Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 1st, 2024, was filed prior to the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the first signal line is formed of a first conductive layer, and the second signal line is formed of the first conductive layer and a second conductive layer”. It is unclear whether the first and second signal lines use the same first conductive layer or separate conductive segments on the same layer as shown by figures 18-19 in applicant’s specification. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as allowing for separate conductive segments.
Claim 7 recites “the third signal line is formed of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and a third conductive layer”. It is unclear whether the first, second, and third signal lines use the same first conductive layer or separate conductive segments on the same layer as shown by figures 18-19. Similarly, it is unclear whether the second and third signal lines use the same second conductive layer or separate conductive segments on the same layer. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as allowing for separate conductive segments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (2022/0011487 A1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches a method of manufacturing a display device ([0076], display device), the method comprising:
aligning light emitting elements ([0265], LD) in an alignment area ([0265], PXA, area between adjacent BNK) between electrodes ([0265], EL1, EL4) spaced apart from each other, wherein the aligning of the light emitting elements (LD) includes:
applying a first alignment voltage ([0266], first alignment voltage may be applied to both EL1 and EL4) to the electrodes (EL1, EL4),
applying a second alignment voltage ([0326], alignment voltage applied to first storage capacitor) to a first signal line ([0326], CST1) overlapping the alignment area (PXA), and
applying a third alignment voltage ([0326], alignment voltage applied to second storage capacitor) to a second signal line ([0326], CST2) overlapping the alignment area (PXA),
the first signal line (CST1) is formed of a first conductive layer ([0214], LE1), and
the second signal line (CST2) is formed of the first conductive layer ([0226], LE2) and a second conductive layer ([0226], UE2).
Regarding Claim 2, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first alignment voltage (first alignment voltage), the second alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST1), and the third alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST2) are simultaneously applied ([0265], [0326], voltages are applied when supplying LD).
Regarding Claim 5, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the electrodes (EL1, EL4) are electrically separated from the first signal line (CST1) and the second signal line (CST2).
Regarding Claim 6, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the aligning of the light emitting elements (LD) includes applying a fourth alignment voltage ([0266], [0326], alignment voltage applied to third storage capacitor and alignment voltage applied to EL3) to a third signal line ([0235], [0265], CST3, EL3) overlapping the alignment area (PXA).
Regarding Claim 7, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the third signal line (CST3, EL3) is formed of the first conductive layer ([0235], LE3), the second conductive layer ([0235], UE3), and a third conductive layer (EL3).
Regarding Claim 8, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first alignment voltage (first alignment voltage), the second alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST1), the third alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST2), and the fourth alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST3 and EL3) are simultaneously applied ([0265], [0326], voltages are applied when supplying LD).
Regarding Claim 10, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the electrodes (EL1, EL4) are electrically separated from the third signal line (CST3).
Regarding Claim 11, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the aligning of the light emitting elements (LD) includes applying a fifth alignment voltage ([0266], [0326], alignment voltage applied to third storage capacitor and alignment voltage applied to EL3) to an electrode layer ([0235], [0265], CST3, EL3) overlapping the alignment area (PXA).
Regarding Claim 12, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the electrode layer (CST3, EL3) is formed of a fourth conductive layer (EL3).
Regarding Claim 13, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the electrode layer (EL3) overlaps the first signal line (CST1) or the second signal line.
Regarding Claim 14, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first alignment voltage (first alignment voltage), the second alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST1), the third alignment voltage (voltage applied to CST2), and the fifth alignment voltage (voltages applied to CST3 and EL3) are simultaneously applied ([0265], [0326], voltages are applied when supplying LD).
Regarding Claim 16, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the electrodes (EL1, EL4) are electrically separated from the electrode layer (CST3, EL3).
Regarding Claim 17, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the electrode layer (CST3, EL3) is electrically separated from the first signal line (CST1) and the second signal line (CST2).
Regarding Claim 18, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the electrode layer (CST3, EL3) overlaps the electrodes (EL1, EL4).
Regarding Claim 19, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming connection electrodes ([0299], CTE) on the light emitting elements (LD).
Regarding Claim 20, Park (figs. 10-12) teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the connection electrodes (CTE) are electrically connected to the first signal line or the second signal line (CST2, see fig. 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 9, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. None of the cited references, either singly or in combination, teach or render obvious the limitations presented in Claim 3 wherein ”the first alignment voltage is higher than the second alignment voltage”, in Claim 4 wherein “the second alignment voltage is higher than the third alignment voltage”, in Claim 9 wherein “the third alignment voltage is higher than the fourth alignment voltage”, and in Claim 15 wherein “the first alignment voltage is higher than the fifth alignment voltage”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (2022/0254958 A1) teaches an alignment process utilizing additional auxiliary electrodes. See figure 6 and [0114]-[0123].
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817