Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 6348728 to Aiba et al. (Aiba).
Regarding Claim 1, Aiba teaches in Fig. 19 at least, a method comprising:
encapsulating a first device die and a second device (not numbered) die in a first encapsulant 28;
performing a first planarization process on the first encapsulant 7:42-51;
forming a first through-via (not numbered, vias from both first and second device die) starting from the first device die;
placing a third device die 82 over the first device die and the second device die through a die-attach film (not numbered, film under 82); and
forming a redistribution structure over 32/36 and electrically coupling to the first device die, the second device die, and the third device die.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art does not teach the specific limitations of the dependent claims..
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 20, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20190074261 to Yu et al. teaches in Figs. 3A-3J method comprising:
placing a first device die comprising:
a first part comprising a first edge;
a second part comprising a second edge opposite to the first edge; and
a conductive pad in the first part;
placing a second device die adjacent to the first device die;
attaching a third device die on the first device die and the second device die through a die-attach film; and
encapsulating the first device die, the second device die, and the third device die in an encapsulant, wherein a bottom surface of the die-attach film contacts a top surface of the encapsulant to form a horizontal interface, and wherein the second edge of the first device die overlaps a part of the encapsulant.
However, Yu is not available as prior art.
Regarding Claim 18, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20070126085 to Kawano et al. teaches in Figs. 3A-4C a method comprising:
encapsulating a first device die in a first encapsulant;
forming a first through-via contacting the first device die;
adhering a second device die on the first device die; and
encapsulating the second device die and the first through-via in a second encapsulant,
but does not teach the through-via comprising a first bottom surface contacting the first device die.
Conclusion
/EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812