electrodes 33 and extends radially away from the bore. The film is interrupted inside each groove at part 32a, which is what divides the film into a number of separate electrodes 33, taught by col 5 lines 18-20. Therefore, the grooves isolate the adjacent electrodes),
each recess being between the adjacent electrodes and comprising an electrically insulating region between the adjacent electrodes (at fig. 3 part 32a, the conductor film is absent and the insulating sleeve 30 is exposed inside groove 31, between adjacent electrodes),
wherein the recess extends behind at least one of the adjacent electrodes relative to the path of the charged particle beam and comprises at least part of the electrically insulating region (see annotated fig. 3, the cross-piece of each T-shaped groove 31 extends tangentially behind both lands, and part 32a lies within the right-hand arm, behind the right-hand land relative to the bore. Col 5 lines 20-24 teaches that as a result the entire inner surface of the sleeve 30 is covered by the conductor film 32, except for the part 32a, and the problem of the charge-up is eliminated almost completely).
Oae does not specifically teach a manipulator array for manipulating a plurality of charged particle sub-beams each corresponding to a manipulator of the manipulator array, comprising a plurality of manipulators arrayed in an array; and each electrode comprising doped substrate. Oae’s deflector is a single ceramic sleeve whose electrodes 33 are a plated conductor film.
Platzgummer teaches a manipulator array for manipulating a plurality of charged particle sub-beams each corresponding to a manipulator of the manipulator array, the manipulator array ([0012] teaches an array of apertures, each aperture allowing passage of a corresponding beam element formed out of said beam of particles. [0108] teaches that the plate 131 comprises the deflecting electrodes for each of the openings 140) comprising:
a plurality of manipulators arrayed in an array (Fig. 13 shows the plurality of openings 140. [0108] teaches that the plate 131 comprises the deflecting electrodes for each of the openings 140),
the through passage is configured for passage of a path of a charged particle sub-beam ([0111] teaches the apertures are embedded within the openings 140 of the DAP 130 (deflector array device); their position is symbolically depicted as a dashed square in fig. 14. The dashed square is the sub-beam path. [0012] teaches the electrodes realize a deflecting state, wherein the particles are deflected off the desired path); and
the electrode comprising doped substrate ([0020] teaches the electrodes consist of the same material as the substrate material of the membrane region. This simplifies the production. [0018] teaches in the area of the electrodes where electrostatic potentials have to be changed rapidly and electrical field strengths have to be bult up in order to deflect the particles, doped silicon might be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Oae to provide its T-grooved deflector as each manipulator of an array of manipulators in a substrate plate, as taught by Platzgummer, to manipulate many beam elements in parallel thus increasing throughput. It would have been further obvious to form Oae’s electrodes of the doped substrate material, with adjacent electrodes separated at Oae’s location 32a by insulating supporting material 145, as taught by Platzgummer ([0018], [0020], [0115], fig. 15.3a) such that forming the electrodes of the substrate material simplifies the production (Platzgummer [0020]) and a smooth surface can be obtained (Platzgummer [0105]).
14. Regarding claim 2:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein at least part of the electrically insulating region extends behind one of the adjacent electrodes, desirably the electrically insulating region comprises a radially outward facing portion, desirably with respect to the path of the charged particle beam (see annotated fig. 3 element 32a lies in the right-hand arm of the cross-piece, behind the electrode 33. 32a has a radially outward facing portion with respect to the path of the charged particle beam. col 5 lines 16-20 teaches the inner surface of the sleeve 30 as well as the surface of the groove 31 are covered by a conductor film 32 except for a part 32a such that the conductor film 32 is divided into a number of separate electrodes 33).
15. Regarding claim 3:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the electrically insulating region comprises at least one radially extending portion (see annotated fig. 3 element 32a lies in the right-hand arm of the cross-piece, behind the electrode 33. 32a is a radially outward facing portion with respect to the path of the charged particle beam. col 5 lines 16-20 teaches the inner surface of the sleeve 30 as well as the surface of the groove 31 are covered by a conductor film 32 except for a part 32a such that the conductor film 32 is divided into a number of separate electrodes 33. Such element 32a corresponds to a radially extending portion).
16. Regarding claim 4:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the electrically insulating region is configured to electrically isolate a region configured to operate at a local ground potential (for the multi-electrode deflector, col 4 lines 13-17 teaches the electrodes are applied with a voltage Vi that changes with an angle the rest of the electrodes 11 are also applied with a voltage V.sub.i that changes with an angle .theta. according to the relationship V.sub.i =V.sin .theta, so the electrodes at theta=0 are at zero potential and are shown grounded in fig. 2(A). Fig. 3 element 32a isolates each such electrode from its neighbor).
17. Regarding claim 5:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the recess comprises a stem portion and a substantially angled portion with respect to the path of the charged particle beam (col 5 lines 14-15 teaches that grooves 31 have a T-shaped cross section. See annotated fig. 3, the stem opens to the bore, and the cross-piece extends in both tangential directions, perpendicular to the stem).
18. Regarding claim 6:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 5. Oae further teaches that wherein the electrically insulating region is a surface of a tangential portion (see annotated fig. 3, the radially outward portion of 32a is a tangential portion).
19. Regarding claim 8:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the recess extends further radially outward from the path of the charged particle beam than the adjacent electrodes (see fig. 3 the cross-piece lies radially beyond protruding portions of the sleeve that carry the adjacent electrodes 33).
20. Regarding claim 9:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the electrodes comprise electrode surfaces that at least comprise respective portions of the inner wall and of the surface of the recess (col 5 lines 16-18 teaches the inner surface of the sleeve 30 as well as the surface of the groove 31 are covered by conductor film 32. Each electrode 33 covers part of the bore wall and part of the groove surface).
21. Regarding claim 10:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 9. Oae further teaches that wherein the recess comprises outward electrode surfaces of the adjacent electrodes, the outward electrode surfaces extending radially outward with respect the path of the charged particle beam and/or the adjacent electrodes comprise outward electrode surface with respect to the path of the charged particle beam (col 5 lines 16-18 teaches the inner surface of the sleeve 30 as well as the surface of the groove 31 are covered by conductor film 32. Each electrode 33 covers part of the bore wall and part of the groove surface. The film on the walls of the stem, part of electrodes 33, extends radially outward from the bore).
22. Regarding claim 11:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 9. Oae further teaches that wherein the recess comprises a distal inward electrode surface of at least one of the electrode surfaces of the adjacent electrodes, the distal inward electrode surface being radially outward of the inner wall with respect to the path and/or the at least one of the electrode comprises a distal inward electrode surface radially outward of the inner wall with respect to the path of the charged particle beam (see fig. 3, the film 32 on the far wall of the cross-piece is part of electrode. It faces the bore and lies radially outward of the bore wall formed by electrodes 33).
23. Regarding claim 12:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 9. Oae further teaches that wherein the recess at least one of the electrodes comprises a radially outward facing surface (see annotated fig. 3 in groove 31, film 32 has a portion that is radially outward facing).
24. Regarding claim 13:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the electrodes comprise a radially inwardly facing surface with respect to the path of the charged particle beam that defines the inner wall (col 5 lines 16-17, annotated fig.3 teaches electrodes 33 cover the inner surface of the sleeve 30, facing the bore).
25. Regarding claim 14:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches that wherein the electrically insulating region is configured to electrically insulate between the adjacent electrodes (col 5 lines 16-20 teaches that the film is interrupted at a part 32a such that the conductor film 32 is divided into a number of separate electrodes 33).
26. Regarding claim 15:
The modified invention above teaches the manipulator array of claim 1. Oae further teaches a source configured to project a charged particle beam towards a sample (col 1 lines 51-55 teaches the electron optical system 100 includes an electron gun 104 as a source of the electron beam. Col 2 lines 33-36 teaches the beam is focused on the surface of a substrate 123).
Oae does not specifically teach a charged particle column configured to project a multi-beam of charged particles towards a sample, the charged particle column comprising: the manipulator array configured to manipulate charged particle-sub beam; and a multi-beam array configured to generate the sub-beams from the charged particle beam.
Platzgummer teaches a charged particle column configured to project a multi-beam of charged particles towards a sample ([0062] teaches the illumination system 101 comprises an electron or ion source 11. [0064] teaches the patterned beam is then projected by means of a charged particle projection system 103 onto the substrate 17), the charged particle column comprising: the manipulator array configured to manipulate charged particle-sub beam ([0012] teaches an array of apertures, each aperture allowing passage of a corresponding beam element formed out of said beam of particles. [0108] teaches that the plate 131 comprises the deflecting electrodes for each of the openings 140); and a multi-beam array configured to generate the sub-beams from the charged particle beam ([0068] teaches an aperture array plate 201 with an array of openings which serves to define the shape of the beamlets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oae in view of Platzgummer to include a charged particle column configured to project a multi-beam of charged particles towards a sample, the charged particle column comprising: the manipulator array configured to manipulate charged particle-sub beam; and a multi-beam array configured to generate the sub-beams from the charged particle beam. Oae identifies the problem of relatively low throughput of an exposure system in which the semiconductor pattern is written in one stroke of the focused electron beam (Oae col 1 lines 15-20). Platzgummer’s charged particle column and array provide an array of apertures, each aperture allowing passage of a corresponding beam element (Platzgummer’s [0012]). Such charged particle column and aperture array allows beam elements to be manipulated in parallel and thus increasing throughput.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571)272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881