DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 431, 428. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present Applications are anticipated by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 431, 428.
Present Application
U.S. Patent No. 12, 431, 428
Claim 1
Claims 1, 2, 3
Claim 2
Claim 4
Claim 11
Claim 18
Claim 17
Claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liebmann (US 2021/0118798).
Regarding claim 1, Liebmann discloses an integrated circuit, comprising: a first power rail (130); (291) at a first side of the integrated circuit (100); (200); a second power rail at a second side of the integrated circuit (100); (200), the first and second sides being on opposite sides of at least one complementary field effect transistor (CFET) ([0043]; Fig.4); and a via wall (120) ([0042]) coupled between the first power rail (291) and the second power rail (292) and configured to provide a power voltage from the first power rail to the second power rail (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 2, Liebmann discloses a first metal layer (Fig.1, numerals 101/102) at the first side; and a second metal layer (190) at the second side, wherein: the first power rail (130); (291) is in the first metal layer at the first side; the second power rail (Fig.2, numeral 292) is in the second metal layer at the second side; the first side is a back side of the integrated circuit (100); (200); and the second side is a front side of the integrated circuit (100); (200).
Regarding claim 11, Liebmann discloses an integrated circuit, comprising: a pair of complementary field effect transistors (CFETs) ([0043]; [0060]; Figs. 1 and 5); a first power rail (130)/(291) at a first side of the integrated circuit (100)/(200); a second power rail (150)/(292) at a second side of the integrated circuit (100)/(200), the first and second sides being on opposite sides of the pair of CFETs; and a via wall (102) coupled between the first power rail (130)/(291) and the second power rail (150)/(291), disposed between the pair of CFETs ([0043]; [0060]), and configured to provide a power voltage from the first power rail to the second power rail (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Liebmann discloses an integrated circuit, comprising: a plurality of pairs of complementary field effect transistors (CFETs) ([0043]; [0060]; Figs. 1 and 5); a first plurality of power rails (130)/(291) at a first side of the integrated circuit; a second plurality of power rails (150)/(292) at a second side of the integrated circuit, the first and second sides being on opposite sides of the plurality of pairs of CFETs; and a plurality of via walls (265) (Fig.5) respectively coupled between one of the first plurality of power rails (294) and one of the second plurality of power rails, and configured to provide a power voltage from the first plurality of power rails to the second plurality of power rails (130)/(291) (Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Liebmann discloses the plurality of via walls (265) includes first and second via walls, the second via wall is spaced from the first via wall along a direction ([0016]), and the first and second via walls are configured to provide the power voltage from corresponding ones of the first plurality of power rails to corresponding ones of the second plurality of power rails ([0046]; Fig.1, numeral 160).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 12, 14-16, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the first CFET is coupled between the first metal line and the second power rail; the second CFET is coupled between the second metal line and the second power rail; and the via wall is disposed between the first and second CFETs as required by claim 3.
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest a first of the pair of CFETs is coupled between the first metal line and the second power rail; and a second of the pair of CFETs is coupled between the second metal line and the second power rail as required by claim 12.
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the third via wall is spaced from the first via wall along a second direction, the second direction being different from the first direction; and the third via wall is configured to provide the power voltage from corresponding one of the first plurality of power rails to corresponding one of the second plurality of power rails as required by claim 19.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891