DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites a phrase “in contact” at line 7. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “in contact with” to restore clarity.
Claim 11 recites a phrase “in contact” at lines 11 and 18. Examiner suggests amending the phrase to recite “in contact with” to restore clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2008/0265251 to XIAO et al. (hereinafter XIAO).
Regarding claim 11, XIAO discloses a device (para. 0005 :- a structure and method for determining a defect in integrated circuit manufacturing process), comprising:
a semiconductor wafer (wafer at para. 0003); and
an array of integrated circuit (IC) dies (para. 15 – DRAM cells; word lines figs. 3A-3B, 5) disposed on a surface of the semiconductor wafer and voltage contrast electron beam inspection (VC-EBI) test patterns (paras. 2,16,32 – test patterns; figs. 5-12) disposed on the surface of the semiconductor wafer between the IC dies, wherein the the VC-EBI test patterns include:
an N+/P structure (paras. - 0034-0036; NMOS device 250 figs. 2B,3A) comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping (p-type doped channel 258) in contact with at least one first source/drain structure of N-type doping (N-doped Source 260 @left) arranged next to an N+/N structure (N+/N well 301 in Fig. 3B) comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (N+/N well 301 in Fig. 3B) in contact with the at least one second source/drain structure of N-type doping (N-doped Drain 260 @right); and an N+/N well structure (N+/N well 301 in Fig. 3B) comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (N+/N well 301 in Fig. 3B) in contact at least one second source/drain structure of N-type doping (N-doped Drain 260 @right), wherein the at least one second source/drain structure of N-type doping is arranged next to the at least one first source/drain structure of N-type doping (abs., para. 0008-0012; NMOS device 250 arrays; Figs. 2B and 3A); and/or
a P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (Fig. 2A channel 208) in contact with at least one first source/drain structure of P-type doping (Fig. 2A, S/D 210) and a P+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact at least one second source/drain structure of P-type doping (para. 0044 :- while the defective active areas may be active areas of semiconductor devices having heavily p-type doped source and drain, and p-type doped well P+/P- well), wherein the at least one second source/drain structure of P-type doping is arranged next to the at least one first source/drain structure of P-type doping (abs., para. 0008-0012 :- PMOS device 200 arrays; Figs. 2A).
lllustrated below are Figs. 2A-2B and 3A-3B of XIAO, marked and annotated for the convenience of the applicant.
Regarding claim 12, XIAO discloses wherein the VC-EBI test patterns include said N+/P structure arranged next to said N+/N structure (FIG. 3B).
Regarding claim 13, XIAO discloses wherein the VC-EBI test patterns include said P+/N structure arranged next to said P+/P structure (para. 0044 - while the defective active areas may be active areas of semiconductor devices having heavily p-type doped source and drain, and p-type doped well P+/P-well).
Regarding claim 14, XIAO discloses wherein the VC-EBI test patterns further include a
P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping in contact with at least one source/drain structure of P-type doping arranged next to an N+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact at least one source/drain structure of N-type doping (Figs. 2A and 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US XIAO in view of US 20070197020 to Ramappa et al. (hereinafter Ramappa).
Regarding claim 1, XIAO teaches a semiconductor manufacturing method (para. 0002 - a method for determining a defect in integrated circuit manufacturing process), comprising:
providing a semiconductor wafer including an array of integrated circuit (IC) dies (para. 15 – DRAM cells; word lines figs. 3A-3B, 5) and voltage contrast electron beam inspection (VC-EBI) test patterns (paras. 2,16,32 – test patterns; figs. 5-12) disposed between the IC dies, wherein the VC-EBI test patterns include an N+/P structure (paras. - 0034-0036; NMOS device 250 figs. 2B,3A) comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping (p-type doped channel 258) in contact with at least one first source/drain structure of N-type doping (N-doped Source 260 @left) arranged next to an N+/N structure (N+/N well 301 in Fig. 3B) comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (N+/N well 301 in Fig. 3B) in contact with the at least one second source/drain structure of N-type doping (N-doped Drain 260 @right); and
receiving a plurality of images by applying an electron beam to the VC-EBI test patterns (Fig. 4; paras. 0003 and 0041 - images are obtained using electron beam inspection (EBI) and the images are used for determining target defects; paras. 0005-0007 - detect electrical short between contact plugs …void-induced short or a non-open contact of the normal active areas).
XIAO fails to disclose transferring the semiconductor wafer to a next process step if the plurality of images do not indicate a short between the first source/drain structure of N-type doping and the second source/drain structure of N-type doping.
However, Ramappa teaches in figure(s) 1-5 transferring the semiconductor substrate to a next process step (process steps 170, 190 in figs. 1) if plurality of images do not indicate a short (process step 130; para. 18 - semiconductor substrate, such as a silicon wafer the semiconductor devices can comprise nMOS, pMOS transistors or CMOS devices, having metal interconnects, such as contacts, formed on source and drain structures and gate structures; para. 23 - Two interconnect features affected by a shorting type of reliability defect tend to look brighter (voltage contrast bright). When a beam rasters a given area) between the first source/drain structure of N-type doping and the second source/drain structure of N-type doping (para. 46 - semiconductor device 310 comprise an nMOS transistor 330 and a pMOS transistor 335 that form a semiconductor device 310 that is a CMOS device; para. 33 - characterize the defect's severity … that causes a short circuit or other malfunction in the semiconductor device; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XIAO by having transferring the semiconductor substrate to a next process step if plurality of images do not indicate a short between the first source/drain structure of N-type doping and the second source/drain structure of N-type doping as taught by Ramappa in order to provide inline method for testing semiconductor defects during manufacturing process as evidenced by "A method of manufacturing an integrated circuit comprising: wherein said voltage contrast image is obtained using a collection field that is at least about 1 percent different than an incident field; and using said voltage contrast image to determine the presence of an interconnect defect in said semiconductor device … wherein further back-end-of-line processing of said semiconductor device is halted if said interconnect defect is detected… wherein one or more steps in said back-end-of-line process are modified if said interconnect defect is detected." (clm. 17-20 of Ramappa).
Regarding claim 18, XIAO teaches a semiconductor manufacturing method (para. 0002 - a method for determining a defect in integrated circuit manufacturing process), comprising:
providing a semiconductor wafer including an array of integrated circuit (IC) dies (para. 15 – DRAM cells; word lines figs. 3A-3B, 5) and voltage contrast electron beam inspection (VC-EBI) test patterns (paras. 2,16,32 – test patterns; figs. 5-12) disposed between the IC dies, wherein the VC-EBI test patterns include an P+/N structure (paras. - 0034-0036; NMOS device 250 figs. 2B,3A) comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (N-doped Source 260 @left) in contact with at least one first source/drain structure of P-type (p-type doped channel 258) doping arranged next to an P+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact with the at least one second source/drain structure of P-type doping (para. 0044 - while the defective active areas may be active areas of semiconductor devices having heavily p-type doped source and drain, and p-type doped well P+/P-well); and
receiving a plurality of images by applying an electron beam to the VC-EBI test patterns (Fig. 4; paras. 0003 and 0041 - images are obtained using electron beam inspection (EBI) and the images are used for determining target defects; paras. 0005-0007 - detect electrical short between contact plugs …void-induced short or a non-open contact of the normal active areas).
XIAO fails to disclose transferring the semiconductor wafer to a next process step if the plurality of images do not indicate a short between the first source/drain structure of P-type doping and the second source/drain structure of P-type doping.
However, Ramappa teaches in figure(s) 1-5 transferring the semiconductor substrate to a next process step (process steps 170, 190 in figs. 1) if plurality of images do not indicate a short (process step 130; para. 18 - semiconductor substrate, such as a silicon wafer the semiconductor devices can comprise nMOS, pMOS transistors or CMOS devices, having metal interconnects, such as contacts, formed on source and drain structures and gate structures; para. 23 - Two interconnect features affected by a shorting type of reliability defect tend to look brighter (voltage contrast bright). When a beam rasters a given area) between the first source/drain structure of P-type doping and the second source/drain structure of P-type doping (para. 46 - semiconductor device 310 comprise an nMOS transistor 330 and a pMOS transistor 335 that form a semiconductor device 310 that is a CMOS device; para. 33 - characterize the defect's severity … that causes a short circuit or other malfunction in the semiconductor device; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of XIAO by having transferring the semiconductor substrate to a next process step if plurality of images do not indicate a short between the first source/drain structure of P-type doping and the second source/drain structure of P-type doping as taught by Ramappa in order to provide inline method for testing semiconductor defects during manufacturing process as evidenced by "A method of manufacturing an integrated circuit comprising: wherein said voltage contrast image is obtained using a collection field that is at least about 1 percent different than an incident field; and using said voltage contrast image to determine the presence of an interconnect defect in said semiconductor device … wherein further back-end-of-line processing of said semiconductor device is halted if said interconnect defect is detected… wherein one or more steps in said back-end-of-line process are modified if said interconnect defect is detected." (clm. 17-20 of Ramappa).
Regarding claim 3, XIAO teaches the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1 wherein the VC-EBI test patterns further include a P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (Fig. 2A channel 208) in contact with at least one first source/drain structure of P-type doping (Fig. 2A, S/D 210) arranged next to a P+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact with at least one second source/drain structure of P-type doping (para. 0044 - while the defective active areas may be active areas of semiconductor devices having heavily p-type doped source and drain, and p-type doped well P+/P-well).
Regarding claim 4, XIAO teaches wherein the semiconductor wafer is a silicon (silicon is commonly known semiconductor wafer material; para. 33 - polysilicon landing pad plugs for semiconductor device 100) or silicon-on-insulator (SOI) wafer.
Regarding claim 5, XIAO teaches the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1 wherein the VC-EBI test patterns further include a P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping in contact with at least one source/drain structure of P-type doping arranged next to a second N+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact at least one third source/drain structure of N-type doping (Figs. 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 6, XIAO teaches the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1 wherein the VC-EBI test patterns further include an N+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact with at least one third source/drain structure of N-type doping arranged next to a second N+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact with the at least one fourth source/drain structure of N-type doping (two adjacent NMOS structures illustrated in Figs. 2B, 3B and 7B).
Regarding clam 7, XIAO teaches the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 1 wherein the VC-EBI test patterns further include a P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping in contact with at least one first source/drain structure of P-type doping arranged next to a second P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping in contact at least one second source/drain structure of P-type doping (two adjacent PMOS structures illustrated in Figs. 2A, 3A and 7A).
Regarding claim 20, XIAO teaches the semiconductor manufacturing method of claim 18 wherein the VC-EBI test patterns further include a P+/N structure comprising at least one active structure formed with N-type doping (Fig. 2A channel 208) in contact with at least one third source/drain structure of P-type doping (Fig. 2A, S/D 210) arranged next to a N+/P structure comprising at least one active structure formed with P-type doping in contact with at least one source/drain structure of N-type doping (para. 0044 - while the defective active areas may be active areas of semiconductor devices having heavily p-type doped source and drain, and p-type doped well P+/P-well).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO in view of Ramappa, and further in view of US 7,635,843 to Luo et al. (hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claim 8, XIAO fails to disclose wherein the providing comprises performing front end-of-line (FEOL) processing of an integrated circuit (IC) manufacturing process, and the next process step comprises a back end-of-line (BEOL) processing step.
In the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches that some defects in the FET are observable.
Electron-beam ("E-beam") inspection techniques are typically used to inspect process wafers during a fabrication sequence for gate oxide and other defects. Such inspection is commonly referred to as "in-line" because the inspection step is incorporated into the fabrication process flow. In other words, process wafers can be inspected between fabrication steps without removing the wafer from the fabrication area, such as between front-end-of-line ("FEOL") processes and back end-of-line ("BEOL") processes (col. 2, lines 14-23). That is, Luo teaches wherein the providing of the plurality of patterns on the semiconductor substrate comprises performing front end-of-line (FEOL) processing of an integrated circuit (IC) manufacturing process, and the next process step comprises a back end-of-line (BEOL) processing step.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIAO as taught by Luo. This would have been done to insect the wafers during the fabrication process flow, as taught by Luo at col. 2, lines 14-23.
Regarding claim 9, XIAO fails to disclose wherein the VC-EBI test patterns are disposed on a surface of the semiconductor wafer and the active structures of the VC-EBI test patterns comprise mutually parallel linear fins each extending away from the surface of the semiconductor wafer, and the VC-EBI patterns further include gate lines crossing and oriented perpendicular to the linear fins.
However, Luo teaches that the patterns (Fig. 3A, pattern 300) are disposed on a surface of the semiconductor wafer (302) and the active structures (304) of the VC-EBI patterns comprise mutually parallel linear fins (310, 312, 314) each extending away from the surface of the semiconductor wafer, and the VC-EBI patterns further include gate lines crossing and oriented perpendicular to the linear fins (col. 5, lines, 2-6 and 16-19 - a gate dielectric layer is between the quasi-grounded polysilicon, the floating polysilicon and the active area 304, and is between the capacitor 316 and the active area 318).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIAO as taught by Luo. This would have been done to incorporate the test structure into the wafer, as taught by Luo at col. 4, lines 50-61.
Regarding claim 10, XIAO fails to disclose wherein the patterns are disposed on a wafer that also has an array of integrated circuit (IC) dies disposed thereon, and the patterns are disposed between the IC dies.
On the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches that the wafer 200 includes test structures 204, 206 designed to indicate electrical stress defects after a stress scan in an E-beam system. Alternatively, test structures are incorporated into one or more ICs. The stress scan is limited to the test structures 204, 206. The test structure can be anywhere on the wafer. For example, the test structure 204 is within the alley 205 and test structure 206 is included in an IC. Alternatively, the wafer is a test wafer that is not intended to produce shippable ICs, but is designed to evaluate process conditions and layout dimensions. In that case, the stress scan can be applied to other areas in addition to the test structures 204, 206 (at col. 4, lines 50-61). That is, Luo teaches wherein the patterns are disposed on a wafer that also has an array of integrated circuit (IC) dies disposed thereon, and the patterns are disposed between the IC dies.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIAO as taught by Luo. This would have been done to incorporate the test structure into the wafer, as taught by Luo at col. 4, lines 50-61.
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO in view of Luo.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, XIAO in view of Ramappa fails to teach wherein the active structures of the patterns comprise one or more mutually parallel fins disposed on the surface of the wafer. wherein the patterns further include gate lines crossing and oriented perpendicular to the fins.
However, Luo teaches that the patterns (Fig. 3A, pattern 300) are disposed on a surface of a substrate (302) and the active structures (304) of the patterns comprise mutually parallel linear fins (310, 312, 314) each extending away from the surface of the substrate, and the patterns further include gate lines crossing and oriented perpendicular to the linear fins (col. 5, lines, 2-6 and 16-19 - a gate dielectric layer is between the quasi-grounded polysilicon, the floating polysilicon and the active area 304, and is between the capacitor 316 and the active area 318).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIAO in view of Ramappa as taught by Luo. This would have been done to incorporate the test structure into the wafer, as taught by Luo at col. 4, lines 50-61.
Claim(s) 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO in view of Pourkeramat.
Regarding claim 17, XIAO fails to teach further comprising: the VC-EBI test patterns are disposed in scribe lines between the IC dies.
However, Pourkeramat teaches the VC-EBI test patterns are disposed in scribe lines between the IC dies (abs. - a scanning pad scanned by an electron beam inspection tool and a test key. The structure can be located in the scribe line; horizontal scribe lines 104 and vertical scribe lines 106; figs. 1,3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIAO as taught by Pourkeramat. This would have been done to incorporate wafer having multiple dies organized in rows and column separetd by scribe lines. After wafer sort good dies are extracted from the wafer by sawing along the vertical and horizontal scribe lines and then placed in the desired packages, as taught by Pourkeramat at col. 1, lines 30-40.
Claim(s) 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO in view of in view of Ramappa, and further in view of Pourkeramat.
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 19, XIAO in view of Ramappa fails to teach wherein the VC-EBI test patterns are disposed in scribe lines between the IC dies, and the next process step comprises dicing the semiconductor wafer along the scribe lines to separate the IC dies.
However, Pourkeramat teaches the VC-EBI test patterns are disposed in scribe lines between the IC dies (abs. - a scanning pad scanned by an electron beam inspection tool and a test key. The structure can be located in the scribe line; horizontal scribe lines 104 and vertical scribe lines 106 figs. 1,3), and the next process step comprises dicing the semiconductor wafer along the scribe lines to separate the IC dies (col. 1, lines 30-40 - good dies are extracted from the wafer by sawing along the vertical and horizontal scribe lines).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIAO in view of Ramappa as taught by Pourkeramat. This would have been done to incorporate wafer having multiple dies organized in rows and column separetd by scribe lines. After wafer sort good dies are extracted from the wafer by sawing along the vertical and horizontal scribe lines and then placed in the desired packages, as taught by Pourkeramat at col. 1, lines 30-40.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858