DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 and 05/28/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 4 of claim 1 recites “ a passivation layer disposed on the metal features 106”.
Line 11 of claim 11 recites “a first bonding recess 122 formed in a top surface of the landing region and that overlaps with the contact region in a vertical direction”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,728,301 in view of Yang (US 2019/0131277) for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1 of the pending application, US Patent teaches a first die (col. 14, line 8) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (col. 14, line 9);
a first interconnect structure (col. 14, line 10) disposed on the semiconductor substrate;
a passivation layer (refer to passivation layer on col. 14, line 12) disposed on the first interconnect structure (refer to first interconnect structure); and
a test pad disposed on the passivation layer (see col. 14 line 14), the test pad comprising:
a test region (see claim 7);
a landing region that extends from test region in a first horizontal direction (see claim 7);
a contact region that electrically connects a bottom surface of the landing region to one of the metal features (see col. 14, lines 15-17); and
a bonding recess formed in a top surface of the landing region and that overlaps with the contact region in a vertical direction (see col. 14, lines 17-20).
US Patent does not explicitly mention the interconnect structure comprising: metal features
Yang teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein Fig. 2 shows the interconnect structure comprising: metal features (refer to 204).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include metal features as the interconnect structure as taught by Yang in the teaching of US Patent so that the metal features of the interconnect structure provide electrical connect the different electrode regions and route signal.
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding recess is configured to receive a bonding pad structure that is configured to electrically connect the first die to another die (see claim 1, col. 14, lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 3 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches a bonding pad structure directly contacting at least a portion of the bonding recess and configured to electrically connect the first die to another die (see claim 1, col. 14, lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 4 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding pad structure directly contacts from 0.1% to 100% of the bonding recess (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 5 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding pad structure directly contacts from 50% to 100% of the bonding recess (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 6 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding pad structure comprises: a bonding via structure that directly contacts the bonding recess; and a bonding pad that is disposed on the bonding via structure and is electrically connected to the second die (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 7 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding recess has a concave surface and is configured to decrease electrical contact resistance between the test pad and the bonding pad structure (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 8 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the test pad is formed of a material having a higher electrical resistance than a material used to form the bonding pad structure (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 9 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the test pad is formed of a material having a higher electrical resistance than a material used to form the bonding pad structure (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 10 of the pending application, US Patent teaches a semiconductor package (see claim 13’s preamble) comprising:
a first die (see col. 15, line 8) comprising:
a first semiconductor substrate (see col. 15, line 9);
a first interconnect structure disposed on the first semiconductor substrate (col. 15, lines 10-11);
a passivation layer disposed on the first interconnect structure (see col. 15, line 13); and
a test pad disposed on the passivation layer (see col 15, lines 14-15), the test pad comprising:
a contact region that electrically connects a bottom surface of the landing region to one of the metal features (see col. 15, lines 15-17); and
a bonding recess formed in a top surface of the landing region and that overlaps with the contact region in a vertical direction (see col. 15, lines 17-20);
a second die disposed on the first die (see col. 15, lines 21-22) and comprising
a second test pad (see col. 15, lines 28-29); and
a bonding pad structure that electrically connects the first bonding recess to a second bonding recess of the second test pad (see col. 35-38).
US Patent does not explicitly mention the interconnect structure comprising: metal features; and the test pad comprising: a first test region; and a landing region that extends from test region in a first horizontal direction.
Yang teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein Fig. 2 shows the interconnect structure comprising: metal features (refer to 204); and the test pad comprising: a first test region; and a landing region that extends from test region in a first horizontal direction (see notation below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include metal features as the interconnect structure and the test pad comprising: a first test region; and a landing region that extends from test region in a first horizontal direction as taught by Yang in the teaching of US Patent so that the metal features of the interconnect structure provide electrical connect the different electrode regions and route signal and the test region and the horizontal portion of the test pad are to provide a larger footprint and controlled overlap rather than requiring the probe contact area itself to sit directly over the interconnect.
Regarding claim 11 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teaches all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding pad structure directly contacts from 0.1% to 100% of the bonding recess (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 12 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding pad structure comprises: a bonding via structure that directly contacts the first bonding recess; and a bonding pad that is disposed on the bonding via structure and is electrically connected to the second die (see claim 15).
Regarding claim 13 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches a die bonding structure comprising: a first bonding layer that covers the first die; and a second bonding layer that covers the second die and is bonded to the first bonding layer (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 16 of the pending application, US Patent and Yang teach all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the second die comprises: a second semiconductor substrate; a second interconnect structure disposed on the second semiconductor substrate; and a second passivation layer disposed on the second interconnect structure and under the second test pad, wherein the second test pad comprises a second contact region that extends through the second passivation layer and electrically contacts the second interconnect structure, and a second bonding recess that overlaps with the second contact region in the vertical direction (see claim 13, col. 14, lines 23-34).
Claims 17 and 18- 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,728,301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 17 of the pending application, US Patent teaches a first die (see claim 1’s preamble) comprising:
semiconductor devices (refer to first die and a second die as claimed in claim 1);
an interconnect structure (refer to a first interconnect structure) configured to electrically connect the semiconductor devices (refer to the first die and the second die as claimed in claim 1); and
a test pad disposed on the interconnect structure (see col. 14, lines 12- 14), the test pad comprising:
a contact region that is electrically connected to the interconnect structure (claim 1, col. 14, line 15);
a test region (claim 7); and
a bonding recess that overlaps with the contact region (see claim 1, col. 14, lines 16-17).
Regarding claim 18 of the pending application, US Patent teaches all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding recess is configured to receive a bonding pad structure that is configured to electrically connect the first die to another die (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 19 of the pending application, US Patent teaches all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the bonding recess has a concave surface and is configured to decrease electrical contact resistance between the test pad and a bonding pad structure configured to connect the first die to another die (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 20 of the pending application, US Patent teaches all the limitations for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, US Patent teaches the test region is wider than the landing region and is configured to contact a test probe (see claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20190131277).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches a first die in fig. 1A-D comprising:
semiconductor devices (100 and 200);
an interconnect structure (204/215 and 104/115) configured to electrically connect the semiconductor devices (100/200); and
a test pad (112) disposed on the interconnect structure (108b), the test pad comprising:
a contact region (refer to contact region where it is connected to the metal features 108b) that is electrically connected to the interconnect structure;
a test region (refer to test region 114b); and
a bonding recess that overlaps with the contact region.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “the bonding via structure extends through the first bonding layer and an interconnect planarization layer; and the bonding pad extends through the second bonding layer and contacts a second interconnect structure of the second die” in combination of all of the limitations of claim 14. Claim 15 includes all the limitations of claim 14.
Conclusion
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818