DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,087, 639. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present Application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,087, 639.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tung (US 2017/0278928).
Regarding claim 1, Tung discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first fin (Fig.14, numeral 408’) over a substrate (300); a second fin (408’) over the substrate (400) and adjacent to the first fin (408’); a dummy fin (301)between the first fin (408’) and the second fin (408’) ([0031]); shallow trench isolation (STI) regions (302) between the first fin (408’) and the dummy fin (310), and between the second fin (408’) and the dummy fin (310); a first gate structure (412); (414) over the first fin (408’), wherein the first gate structure comprises a gate dielectric material (412) along a first sidewall of the first fin (408’) and along a first upper surface of the first fin (408’) , and comprises a first gate electrode (414) over the gate dielectric material (412); a second gate structure (512); (514) over the second fin (408’), wherein the second gate structure comprises the gate dielectric material (512) along a second sidewall of the second fin (408’) and along a second upper surface of the second fin (408’), and comprises a second gate electrode (514) over the gate dielectric material (512); and a dielectric structure (312) over the dummy fin (310), wherein the dielectric structure (312) is disposed between and contacts the first gate structure (414) and the second gate structure (514), wherein the dielectric structure (312) has an upper portion (upper part of (312)) and a lower portion (lower part of (312) of parts of (412) on (310); (304’’)) between the upper portion and the substrate (300), wherein a first width of the lower portion (parts of (412) on (310); (304’’) and lower part of (312)) is larger than a second width of the upper portion (upper part of (312)).
Regarding claim 2, Tung discloses wherein the dielectric structure (412) ;(312); (304’’) contacts the dummy fin (310).
Regarding claim 3, Tung discloses wherein an upper surface of the first fin (408’) extends further from the substrate (300) than a lower surface of the dielectric structure (304’’) facing the substrate (300).
Regarding claim 4, Tung discloses wherein an upper surface of the dielectric structure (312) distal from the substrate (300) is level with an upper surface of the first gate structure (414) distal from the substrate (300).
Regarding claim 5, Tung discloses wherein an upper surface of the second gate (514) structure is level with the upper surface of the first gate structure (414) (Fig.14).
Regarding claim 6, Tung discloses wherein a first longitudinal direction of the first gate structure (412); (414) and a second longitudinal direction of the second gate (512); (514) structure extend along a same line (Fig.14).
Regarding claim 7, Tung discloses wherein the first width is measured along the first longitudinal direction of the first gate structure (412); (414), and the second width is measured along the second longitudinal direction of the second gate structure (512); (514).
Regarding claim 8, Tung discloses wherein the lower portion of the dielectric structure (412); (312) and the upper portion of the dielectric structure (312) have a same width measured along a direction perpendicular to the first longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 10, Tung discloses wherein the lower portion of the dielectric structure (304’’) has an oval shaped, a diamond shaped, or a rectangular shaped cross-section (Fig. 1, numeral 312).
Regarding claim 11, Tung discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first fin (Fig.14, numeral 408’) , a second fin (408’) , and a dummy fin (310) that protrude above a substrate (300), wherein the dummy fin (310) is between the first fin (408’) and the second fin (408’); isolation regions (304’’) on opposing sides of the first fin (408’), the second fin (408’), and the dummy fin (310), wherein the isolation regions (304’’) contact and extend along first sidewalls of the first fin (408’), second sidewalls of the second fin (408’), and third sidewalls of the dummy fin (310); a first gate structure (412); (414) and a second gate structure (514) over the first fin and the second fin, respectively, wherein the first gate structure comprises a gate dielectric material (412) along the first sidewalls of the first fin (408’) and along a first upper surface of the first fin (408’), and comprises a first gate electrode (414) over the gate dielectric material (4120, wherein the second gate structure (512); (514) comprises the gate dielectric material (512) along the second sidewalls of the second fin (408’) and along a second upper surface of the second fin (408’), and comprises a second gate electrode (514) over the gate dielectric material (512); and a dielectric structure (412); (312) between the first gate structure (414) and the second gate structure (512), wherein the dielectric structure (312) extends along and contacts a first sidewall of the first gate structure (414), and extends along and contacts a second sidewall of the second gate structure (514), wherein an upper portion of the dielectric structure (312) distal from the substrate (300) has a first width, and a lower portion of the dielectric structure (parts of (412) on (310); lower part of (312) )proximate to the substrate (300) has a second width larger than the first width (upper part of (312)).
Regarding claim 12, Tung discloses wherein a lower surface of the dielectric structure (312); (412) facing the substrate (300) is in contact with the dummy fin (310).
Regarding claim 13, Tung discloses wherein the lower surface of the dielectric structure (312); (412) is closer to the substrate (300) than a first upper surface of the first fin (408’) distal from the substrate (300).
Regarding claim 14, Tung discloses wherein an upper surface of the dielectric structure (312) distal from the substrate is level with an upper surface of the first gate structure (414) distal from the substrate (300).
Regarding claim 15, Tung discloses wherein the first width and the second width are measured along a first longitudinal direction of the first gate structure (414) (Fig.14).
Regarding claim 16, Tung discloses wherein a third width of the upper portion of the dielectric structure (312) is a same as a fourth width of the lower portion (304’’); (412) of the dielectric structure, wherein the third width and the fourth width are measured along a direction perpendicular to the first longitudinal direction and parallel to a major upper surface of the substrate (300).
Regarding claim 17, Tung discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first fin (Fig.14, numeral 408’) over a substrate (300); a second fin (408’) over the substrate (300) and adjacent to the first fin (408’); a dummy fin (310) between the first fin (408’) and the second fin (408’); isolation regions (304’’) on opposing sides of the first fin (408’), on opposing sides of the second fin (408’), and on opposing sides of the dummy fin (310), wherein the first fin, the second fin, and dummy fin extend above the isolation regions (304’’), wherein the isolation regions (304’’) contact first sidewalls of the first fin (408’), second sidewalls of the second fin (408’), and third sidewalls of the dummy fin (310); a first gate structure (412); (414) over the first fin, wherein the first gate structure comprises a gate dielectric material (412) along the first sidewalls of the first fin (408’) and along a first upper surface of the first fin, and comprises a first gate electrode (414) over the gate dielectric material (412); a second gate structure (512); (514) over the second fin (408’) and adjacent to the first gate structure (414), wherein the second gate structure comprises the gate dielectric material (512) along the second sidewalls of the second fin (408’) and along a second upper surface of the second fin (408’), and comprises a second gate electrode (514) over the gate dielectric material (512), wherein a first longitudinal axis of the first gate structure (414) and a second longitudinal axis of the second gate structure (514) extend along a same line; and a dielectric structure (412); (312) interposed between and contacting the first gate structure (414) and the second gate structure (514), wherein in a cross-sectional view along the first longitudinal axis of the first gate structure, an upper portion of dielectric structure (312) distal from the substrate is narrower than a lower portion of the dielectric structure (312); (412) proximate to the substrate (300).
Regarding claim 18, Tung discloses wherein the dielectric structure (312); (412) extends from an upper surface of the first gate structure (414) distal from the substrate (300) to the dummy fin (310) (Fig.14).
Regarding claim 19, Tung discloses wherein the first fin (408’) and the second fin (408’) extend further from the substrate than the dummy fin (310) (Fig.14).
Claim(s) 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2019/0131428).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first fin (Fig.11, numeral 106) over a substrate (102); a second fin (106) over the substrate (102) and adjacent to the first fin (106); a dummy fin (110) between the first fin (106) and the second fin (106); isolation regions (numerals (108); (127a); (127b)) on opposing sides of the first fin (106), on opposing sides of the second fin (106), and on opposing sides of the dummy fin (122), wherein the first fin (106), the second fin (106), and dummy fin (122) extend above the isolation regions (108), wherein the isolation regions (108) contact first sidewalls of the first fin (106), second sidewalls of the second fin (106), and third sidewalls of the dummy fin (110); a first gate structure (123a); (123b) over the first fin (106), wherein the first gate structure comprises a gate dielectric material (123a) along the first sidewalls of the first fin and along a first upper surface of the first fin (106), and comprises a first gate electrode (123b) over the gate dielectric material (123a); a second gate structure (123a); (123b) over the second fin (106) and adjacent to the first gate structure (123), wherein the second gate structure comprises the gate dielectric material (123a) along the second sidewalls of the second fin and along a second upper surface of the second fin, and comprises a second gate electrode (123b) over the gate dielectric material, wherein a first longitudinal axis of the first gate structure and a second longitudinal axis of the second gate structure extend along a same line (Fig.11); and a dielectric structure (122) interposed between and contacting the first gate structure (123b) and the second gate structure (123b), wherein in a cross-sectional view along the first longitudinal axis of the first gate structure, an upper portion of dielectric structure (122) distal from the substrate is narrower than a lower portion of the dielectric structure proximate to the substrate (102) (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses a first gate spacer (Fig.11, 122a) on a first side of the first gate structure (123b); and a second gate spacer (122a) on a second side of the first gate structure (123B) opposing the first side ([0030]), wherein the dielectric structure (122) extends continuously from the first gate spacer (122a) to the second gate spacer (122a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Danek (US 8, 685, 867).
Regarding claim 9, Tung does not disclose wherein the dielectric structure comprises a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer around the first dielectric layer, wherein the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprise a same dielectric material but have different material densities.
Tung however discloses that the dielectric structure is an interlayer dielectric layer ([0031]). And Danek discloses that the interlayer dielectric layer comprises a first dielectric material and a second dielectric material around the first dielectric material, wherein the first dielectric material and the second dielectric material comprise a same dielectric material but have different material densities (Abstract).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tung with Danek to have the dielectric structure comprises a first dielectric material and a second dielectric material around the first dielectric material, wherein the first dielectric material and the second dielectric material comprise a same dielectric material but have different material densities for the purpose of effective filling of dielectric material into gaps (Danek, column 1, lines 30-35).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891