DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/767,722 filed on July 9, 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, corresponding to claims 1-11, 13-17, 19, 21, and 22 and Fig. 8, in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5, 19, and 21, reciting the etch stop layer 940 of non-elected Species II are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the conductive structure below the ruthenium metal structure, wherein the ruthenium metal structure is on a top surface of the conductive structure, and the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with a conductive structure in the substrate; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 20 be found allowable, claim 22 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4 and 13 recite “the conductive structure comprises a metal different from a metal of the ruthenium metal structure”, and add new matter to the originally filed specification. There is no disclosure of the specific materials in 110 nor is there any disclosure of the metal in 110 being different than the ruthenium metal structure (see ¶18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oates et al. (US 2007/0057305).
(Re Claim 1) Oates teaches an interconnect layer, comprising (see Fig. 4 and supporting text):
a dielectric layer (201-205) on a substrate (101); and
a ruthenium metal structure (see ¶¶24-30, 301 is formed the same as 111 from 107: Ru), within the dielectric layer, wherein:
the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with sidewall surfaces of the dielectric layer (as shown);
a portion of the dielectric layer adjacent to the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant (201, 205: carbon doped silicon oxide, ¶35); and
top surfaces of the ruthenium metal structure and the dielectric layer are coplanar (Fig. 4).
(Re Claim 2) wherein the ruthenium metal structure is a ruthenium metal liner, and wherein the interconnect layer further comprises a copper metal structure within the dielectric layer and surrounded by the ruthenium metal liner (Fig. 4, 309 is Cu, ¶40).
(Re Claim 3) further comprising a conductive structure below the ruthenium metal structure, wherein the ruthenium metal structure is on a top surface of the conductive structure (Fig. 4, conductive structure 109).
(Re Claim 6) wherein the dopant comprises carbon (C), boron (B), phosphorous (P), oxygen (O), silicon (Si), argon (Ar), germanium (Ge), arsenic (As), or xenon (Xe) (¶35: C).
(Re Claim 9) wherein the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with a conductive structure in the substrate (Fig. 4, conductive structure 109).
(Re Claim 10) Oates teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising (see Fig. 4 and supporting text):
a substrate comprising a conductive structure (101, 109);
a dielectric layer (201-205) on the substrate; and
a ruthenium metal structure (301) within the dielectric layer and in contact with the conductive structure, wherein: at least one of the dielectric layer (¶35: carbon doped silicon oxide) and the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant; and top surfaces of the ruthenium metal structure and the dielectric layer are coplanar (Fig. 4).
(Re Claim 11) wherein the ruthenium metal structure is a ruthenium metal liner, and wherein the semiconductor structure further comprises a copper metal structure within the dielectric layer and surrounded by the ruthenium metal liner (Fig. 4, 309 is Cu, ¶40).
(Re Claim 14) wherein the dopant comprises carbon (C), boron (B), phosphorous (P), oxygen (O), silicon (Si), argon (Ar), germanium (Ge), arsenic (As), or xenon (Xe), (¶35: C).
Claims 16, 17, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joi et al. (US 2018/0374747).
(Re Claim 16) Joi teaches an interconnect structure, comprising (Figs. 13A-13C and supporting text): a dielectric layer (164) on a conductive structure (160); and a ruthenium metal structure (210) extending through the dielectric layer and in contact with the conductive structure, wherein: the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with sidewall surfaces of the dielectric layer; and a portion of the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant (¶101: Zn).
(Claims 20 and 22) wherein a concentration of the dopant is equal to or greater than about 1 x1012 atoms/cm3 (¶101: 1-30 atomic %, 1 atomic % is on the order of ~5x1020/cm3).
(Re Claim 16, alternative mapping) Joi teaches an interconnect structure, comprising (Figs. 12A-12F and supporting text): a dielectric layer (164) on a conductive structure (160+180); and a ruthenium metal structure (¶83: 200+202, 200 is incorrectly labeled 202 in Fig. 12C) extending through the dielectric layer and in contact with the conductive structure, wherein: the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with sidewall surfaces of the dielectric layer; and a portion of the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant (portion 202 comprises Zn, ¶94).
(Re Claim 17) wherein the ruthenium metal structure is a ruthenium metal liner (200+202), and wherein the interconnect structure further comprises a copper metal structure (204) within the dielectric layer and surrounded by the ruthenium metal liner.
(Claims 20 and 22) wherein a concentration of the dopant is equal to or greater than about 1 x1012 atoms/cm3 (¶94: 1-5 atomic %, 1 atomic % is on the order of ~5x1020/cm3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oates et al. as applied above, and further in view of Plekhanov et al. (US 2014/0151889).
(Re Claims 7 and 15) wherein a concentration of the dopant is equal to or greater than about 1x 1012 atoms/cm3.
Oates is silent regarding the concertation of carbon in the carbon doped silicon oxide ILD layer. A PHOSITA desiring to make and use Oates’ invention would be motivated to look to related art to teach suitable, working concentration of carbon in the disclosed film. Related art from Plekhanov teaches carbon doped silicon oxide ILD layers may comprise 15-30% or greater carbon concentration (¶23), a range considerably greater than 1012 atoms/cm3. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to select a known, working, carbon concentration from the prior art to use in Oates’ device. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oates et al. (US 2007/0057305) in view of Ramappa et al. (US 2009/0227087).
(Re Claim 1) Oates teaches an interconnect layer, comprising (see Fig. 4 and supporting text):
a dielectric layer (201-205) on a substrate (101); and
a ruthenium metal structure (see ¶¶24-30, 301 is formed the same as 111 from 107: Ru), within the dielectric layer, wherein:
the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with sidewall surfaces of the dielectric layer (as shown);
a portion of the dielectric layer adjacent to the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant (201, 205); and
top surfaces of the ruthenium metal structure and the dielectric layer are coplanar (Fig. 4).
Oates is silent regarding a portion of the dielectric layer adjacent to the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant. A PHOSITA desiring to make, use, and improve upon Oates’ interconnect structure would be motivated to look to related art to teach process alternatives that result in improvements. Related art from Ramappa teaches CMP uniformity, in particular due to dishing and erosion is a well-known issue, particularly in interconnects due to the different polishing rates of metals vs. dielectrics, different pattern densities, etc. (¶¶3-11). In order to improve the CMP uniformity, Ramappa (see Figs 7-9, abstract, and ¶¶ 41-56) performs an ion implant into the upper surfaces of both the metal feature (overburden) and the ILD layer (see Fig. 9, ¶¶55-56) to damage the upper surface and make it more amorphous which makes the material removal easier and more uniform. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to apply Ramappa’s ion implant process to Oates’ interconnect structure, at a stage after filling the vias with copper, in order to improve the CMP uniformity. In doing so, both the upper surface of the metal structure and the ILD layer will contain dopants.
(Re Claim 2) wherein the ruthenium metal structure is a ruthenium metal liner, and wherein the interconnect layer further comprises a copper metal structure within the dielectric layer and surrounded by the ruthenium metal liner (Fig. 4, 309 is Cu, ¶40).
(Re Claim 3) further comprising a conductive structure below the ruthenium metal structure, wherein the ruthenium metal structure is on a top surface of the conductive structure (Fig. 4, conductive structure 109).
(Re Claim 6) wherein the dopant comprises carbon (C), boron (B), phosphorous (P), oxygen (O), silicon (Si), argon (Ar), germanium (Ge), arsenic (As), or xenon (Xe) (Ramappa: ¶¶52,55).
(Re Claim 9) wherein the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with a conductive structure in the substrate (Fig. 4, conductive structure 109).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oates et al. in view of Ramappa et al., as applied above, and further in view of Adem et al. (US 2007/0020919).
(Re Claim 7) wherein a concentration of the dopant is equal to or greater than about 1x 1012 atoms/cm3.
(Re Claim 8) wherein the ruthenium metal structure comprises the dopant at a concentration equal to or greater than about 1x 1012 atoms/cm3.
While Ramappa is silent regarding the concentration, a dose on the order of 1014-1016 is disclosed (¶43) and according to the thicknesses disclosed in view of Fig. 9 ~50 nm of 1404 + a smaller thickness of the surface at 1400, conservatively assuming another 50 nm for a total implanted thickness of ~100 nm, this provides a concentration on the order of ~1019-1021/cm3. For an even more conservative thickness estimate of 10 µm, this is still on the order of ~1017-1019/cm3, all well within the claimed range. A PHOSITA may be motivated to look to related art to teach resulting concentrations when an amorphization implant is performed and Adem notes the concentration used is 1012-1017/cm3 (the units of cm2 in ¶25 are understood to be a typo since concentrations are always atoms/cm3). Regardless, the effective concentration is a result effective variable, obvious to optimize and ascertainable through routine experimentation (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). Too small of a dose and resulting concentration would not be effective at amorphizing the metal and have little effect, while too high of a concentration would cause undesirable damage and agglomerated or precipitated dopant phases.
Claims 16, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joi et al. (US 2018/0374747).
(Re Claim 16) Joi teaches an interconnect structure, comprising (Figs. 12A-12F and supporting text): a dielectric layer (164) on a conductive structure (160+180); and a ruthenium metal structure (¶83: 200, incorrectly labeled 202 in Fig. 12C) extending through the dielectric layer and in contact with the conductive structure, wherein: the ruthenium metal structure is in contact with sidewall surfaces of the dielectric layer; and a portion of the ruthenium metal structure comprises a dopant (discussed below).
In this embodiment, Joi deposits a CuZn layer 202 over the Ru layer 200 in Fig. 12D, and then subsequently performs an anneal to drive Zn into 164 in region 206, see ¶¶93-99. Based on this process, it is obvious and inherent, that at least some of the Zn diffusing through layer 200 into 164 will be incorporated in the Ru layer 200 as well, although not expressly stated. This will flow naturally from the diffusion caused by the annealing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,450,565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 17-20 encompass all of the limitations of the claims noted above in the instant application. The only difference being the liner contacting the dielectric, however this would be obvious to a PHOSITA and obvious in view of the limitations recited in claim 17 as this is how well-known diffusion barrier liners are used in conventional ILD layers of interconnect structures and there are no embodiments in the disclosure wherein the liner is used and does not contact the dielectric, claims are interpreted in light of the specification teaching conventional use of a conventional liner that is in contact with, i.e. lining the opening in the ILD layer. Also, see Oates et al. (US 2007/0057305), and Joi et al. (US 2018/0374747), each teaching conventional Ru liners in contact with the ILD layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited art teaches related interconnect structures and dopants in dielectric and metal layers.
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898