DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0052118, hereinafter Kim) in view of Kwon (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0408135, hereinafter Kwon).
Re claim 1 Kim discloses a display device comprising a display area comprising a transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3), comprising: a display panel comprising a light emitting element layer(311/305/303); and a light conversion panel[0079] on the display panel, the light conversion panel[0079] comprising: a base layer(405); a color filter(413/423/433) under the base layer(405); a low refractive layer(450) under the color filter(413/423/433); a first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] under the low refractive layer(450); and a second capping layer(403)[0131,0133]
Kim does not discloses a display area comprising a non-display area adjacent to the display area, and a light control layer under the color filter(413/423/433) and comprising a partition pattern, a plurality of light control portions spaced apart from each other by the partition pattern, and a second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] under the partition pattern and the light control portions, wherein the low refractive layer(450) is provided with a transmission opening defined therethrough to correspond to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Kwon discloses a display area comprising a non-display area(NDA of Kwon) adjacent to the display area(DA of Kwon), and a light control layer(CCL of Kwon) under the color filter(413/423/433) and comprising a partition pattern(left/right BK of Kwon), a plurality of light control portions spaced apart from each other by the partition pattern, a transmission opening(OH of Kwon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kwon to the teachings of Kim in order to improve display quality and reliability of the display apparatus [Abstract, Kwon]. In doing so, and a second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] under the partition pattern and the light control portions, wherein the low refractive layer(450) is provided with a transmission opening(OH of Kwon) defined therethrough to correspond to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 2 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the color filter(413/423/433) does not overlap the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 3 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the base layer(405) comprises a lower surface adjacent to the display panel, and the lower surface of the base layer(405) is exposed through the transmission opening.
Re claim 4 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] is directly on the lower surface of the base layer(405) exposed through the transmission opening.
Re claim 5 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] is directly under the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] in the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 6 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising a filling layer between the display panel and the light conversion panel[0079].
Re claim 7 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] and the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] comprises an inorganic material.
Re claim 8 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the low refractive layer(450) comprises an organic material.
Re claim 9 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the partition pattern surrounds the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) when viewed in a plane, the partition pattern comprises a side surface adjacent to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3), and the side surface of the partition pattern is covered by the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133].
Re claim 10 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the partition pattern and the light control portions do not overlap the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 11 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the display area further comprises a pixel area(PX1/PX2/PX3), and the pixel area(PX1/PX2/PX3) is spaced apart from the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 12 Kim discloses a display device comprising a display area comprising a pixel area(PX1/PX2/PX3) and a transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) spaced apart from the pixel area(PX1/PX2/PX3) comprising: a display panel comprising a light emitting element layer(311/305/303); and a light conversion panel[0079] on the display panel, the light conversion panel[0079] comprising: a base layer(405); a color filter(413/423/433) that does not overlap the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) and is under the base layer(405); a low refractive layer(450) provided and corresponding to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) and under the color filter(413/423/433); a first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] directly under the base layer(405)(as viewed from the top); and a second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] under the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133].
Kim does not discloses a non-display area adjacent to the display area, a low refractive layer(450) provided with a transmission opening defined therethrough and corresponding to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) and under the color filter(413/423/433); a first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] directly under the base layer(405) exposed through the transmission opening;
Kwon discloses a non-display area(NDA of Kwon) adjacent to the display area(DA of Kwon), a transmission opening(OH of Kwon)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kwon to the teachings of Kim in order to improve display quality and reliability of the display apparatus [Abstract, Kwon]. In doing so, a low refractive layer(450) provided with a transmission opening(OH of Kwon) defined therethrough and corresponding to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) and under the color filter(413/423/433); a first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] directly under the base layer(405) exposed through the transmission opening(OH of Kwon);
Re claim 13 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] is directly under the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] in the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 14 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 12, further comprising: a partition pattern surrounding the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3) and the pixel area(PX1/PX2/PX3) and under the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133]; and a plurality of light control portions under the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] to correspond to the pixel area(PX1/PX2/PX3).
Re claim 15 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 14, wherein the partition pattern comprises a side surface adjacent to the transmissive area(area between PX1/PX2/PX3), and the side surface of the partition pattern is covered by the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133].
Re claim 16 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 14, wherein the partition pattern comprises a lower surface adjacent to the display panel, and the lower surface of the partition pattern is covered by the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133].
Re claim 17 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 14, wherein the light control portions comprise a lower surface adjacent to the display panel, and the lower surface of the light control portions is covered by the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133].
Re claim 18 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 12, further comprising a filling layer between the display panel and the light conversion panel[0079].
Re claim 19 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein each of the first capping layer(403)[0131,0133] and the second capping layer(403)[0131,0133] comprises an inorganic material.
Re claim 20 Kim and Kwon disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the low refractive layer(450) comprises an organic material.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812