DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, lines 7-8, the limitation “the dummy conductive pattern and electrically isolated from the first die” renders the claim indefinite. it is not clear where “the dummy conductive pattern” comes from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Im et al [US 9,978,661].
With respect to claim 1, Im et al (fig. 17B) disclose a semiconductor package, comprising:
a first die (120, col. 9, lines 22-23);
a plurality of through vias (412, col. 23, lines 20-35) surrounding the first die; and
a thermal conductive pattern (412, col. 23, lines 20-35) surrounding the first die, wherein the thermal conductive pattern is disposed between and electrically isolated from the first die and the through vias.
With respect to claim 5, Im et al (fig. 16G) disclose wherein the thermal conductive pattern comprises (412, col. 23, lines 20-35) a plurality of discrete wall-shaped structures.
With respect to claim 6, Im et al (fig. 6B) disclose wherein the thermal conductive pattern (140) comprises a wall-shaped structure continuously extending along sidewalls of the first die.
With respect to claim 7, Im et al (fig. 17B) disclose an encapsulant (130, col. 9, lines 32-49) encapsulating the first die, the through vias and the thermal conductive pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al [US 9,978,661] in view of Park et al [US 2010/0207262].
With respect to claim 2, Im et al do not mention wherein the thermal conductive pattern comprises a plurality of thermal conductive through vias arranged along at least one ring-shaped path surrounding the first die. However, Park et al (figs. 1 and 3) disclose the thermal conductive pattern (106, pp [0037]-[0038]) comprises a plurality of thermal conductive through vias arranged along at least one ring-shaped path surrounding the first die (302, pp [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to combine the teaching of Park et al into the device of Im et al since
the shape, size, dimension differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 3, Park et al (figs. 1 and 3) disclose wherein at least one of the thermal conductive through vias (106, pp [0037]-[0038]) and at least one of the through vias are disposed along a line substantially parallel to a sidewall of the first die.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose a first thermal conductive pattern, disposed between the first die and the second die; and a second thermal conductive pattern, disposed between the first die and the through vias, wherein the first thermal conductive pattern and the second thermal conductive pattern are thermally coupled.
Conclusion
/HOAI V PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892