DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagnamurthy et al. (U.S 2016/0381800 A1).
As to claim 1, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g a semiconductor package, comprising: a substrate (100); a die (104) over the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0010]); a molding compound (108) provided over the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0011]), wherein the molding compound (108) includes a first groove (“opening” 112) with a first depth (Fig. 1g, para. [0012]) and a second groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) with a second depth (Fig. 1g, para. [0013]), the first depth being different from the second depth (see Fig. 1g).
As to claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“opening” 112) and the second groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) are located on a top surface of the molding compound (108) (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“opening” 112) and the second groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) are adjacent to the die (104) (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the die (104) is a memory die (“memory device”, para. [0010]) (Fig. 1g, para. [0010]).
As to claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a total volume of the molding compound (108) in the package (Fig. 1g) is greater than a total volume of the first die (104) in the package (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the package further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps (“solder balls” 118) located on the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0016]).
As to claim 7, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g a package, comprising: a substrate (100); a die (104) over the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0010]); a molding compound (108) provided over the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0011]), wherein the molding compound (108) includes a first groove (“opening” 112) with a first shape and a second groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) with a second shape Fig. 1g, para. [0013]), the first shape being different from the second shape (see Fig. 1g).
As to claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“opening” 112) and the second groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) are located on a top surface of the molding compound (108) (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 9, as applied to claim 7 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“opening” 112) and the second groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) are adjacent to the die (104) (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 10, as applied to claim 4 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the die (104) is a memory die (“memory device”, para. [0010]) (Fig. 1g, para. [0010]).
As to claim 11, as applied to claim 7 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a total volume of the molding compound (108) in the package (Fig. 1g) is greater than a total volume of the first die (104) in the package (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 12, as applied to claim 7 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the package further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps (“solder balls” 118) located on the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0016]).
As to claim 13, as applied to claim 7 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“opening” 112) with the first shape has a substantially curved bottom surface (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 14, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g a package, comprising: a substrate (100); a die (104) over the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0010]); a molding compound (108) provided over the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0011]), wherein the molding compound (108) includes a first groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) with a first size and a second groove (“opening” 112) with a second size, the first size being different from the second size (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“at least one trench opening” 116
As to claim 16, as applied to claim 14 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first groove (“at least one trench opening” 116) and the second groove (“opening” 112) are adjacent to the die (104) (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 17, as applied to claim 14 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a total volume of the molding compound (108) in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die (104) in the package (Fig. 1g).
As to claim 18, as applied to claim 14 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the package further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps (“solder balls” 118) located on the substrate (100) (Fig. 1g, para. [0016]).
As to claim 19, as applied to claim 14 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the second groove (“opening” 112) is located near an edge of the molding compound (108) (Fig. 1g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagnamurthy et al. (U.S 2016/0381800 A1) in view of Huang et al. (U.S 2016/0079135 A1).
As to claim 20, as applied to claim 14 above, Yagnamurthy et al. disclose in Fig. 1g all claimed limitations except for the package further comprising a passive component disposed on the substrate and overlapped with the first groove.
Huang et al. disclose in Fig. 6 a semiconductor package comprising a passive component (“capacitors” or “resistors”, para. [0015]) disposed on the substrate (102) and overlapped with the first groove (see a groove on “molding compound” 124) (Fig. 6, para. [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the reference of Yagnamurthy et al. by providing a passive component disposed on the substrate as taught by Huang et al., so that the passive component may be overlapped with the first groove of the molding compound, in order to mitigate thermomechanical stress and prevent micro-cracking within the molding compound, so as to improve the reliability of the package.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 9, 12-13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,636,715. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations recited in claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-16, and 18-19 of the present invention are recited within claims 1-2, 5, 9, 12-13, and 16 of the U.S. Patent No. 10,636,715.
Application: 18/761,238
Patent No. US 10,636,715
Claim 1: a semiconductor package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first depth and a second groove with a second depth, the first depth being different from the second depth.
Claims 1 and 5 (and/or claims 12 and 16) recite the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “the vacant groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” that are same as “a first groove” and “a second groove” (as recited in claim 1 of the present invention).
Claim 2: the package according to claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claims 2 and 5 (and/or claims 13 and 16) recite the limitations of 2 of the present invention, “the vacant groove is located on the second surface” and “at least one runner hole opening located on the second surface of the insulating encapsulant”, the “second surface”/”first surface” is the same as “a top surface” (as recited in claim 2 of the present invention).
Claim 3: the package according to claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claims 1 and 5 (and/or claims 12 and 16) recite the limitations of 3 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds …the plurality of dies”, and “the plurality of dies are confined to be located within an area surrounded by the vacant groove”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 3 of the present invention).
Claim 5: the package according to claim 1, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 5 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds the interposer structure and the plurality of dies” which inherently means “a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package” (as recited in claim 5 of the present invention).
Claim 6: the package according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 9 (and/or claim 12) recites the limitations of claim 6 of the present invention, “second conductive bumps disposed between the interposer structure and the circuit substrate” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 6 of the present invention).
Claim 7: a package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first shape and a second groove with a second shape, the first shape being different from the second shape.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitations of claim 7 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “the vacant groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” have different depths; thus, having different shapes (as recited in claim 7 of the present invention).
Claim 8: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claims 2 and 5 recite the limitations of 8 of the present invention, “the vacant groove is located on the second surface” and “at least one runner hole opening located on the second surface of the insulating encapsulant”, the “second surface” is the same as “a top surface” (as recited in claim 8 of the present invention).
Claim 9: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitations of 9 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds …the plurality of dies”, and “the plurality of dies are confined to be located within an area surrounded by the vacant groove”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 9 of the present invention).
Claim 11: the package according to claim 7, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 11 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds the interposer structure and the plurality of dies” which inherently means “a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package” (as recited in claim 11 of the present invention).
Claim 12: the package according to claim 7, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 9 (and/or claim 12) recites the limitations of claim 12 of the present invention, “second conductive bumps disposed between the interposer structure and the circuit substrate” which means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 12 of the present invention).
Claim 13: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove with the first shape has a substantially curved bottom surface.
Claim 12 recites the limitations of claim 13 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a ring shape groove” which include “a shape has a substantially curved bottom surface” (as recited in claim 13 of the present invention).
Claim 14: a package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first size and a second groove with a second size, the first size being different from the second size.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitations of claim 14 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “the vacant groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” have different depths; thus, having different sizes (as recited in claim 14 of the present invention).
Claim 15: the package according to claim 14, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claims 2 and 5 (and/or claims 13 and 16) recite the limitations of 2 of the present invention, “the vacant groove is located on the second surface” and “at least one runner hole opening located on the second surface of the insulating
Claim 16: the package according to claim 14, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claims 1 and 5 recite the limitations of 16 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds …the plurality of dies”, and “the plurality of dies are confined to be located within an area surrounded by the vacant groove”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 16 of the present invention).
Claim17: the package according to claim 14, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 17 of the present invention, “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds the interposer structure and the plurality of dies” which inherently means “a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package” (as recited in claim 17 of the present invention).
Claim 18: the package according to claim 14, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of claim 18 of the present invention, “second conductive bumps disposed between the interposer structure and the circuit substrate” which means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 18 of the present invention).
Claim 19: the package according to claim 14, wherein the second groove is located near an edge of the molding compound.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 19 of the present invention, because “the insulating encapsulant has a vacant groove that surrounds …the plurality of dies” and “the plurality of dies are confined to be located within an area surrounded by the vacant groove”; thus, the groove is located near an edge of the molding compound (as recited in claim 19 of the present invention).
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,456,226. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations recited in claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-19 of the present invention are recited within claims 1, 4, 7, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,456,226.
Application: 18/761,238
Patent No. US 11,456,226
Claim 1: a semiconductor package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first depth and a second groove with a second depth, the first depth being different from the second depth.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “an unfilled groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” that are same as “a first groove” and “a second groove” (as recited in claim 1 of the present invention).
Claim 2: the package according to claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claim 4 recites the limitations of 2 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove and the at least one runner hole opening are located on the second surface”, the “second surface” is the same as “a top surface” (as recited in claim 2 of the present invention).
Claim 3: the package according to claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of 3 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove is a ring-shaped groove that is encircling the at least one die, and kept a distance apart from the at least one die”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 3 of the present invention).
Claim 5: the package according to claim 1, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 5 of the present invention, “an insulating encapsulant disposed on the circuit substrate and surrounding the at least one die” which inherently means “a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package” (as recited in claim 5 of the present invention).
Claim 6: the package according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 7 recites the limitations of claim 6 of the present invention, “conductive bumps disposed in between the at least one die and the circuit substrate” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 6 of the present invention).
Claim 7: a package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first shape and a second groove with a second shape, the first shape being different from the second shape.
Claim 1 recite the limitations of claim 7 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “an unfilled groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” have different depths and thus different shapes (as recited in claim 7 of the present invention).
Claim 8: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claim 4 recites the limitations of 8 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove and the at least one runner hole opening are located on the second surface”, the “second surface” is the same as “a top surface” (as recited in claim 8 of the present invention).
Claim 9: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of 9 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove is a ring-shaped groove that is encircling the at least one die, and kept a distance apart from the at least one die”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 9 of the present invention).
Claim 11: the package according to claim 7, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 11 of the present invention, “an insulating encapsulant disposed on the circuit substrate and surrounding the at least one die” which inherently means “a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package” (as recited in claim 11 of the present invention).
Claim 12: the package according to claim 7, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 7 recites the limitations of claim 12 of the present invention, “conductive bumps disposed in between the at least one die and the circuit substrate” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 12 of the present invention).
Claim 13: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove with the first shape has a substantially curved bottom surface.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of claim 13 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove is a ring-shaped groove” which inherently includes the shape having a substantially curved bottom surface (as recited in claim 13 of the present invention).
Claim 14: a package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first size and a second groove with a second size, the first size being different from the second size.
Claim 1 recite the limitations of claim 14 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “the unfilled groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” have different depths; thus, having different sizes (as recited in claim 14 of the present invention).
Claim 15: the package according to claim 14, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claim 4 recites the limitations of 15 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove and the at least one runner hole opening
are located on the second surface”, the “second surface” is the same as “a top surface” (as recited in claim 15 of the present invention).
Claim 16: the package according to claim 14, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of 16 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove is a ring-shaped groove that is encircling the at least one die, and kept a distance apart from the at least one die”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 16 of the present invention).
Claim 17: the package according to claim 14, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 17 of the present invention, “an insulating encapsulant disposed on the circuit substrate and surrounding the at least one die” which inherently means “a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package” (as recited in claim 17 of the present invention).
Claim 18: the package according to claim 14, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 7 recites the limitations of claim 18 of the present invention, “conductive bumps disposed in between the at least one die and the circuit substrate” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 18 of the present invention).
Claim 19: the package according to claim 14, wherein the second groove is located near an edge of the molding compound.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of claim 19 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove is a ring-shaped groove that is encircling the at least one die, and kept a distance apart from the at least one die”; thus, the groove is located near an edge of the molding compound (as recited in claim 19 of the present invention).
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,057,359. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations recited in claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-20 of the present invention are recited within claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,057,359.
Application: 18/761,238
Patent No. US 12,057,359
Claim 1: a semiconductor package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first depth and a second groove with a second depth, the first depth being different from the second depth.
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 8 recite the limitations of claim 1 of the present invention, “the encapsulant comprises a ring-shaped groove” and “a runner hole opening” that are same as “a first groove” and “a second groove” (as recited in claim 1 of the present invention).
Claim 2: the package according to claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of 2 of the present invention, “a lid structure disposed over the encapsulant and covering the ring-shaped groove” which inherently means “the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound” (as recited in claim 2 of the present invention).
Claim 3: the package according to claim 1, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claims 2 and 4 recite the limitations of 3 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant surrounds the interposer structure”, and “a plurality of dies disposed on and electrically connected to the interposer structure”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 3 of the present invention).
Claim 5: the package according to claim 1, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claims 2 and 4 recite the limitations of 5 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant surrounds the interposer structure”, and “a plurality of dies disposed on and electrically connected to the interposer structure”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are inherently adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 5 of the present invention).
Claim 6: the package according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 2 recites the limitations of claim 6 of the present invention, “an interposer structure disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate through a plurality of conductive bumps” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 6 of the present invention).
Claim 7: a package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first shape and a second groove with a second shape, the first shape being different from the second shape.
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 8 recite the limitations of claim 7 of the present invention, the insulating encapsulant has “ring-shaped groove” and “at least one runner hole opening” have different depths; thus, having different shapes (as recited in claim 7 of the present invention).
Claim 8: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of 8 of the present invention, “a lid structure disposed over the encapsulant and covering the ring-shaped groove” which inherently means “the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound” (as recited in claim 8 of the present invention).
Claim 9: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claims 2 and 4 recite the limitations of 9 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant surrounds the interposer structure”, and “a plurality of dies disposed on and electrically connected to the interposer structure”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 9 of the present invention).
Claim 11: the package according to claim 7, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claims 2 and 4 recite the limitations of 11 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant surrounds the interposer structure”, and “a plurality of dies disposed on and electrically connected to the interposer structure”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are inherently adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 11 of the present invention).
Claim 12: the package according to claim 7, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 2 recites the limitations of claim 12 of the present invention, “an interposer structure disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate through a plurality of conductive bumps” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 12 of the present invention).
. Claim 13: the package according to claim 7, wherein the first groove with the first shape has a substantially curved bottom surface.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 13 of the present invention, “the encapsulant comprises a ring-shaped groove” which inherently includes “a shape has a substantially curved bottom surface” (as recited in claim 13 of the present invention).
Claim 14: a package, comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove with a first size and a second groove with a second size, the first size being different from the second size.
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 8 recite the limitations of claim 14 of the present invention, “the encapsulant comprises a ring-shaped groove” and “a runner hole opening” that have different depths; thus, having different sizes (as recited in claim 14 of the present invention).
Claim 15: the package according to claim 14, wherein the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of 15 of the present invention, “a lid structure disposed over the encapsulant and covering the ring-shaped groove” which inherently means “the first groove and the second groove are located on a top surface of the molding compound” (as recited in claim 15 of the present invention).
Claim 16: the package according to claim 14, wherein the first groove and the second groove are adjacent to the die.
Claim 9 recites the limitations of 16 of the present invention, “the unfilled groove is a ring-shaped groove that is encircling the at least one die, and kept a distance apart from the at least one die”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 16 of the present invention).
Claim 17: the package according to claim 14, wherein a total volume of the molding compound in the package is greater than a total volume of the first die in the package.
Claims 2 and 4 recite the limitations of 17 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant surrounds the interposer structure”, and “a plurality of dies disposed on and electrically connected to the interposer structure”; thus, the groove and the runner hole opening are inherently adjacent to the die (as recited in claim 17 of the present invention).
Claim 18: the package according to claim 14, further comprising a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate.
Claim 2 recites the limitations of claim 18 of the present invention, “an interposer structure disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate through a plurality of conductive bumps” which inherently means “a plurality of conductive bumps located on the substrate” (as recited in claim 18 of the present invention).
Claim 19: the package according to claim 14, wherein the second groove is located near an edge of the molding compound.
Claim 2 recites the limitations of claim 19 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant surrounds the interposer structure, and the ring-shaped groove is kept a distance apart from the interposer structure”; thus, the groove is inherently located near an edge of the molding compound (as recited in claim 19 of the present invention).
Claim 20: the package according to claim 14, further comprising a passive component disposed on the substrate and overlapped with the first groove.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of claim 20 of the present invention, “wherein the encapsulant comprises a ring-shaped groove that is overlapped with the plurality of passive component”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim et al. (US 20150123290 A1), JANG et al. (US 20140339708 A1), Hong et al. (US 20130187288 A1), Lee et al. (US 20110233747 A1), GERBER (US 20100072600 A1), Yeh et al. (US 20170317041 A1), GANESAN et al. (US 20160284642 A), and Chung (US 8546932 B1) disclose a semiconductor package comprising: a substrate; a die over the substrate; a molding compound provided over the substrate, wherein the molding compound includes a first groove and a second groove.
Contact Information
/Thanh Y. Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 August 8, 2026