Specification
The specification submitted 7/8/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 7/8/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, the applicant recites “wherein the first and polymer layers comprise benzocyclobutene-based polymers.” But there is no antecedence for “first and polymer layers”.
For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets this language as “first and second patterned polymer layers”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US # 20230008792) in view of Chang (US # 20220139851) and Liu (US # 20130320556).
Regarding Claim 7, Chiang teaches a method for forming conductive structures between two substrates (100, 200; see Figs. 1-5 and corresponding text), the method comprising:
forming a first patterned base layer (122; Fig. 1) and a second patterned base layer (222; Fig. 3) on respective front surfaces of a first substrate (114, 110, 120) and a second substrate (214, 210, 220), wherein the first and second patterned base layers comprise through-holes (features 126/226 is formed in holes in Fig. 1) that expose partially the respective front surfaces of the first and second substrates (shown);
forming first metallic contact structures (126) in the through holes of the first patterned base layer and second metallic contact structures (226) in the through holes of the second patterned base layer, wherein both the first metallic contact structures and the second metallic contact structures have front surfaces that are higher than respective front surfaces of the first and second patterned base layers (shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3);
forming a first and second patterned bonding the first patterned bonding layer (see Fig. 2);
bonding the front surfaces of the first and second patterned bonding layers with each other (see Fig. 5 and corresponding text);
bonding the front surfaces of the first and second metallic contact structures with each other (see Fig. 5 and corresponding text)
Although Chiang discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method comprising forming first and second patterned polymer layers, wherein the second metallic contact structures are exposed from and lower than respective front surfaces of the second patterned polymer layer; forming solder materials on the respective front surfaces of the first and second metallic contact structures; and bonding the first and second metallic contact structures with each other through the solder materials thereon after the front surfaces of the first and second patterned polymer layers are bonded with each other.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Liu is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method of hybrid bonding wafers including forming, on both wafers, a conductive pad recessed within a surrounding insulating material, joined by a eutectic (solder) feature in a sequence in which the surrounding insulating layers are bonded first and the metal pads are bonded second. Or more specifically, wafers (100a/100b, Fig. 2) have recessed conductive features (112; see Fig. 2) embedded in an insulating layer (114) joined with solder (sealing layer 120), where the insulating layers are bonded first (fusion bond 132; [0031]) and then second after the first is the metal-to-metal bond 120’ (see Fig. 6 and [0032]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bonding layer materials of Chiang with the hybrid bonding steps suggested by Liu would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Liu would be to employ a method comprising forming solder materials on the respective front surfaces of the first and second metallic contact structures; and bonding the first and second metallic contact structures with each other through the solder materials thereon after the front surfaces of the first and second patterned bonding layers are bonded with each other. The rationale for this obvious modification is that the eutectic/solder bond in the recess seals any possible gaps between the pads and to control the bonding at a particular temperature (Liu, [0027, 32]).
Although Chiang in view of Liu discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method comprising forming first and second patterned polymer layers as the first and second patterned bonding layers.
For a second prior-art example, Chang is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method comprising forming a first and second polymer layer (310/410; see [0029-32]), wherein embedded metallic contact structures (320 and 420) are exposed at respective front surfaces of the first and second patterned polymer layer; bonding the front surfaces of the first and second patterned polymer layers with each other ([0033] teaches hybrid bonding with BCB polymer).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bonding layer materials of Chiang in view of Liu with the polymer materials suggested by Chang would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Chang would be to employ a method step of forming a second patterned polymer layer, wherein the second metallic contact structures are exposed from respective front surfaces of the second patterned polymer layer. The rationale for this obvious modification is that polymers, including BCB, provide greater stress tolerance (Chang, [0030]) compared with inorganic dielectrics.
Regarding Claim 9, Chang, as applied to claim 7, teaches the method of claim 7, wherein forming a first patterned polymer layer and a second patterned polymer layer on the respective front surfaces of the first patterned base layer and the second patterned base layer comprises: forming a first polymer layer and a second polymer layer on the respective front surfaces of the first and second patterned base layers and on the respective front surfaces of the first and second metallic contact structures (spin-coating method creates a blanket layer of the polymer; se Fig. 2 and [0030]); and patterning the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer to form the first patterned polymer layer and the second patterned polymer layer that expose the respective front surfaces of the first and second metallic contact structures (standard patterning techniques in Chang [0053-56] shows that this is obvious because patterning organic layers, such as polymers, is a conventional method for forming conductive features).
Regarding Claim 10, insofar as the claim scope can be ascertained in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections and/or claim objections above, Chang, as applied to claim 7, teaches the method wherein the first and second patterned polymer layers comprise benzocyclobutene-based polymers ([0030]).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu and Chang, as applied to claim 7, teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the first and second metallic contact structures are lower (Liu teaches recessed conductive features) than the first and second patterned polymer layer (Chang teaches polymer materials), respectively, after forming the solder materials (apertures 122 are shown in Fig. 5, which shows the lower surfaces after formation of the solder materials).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu, as applied to claim 7, teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the bonding of the front surfaces of the first and second patterned polymer layers is performed at a first temperature ([0031]), and the bonding of the first and second metallic contact structures is performed at a second temperature ([0032]) higher than the first temperature (the metal is bonded at a higher temperature).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US # 20230008792) in view of Chang (US # 20220139851) and Liu (US # 20130320556) and further in view of Yu (US # 20220246574).
Regarding Claim 8, although Chiang in view of Chang and Liu discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method of claim 7, wherein forming first metallic contact structures in the through holes of the first patterned base layer and second metallic contact structures in the through holes of the second patterned base layer comprises: forming respective seed layers on front surfaces of the first and second patterned base layers and the exposed front surfaces of the first and second substrates; forming respective patterned photoresist layers on the front surfaces of the first and second patterned base layers; depositing a metallic material within the through holes of the first and second patterned base layers to form the first and second metallic contact structures; and removing the patterned photoresist layers and the seed layers thereunder from the first and second patterned base layers, respectively.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Yu is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method comprising forming a seed layer (116) on front surfaces of the first patterned base layers (112); forming patterned photoresist layers (118) on the front surfaces of the first patterned base layers; depositing a metallic material (128; [0025]) within through holes (120) of the first patterned base layers to form the first and second metallic contact structures (shown); and removing the patterned photoresist layers and the seed layers thereunder from the first patterned base layers, respectively (see Fig. 1D; [0026]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the metallic contact formation of Chiang in view of Chang and Liu with the steps suggested by Yu would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Yu would be to employ a method of claim 7, wherein forming first metallic contact structures in the through holes of the first patterned base layer and second metallic contact structures in the through holes of the second patterned base layer comprises: forming respective seed layers on front surfaces of the first and second patterned base layers and the exposed front surfaces of the first and second substrates; forming respective patterned photoresist layers on the front surfaces of the first and second patterned base layers; depositing a metallic material within the through holes of the first and second patterned base layers to form the first and second metallic contact structures; and removing the patterned photoresist layers and the seed layers thereunder from the first and second patterned base layers, respectively. The rationale for this obvious modification is that these metallization (seed/photoresist/plate/strip) steps provide a conventional predictable means of forming metal contacts. This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of such a set of contact formation steps is well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899