DETAILED ACTION
Contents
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3
Conclusion 8
This action is responsive to applicant’s claim set received on 7/3/24. Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter as follows. Claims 1 and 4 are directed to recognizing parking spaces and it is an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. The steps can be evaluated and judged by a human viewing vehicle-periphery image information. The claim limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. For claims 2-3, the same logic applies as stated within claim 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruning et al (US 2014/0292542 A1) in view of Yalla et al (US 10,423,162 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bruning teaches a parking lot determination device for recognizing, based on image data acquired by capturing a periphery of a vehicle, a parking space and/or a parked vehicle in the periphery of the vehicle (paragraph [0034]: “The environment sensor system may be based at least on ultrasound-based 2D environment data information... does not exclude the use of environment sensor systems based on video, laser or radar”; paragraph [0036]: the parking system “has found... the objects O1, O2, O3, O4 which are usually implemented by parked vehicles, the free spaces or gaps L1, L2, L3 between the objects”), and determining that the vehicle is traveling in a parking lot when a determination condition that a predetermined number or more of adjacent parking spaces and/or adjacent parked vehicles are recognized is satisfied (paragraph [0018]: “If, for example, the vehicle has driven past a plurality of perpendicular parking spaces and corresponding parked objects within a predefined interval of time, the current parking scenario will highly likely be a perpendicular parking space again; information relating to a current parking scenario can also be gathered from navigation data, for example if the navigation data reveal that the vehicle is in a parking lot”; paragraphs [0039]–[0040]: “number of previously found free spaces in which perpendicular parking is possible; in the example in FIG. 1, these are the three gaps L1, L2 and L3”; paragraph [0033]: the criteria, including the number of previously found free spaces, are evaluated by “a probability-based or a point-based evaluation... a criterion is satisfied”). Bruning does not teach expressly wherein the predetermined number to be used for the determination condition is reduced when a predetermined specific parking space is included in at least one or more parking spaces recognized based on the image data compared with the predetermined number to be used when the predetermined specific parking space is not included.
Yalla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the predetermined number to be used for the determination condition is reduced when a predetermined specific parking space is included in at least one or more parking spaces recognized based on the image data compared with the predetermined number to be used when the predetermined specific parking space is not included (col. 8, ll. 35–41: “parking place 318 with a blue wheelchair symbol 320, in addition to a blue wheelchair symbol 324 on sign 322, facilitate classification of parking place 318 as a handicapped parking place; consequently, first autonomous vehicle 304 may determine that parking place 318 is permissioned for first autonomous vehicle 304 because a passenger of first autonomous vehicle 304 is disabled”; col. 7, l. 65 – col. 8, l. 3: sensor data is used to “determine that a passenger has a disability that provides for permission to park in reserved handicapped parking place 318”….. col. 8, ll. 4–8: “In an embodiment, parking area 302 may be reduced to search for a parking place close to a destination for the purpose of quickly identifying a parking place for disabled persons”).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bruning to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Yalla. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable identifying permissioned parking relative to multiple classes of restricted and privileged parking see col 1, lines 1-45). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Bruning, while the teaching of Yalla continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 2, Bruning with Yalla teaches all elements of claim 2. Bruning with Yalla does not teach expressly at least one of a first specific parking space indicating a parking space dedicated for a light automobile, a second specific parking space indicating a priority parking space for a disabled person, or a third specific parking space indicating a parking space dedicated for charging an electric vehicle.
Yalla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one of a first specific parking space indicating a parking space dedicated for a light automobile, a second specific parking space indicating a priority parking space for a disabled person, or a third specific parking space indicating a parking space dedicated for charging an electric vehicle (see col. 7, l. 65 – col. 8, l. 3: “determine that a passenger has a disability that provides for permission to park in reserved handicapped parking place 318”; col. 8, ll. 35–41: classification of “parking place 318... as a handicapped parking place).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bruning with Yalla to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Yalla. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable identifying permissioned parking relative to multiple classes of restricted and privileged parking see col 1, lines 1-45). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Bruning with Yalla, while the teaching of Yalla continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is analyzed as a method that implements the limitations of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruning et al (US 2014/0292542 A1) with Yalla et al (US 10,423,162 B2), and further in view of Morimoto (US 2015/0291031 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bruning with Yalla teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Bruning with Yalla does not teach expressly wherein the predetermined number to be used for the determination condition is reduced when a predetermined specific parking space is included in at least one or more parking spaces recognized based on the image data compared with the predetermined number to be used when the predetermined specific parking space is not included.
Morimoto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the predetermined number to be used for the determination condition is reduced when a predetermined specific parking space is included in at least one or more parking spaces recognized based on the image data compared with the predetermined number to be used when the predetermined specific parking space is not included ((see 0093, 0094, 0101, 0112-0115, 0122-0128, 0133, 0134, 0007).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bruning with Yalla to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Morimoto. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable suppressing the degradation in drive performance at the time or parking (see 0007). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Bruning with Yalla, while the teaching of Morimoto continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Conclusion
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675