DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 132, 091. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present Applications are anticipated by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 132, 091.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2020/0118891) in view of Bao (US 2020/0043808) and Lee (US 2018/0342596).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: a fin structure (Fig.8B, numeral 102) on a substrate (104); nano-sheet layers (108) disposed above the fin structure, wherein the nano-sheet layers are spaced-apart; and a gate structure (Fig.8C, numeral 802) on the fin structure (102) and surrounding the nano-sheet layers (108), wherein the gate structure comprises: a dielectric stack (804) wrapped around the nano-sheet layers (108); a work- function stack wrapped around the dielectric stack ([0074]); a metal layer (802) formed around the work function layer and between each of the nano-sheet layers ([0075]).
Cheng does not disclose (1) that the work function stack is a p-type and an n-type work function layer in contact with the p- type work function stack and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers and that metal layer is formed around the n-type work function layer; (2) that n-type work function layer is aluminum-free.
Regarding element (1), Bao however discloses that the work function stack is a p-type (Fig.5, numeral 512; [0032]); and an n-type work function layer (502) ([0032]) in contact with the p- type work function stack (512) and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers (108a)-(108c) and that metal layer is formed around the n-type work function layer ([0004].
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Bao with Cheng to have the work function stack is a p-type and an n-type work function layer in contact with the p- type work function stack and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers and that metal layer is formed around the n-type work function layer for the purpose of modifying the outer work function metal so as to cause an outer threshold voltage of an outer channel to be within a predefined amount of an inner threshold voltage of an inner channel in the at least one stack. (Bao, [0007]).
Regarding element (2), Lee discloses that n-type work function layer is aluminum free ([0039]; note: NiSi and CoSi).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to modify Bai with Lee to have n-type work function layer as aluminum free for the purpose of achieving a desired work function (Lee, [0039])).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: a nano-sheet channel portion (Fig.8b, numeral 108) disposed between two source/drain stacks (402), wherein the nano-sheet channel portion comprises a plurality of nano-sheet layers (108); a dielectric layer (804)wrapped around each of the plurality of nano-sheet layers (108); a work function layer wrapped around the dielectric layer ([0074]); and a metal fill (802) between two of the plurality of nano-sheet layers (108)
Cheng does not disclose (1) that the work function layer is a p-type and an n-type work function layer in contact with the p- type work function stack and wrapped around the plurality of nano-sheet layers; (2) that n-type work function layer is aluminum-free.
Regarding element (1), Bao however discloses that the work function layer is a p-type (Fig.5, numeral 512; [0032]); and an n-type work function layer (502) ([0032]) in contact with the p- type work function layer (512) and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers (108a)-(108c).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Bao with Cheng to have the work function layer is a p-type and an n-type work function layer in contact with the p- type work function layer and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers for the purpose of modifying the outer work function metal so as to cause an outer threshold voltage of an outer channel to be within a predefined amount of an inner threshold voltage of an inner channel in the at least one stack. (Bao, [0007]).
Regarding element (2), Lee discloses that n-type work function layer is aluminum free ([0039]; note: NiSi and CoSi).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to modify Bai with Lee to have n-type work function layer as aluminum free for the purpose of achieving a desired work function (Lee, [0039])).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: source/drain regions (Fig.8B, numeral 402) on a fin structure (104); a channel portion (108) above the film structure and between the source/drain regions (402), wherein the channel portion comprises nano-sheet layers (108) in contact with the source/drain regions (402); and a gate stack between the source/darin regions, wherein the gate stack comprises a dielectric layer (Fig.8B, numeral 804) wraps around each of the nano-sheet layers (108); a work function layer wrapped around the dielectric layer ([0074]); and a metal fill (802) between two of the nano-sheet layers (108).
Cheng does not disclose (1) that the work function layer is a p-type and an n-type work function layer in contact with the p- type work function stack and wrapped around the plurality of nano-sheet layers; (2) that n-type work function layer is aluminum-free.
Regarding element (1), Bao however discloses that the work function layer is a p-type (Fig.5, numeral 512; [0032]); and an n-type work function layer (502) ([0032]) in contact with the p- type work function layer (512) and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers (108a)-(108c).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Bao with Cheng to have the work function layer is a p-type and an n-type work function layer in contact with the p- type work function layer and wrapped around the nano-sheet layers for the purpose of modifying the outer work function metal so as to cause an outer threshold voltage of an outer channel to be within a predefined amount of an inner threshold voltage of an inner channel in the at least one stack (Bao, [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses an insulating layer (604) surrounding the gate structure; and a spacer (Fig.8B, numeral 302) interposed between the gate structure (802) and the insulating layer, wherein the spacer (302) surrounds a portion of the nano-sheet layers (108).
Regarding claim 3, Boa discloses wherein the p-type work function stack (512) comprises one p-type work function layers ([0037]).
Regarding claims 4 ,10, and 16, Lee discloses wherein the aluminum-free n- type work function layer comprises a metal silicide ([0039]).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17, Lee discloses wherein the aluminum-free n- type work function layer comprises a cobalt silicide, or a nickel silicide ([0039]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, Cheng does not disclose wherein the aluminum-free n- type work function layer has a thickness between about 5 A and about 15 A.
Boa however discloses that the thickness of function layers affects the threshold voltage ([0040]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to have that thickness of aluminum-free n-type work function layer to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization threshold voltage of a channel (Boa, [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses wherein the nano-sheet layers comprise silicon ([0039]).
Regarding claims 8 ,13, and 19, Cheng discloses wherein a spacing between the nano- sheet layers is between about 8 nm and about 12 nm ([0040]).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, Bao discloses wherein the p-type work function layer (Fig. 5, numeral 412) comprises titanium nitride ([0032]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891