DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 102445717, hereinafter KR 717.
Claim 1: KR 717 a stackable mask comprising: a mask body having a rectangle shape; and a stacking guide disposed at a central portion of each of four side edges of the mask body (see Figure 3-Figure 5 and accompanying text). It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Italicized indicates intended use of the structure as claimed.
Claim 2: KR 717 discloses the stacking guide is disposed higher than the mask body by a height to load another stackable mask on the stacking guide (see Figure 3-Figure 5 and accompanying text). It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Italicized indicates intended use of the structure as claimed.
Claim 3: KR 717 discloses the stacking guide has a guide surface that guides another stackable mask to be loaded onto the stacking guide. (see Figure 3-Figure 9 and accompanying text). It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Italicized indicates intended use of the structure as claimed.
Claim 4: KR 717 discloses the guide surface has an inclination that can reasonably be considered to be within a range of about 30 degrees to about 60 degrees with respect to the stacking guide (Figure 9 and accompanying text).
Claim 5: KR 717 discloses the mask that meets the claimed structure and therefore would meet this claim requirement. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 6: KR 717 discloses what can reasonably be considered transferring and loading entrances are disposed on sides of the stacking guide to allow a clamp to enter between the stacked stackable masks, and the transferring and loading entrances are empty spaces (Figure 2, Figures 6-9). It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Italicized indicates intended use of the structure as claimed.
Claim 8: KR 717 discloses a stacking guide that has a side surface as claimed meets the claimed structure and the balance of the claim is mere intended use of the structure, loaded on the stacking guide of the another stackable mask. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Italicized indicates intended use of the structure as claimed.
Claim 9: KR 717 discloses a height difference is formed between the stacking guide and a lower end of the guide surface as much as a height of the side surface as broadly defined by by the claims (See Figure 6-8 and accompanying text). Here the various arrangements of the stacking guide as taught by KR 717 would reasonably read on the height difference as broadly defined by the applicant’s claim.
Claim 10: KR 717 discloses the stacking guide is made of a material and such can reasonably be “capable of suppressing generation of static electricity.” Here, the material is not claimed nor is the mechanism for suppressing static electricity and therefore the capability of suppressing is deemed intended use of the structure. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 717 alone or further in view of US Patent 5492223 by Boardman.
Claim 4-9: While the examiner maintains the position as set forth above, the examiner notes KR 717 discloses the incline and determination of the optimum and appropriate angle would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. Alternatively, the examiner cites here Board, which discloses stacking rectangular structures and discloses including inclination to the guide member in the middle of the rectangle (see Figure 2, 4) and discloses using the inclination to stack multiple members. As such, taking the references collectively, it would have been obvious to have modified KR 717 to use an inclination on the guide member as such would have been obvious as a well known method/structure to facilitate stacking. As noted above, the determination of the optimum and appropriate angle would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation.
Claim 11: The dimensions of the surface length are considered a design choice and It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to determine the size of the incline, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 12: The dimensions of the rectangle are considered a design choice and It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to determine the size of the rectangle, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited on PTO 892.
/DAVID P TUROCY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718