DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thayer [US 20220298645] in view of Bamberg [US 20130230723] and Burns [US 6042898].
Claim 1: Thayer teaches a method for coating a component of a gas turbine engine [0002], comprising the component having a bond coat and contaminants on the surface of the bond coat [0047]; laser treating the surface to remove the contaminants and to produce a cleaned surface on the bond coat [0049-0050]. Thayer further teaches another surface modification for special elements can be performed after the initial surface cleaning process, wherein the special elements could be added by deposition or other types of processes to add elements to the surface of the bond coat [0058]. However, Thayer does not appear to teach peening the cleaned surface and applying a ceramic coat. Bamberg is provided.
Bamberg teaches prior to shot peening, a pre-cleaning step may be carried out to clean the surface to be coated [0014]. Bamberg also teaches that afterwards, a deposition of coating following cleaning/strengthening [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to subsequently provide a shot peening step after laser cleaning the bond coat since Bamberg teaches such step increases strengthening [0008]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide peening after laser cleaning since Bamberg teaches such step helps strengthen the underlying layer and prevents cracks [0013].
However, the prior art does not appear to teach applying a ceramic coat to the peened surface. Burns is provided.
Burns teaches after cleaning a ceramic layer may be formed on the bond layer [col 4, ln 24-35]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a ceramic layer on the cleaned surface so as to form a barrier coating system that can withstand the high temperatures of operating [col 1, ln 15-22].
Claim 5: Thayer teaches the laser power can range up to 1000 W.
Claims 6-7: Thayer teaches the bond coating can be MCrAlY coating (metallic bond coat) to an airfoil [0041].
Claim 8: Thayer teaches the bond coat may be applied by low pressure plasma spray, high velocity oxygen fuel, cathodic arc and the like [0041].
Claim 9: Burns teaches the cereamic coat is atrium stabilized zirconia [col 4, ln 38-55].
Claim 10: Thayer teaches the gas turbine components that are exposed to high temperatures [0002].
Claim 11: Thayer teaches the turbine can include airfoil exposed to high temperatures and pressures [0037].
Claim 13: Thayer teaches the bond coat has a thickness from 0.5mils – 10 mils (12microns -254 microns) [0040], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 14: Burns teaches the ceramic layer can have a thickness of 125-1250 microns [col 5, ln 20-25], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thayer in view of Bamberg, and Burns as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Coates [WO2015189600].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 2. Coates is provided.
Claim 2: Coates teaches it would be possible to change an environment in the chamber of the work station to be a clean environment depending on the process being carried out [pg 3, para 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change to a clean environment during laser treating since Coates teaches it is possible by providing a chamber with inert gas to reduce contaminants [pg 3, para 5].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thayer in view of Bamberg, and Burns as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP260 [JP 2017530260].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 3. JP260 is provided.
Claim 3: JP260 teaches peen is performed immediately after laser processing [pg 16, para 14]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the peening step immediate as taught by JP260 since the prior art does not provide further time details and JP260 teaches it is known to immediately peen after laser treatment.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thayer in view of Bamberg, and Burns as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hackel [EP1212472].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 4. Hackel is provided.
Claim 4: Hackel teaches raster scanning with laser pulse footprint and overlap affects the laser treatment process [0027-0028], where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the overlap and pulse duration of the laser treatment since through routine experimentation as a workable parameter for surface treatment.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thayer in view of Bamberg, and Burns as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cyrek [EP4056310].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 12. Cyrek is provided.
Claim 12: Cyrek teaches the laser beam pulses allows for visual inspection and removal of contaminants from the coating [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a visual inspection with the laser treatment since Cyrek teaches laser beam pulsing allows for visual inspections of any contaminants.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Bamberg and Burns are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, they are both directed to the problem of pretreating a surface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718