Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1-12 are pending.
An action on the merits for claims 1-12 follows.
Priority Claims
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). However, should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)- (d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following titled is suggested: Semiconductor Device Comprising Inductor Module and Manufacturing Method Thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20240006308 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a semiconductor device ("integrated passive device," (201); Fig. 2 (profile cross-sectional view), Paragraph [0032]), comprising:
a carrier structure ("die substrate," (200); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0032]);
a first wiring layer (layer including "dielectric layer," (220) and "interconnect," (221); Paragraph [0032]) formed on the carrier structure (200);
a bottom routing layer (layer including "interconnect," (222); Paragraph [0032]) formed on the carrier structure (200);
a plurality of conductive pillars ("interconnect," (232); Paragraph [0032]) disposed on the carrier structure (200) and electrically connected to the first wiring layer (220, 221) and the bottom routing layer (222);
an encapsulation layer ("magnetic layer," (240); Paragraph [0032]) formed on the first wiring layer (220, 221) and the bottom routing layer (222) and covering the plurality of conductive pillars (232), wherein the encapsulation layer (240) includes a magnetic material ("may include various magnetic materials;" Paragraph [0036]);
a top routing layer (layer including "interconnect," (251); Paragraph [0032]) formed on the encapsulation layer (240); and
a second wiring layer (layer including "dielectric layer," (260) and "interconnect," (261); Paragraph [0032]) formed on the encapsulation layer (240),
wherein the plurality of conductive pillars (232) are electrically connected to the top routing layer (251) and the second wiring layer (260, 261), wherein the bottom routing layer (222), the plurality of conductive pillars (232), and the top routing layer (251) constitute a conductor structure ("interconnects," (202); Paragraph [0034]), and the conductor structure (202) and the encapsulation layer (240) confined by the conductor structure (202) constitute an inductor module ("may be configured to operate as an inductor;" Paragraph [0034]).
(Note: Figs. 3, 8 also shows a plan view of a semiconductor device that is substantially similar to Fig. 2.)
Regarding Claim 3, Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein each of the first wiring layer (220, 221), the bottom routing layer (222), the top routing layer (251), and the second wiring layer (260, 261) is a redistribution layer ("plurality of interconnects 202 may include [221, 222, 251, 261];" Paragraph [0032]; "may include a plurality of redistribution interconnects;" Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first wiring layer (220, 221) includes a first insulator ("dielectric layer," (220); Paragraph [0032]) and a plurality of first conductive wirings ("interconnect," (221); Paragraph [0032]) bonded to the first insulator (220), the bottom routing layer (222) includes a plurality of bottom wirings (plurality of (222); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0032]), the top routing layer (251) includes a plurality of top wirings (plurality of (251); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0032]), and the second wiring layer (260, 261) includes a second insulator ("dielectric layer," (260); Paragraph [0032]) and a plurality of second conductive wirings (interconnect," (261); Paragraph [0032]) bonded to the second insulator (260).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein each of the conducive pillars (232) has a first end portion (1st End; Annotated Fig. 2) and a second end portion (2nd End; Annotated Fig. 2) opposing the first end portion (1st End), the first end portions (1st End) are optionally electrically connected to the plurality of bottom wirings (222) and/or the plurality of first conductive wirings (221), and the second end portions (2nd End) are optionally electrically connected to the plurality of top wirings (251) and/or the plurality of second conductive wirings (261).
(Note: herein (and in reference to claim 11) the term “optionally is interpreted to mean as referring to the option of selecting either or both options delineated by the “and/or” and that the end portion must be electrically connected to at least one of them.
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the encapsulation layer (240) has a first surface (1st Surface; Annotated Fig. 2) and a second surface (2nd Surface; Annotated Fig. 2) opposing the first surface (1st Surface), the encapsulation layer (240) is disposed on the first wiring layer (220, 221) and the bottom routing layer (222) via the first surface (1st Surface) thereof, and the plurality of conductive pillars (232) are exposed out from the second surface (2nd Surface) of the encapsulation layer (240).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (“integrated passive device,” (201); Figs. 2, 12A-12E, Paragraph [0079]; “the sequence may be used to provide or fabricate […] the integrated passive device 201” as in Fig. 2), the method comprising:
providing a carrier structure (“die substrate,” (200); Fig. 12A, Paragraph [0081]);
forming a first wiring layer (layer including "dielectric layer," (220) and "interconnect," (221); Paragraphs [0082, 0083]),
a bottom routing layer (layer including "interconnect," (222); Fig. 12B, Paragraph [0084]), and
a plurality of conductive pillars ("interconnect," (232); Paragraph [0084]) on the carrier structure (200), and electrically connecting the plurality of conductive pillars (232) to the first wiring layer (layer including 220, 221) and the bottom routing layer (layer including 222);
forming an encapsulation layer ("magnetic layer," (240); Fig. 12C, Paragraph [0086]) covering the plurality of conductive pillars (232) on the first wiring layer (220, 221) and the bottom routing layer (222), wherein the encapsulation layer (240) includes a magnetic material (“magnetic layer;” Paragraph [0086]); and
forming a top routing layer (layer including "interconnect," (251); Fig. 12D, Paragraph [0089]) and
a second wiring layer (layer including "dielectric layer," (260) and "interconnect," (261); Figs. 12D-12E, Paragraphs [0089, 0090]) on the encapsulation layer (240), and
electrically connecting the plurality of conductive pillars (232) to the top routing layer (251) and the second wiring layer (260, 261), wherein the bottom routing layer (222), the plurality of conductive pillars (232), and the top routing layer (251) constitute a conductor structure ("interconnects," (202); Paragraph [0034]), and the conductor structure (202) and the encapsulation layer (240) confined by the conductor structure (202) constitute an inductor module ("may be configured to operate as an inductor;" Paragraph [0034]; “the sequence may be used to provide or fabricate […] the integrated passive device 201;” Paragraph [0079]).
(Note: Figs. 2, 3, 8 also shows views of a semiconductor device that is substantially similar to the method process of Figs. 12A-12E)
Regarding Claim 9, Liu teaches the method of claim 7, wherein each of the first wiring layer (220, 221), the bottom routing layer (222), the top routing layer (251), and the second wiring layer (260, 261) is a redistribution layer ("plurality of interconnects 202 may include [221, 222, 251, 261];" Paragraph [0032]; "may include a plurality of redistribution interconnects;" Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the first wiring layer (220, 221) includes a first insulator ("dielectric layer," (220); Paragraph [0032]) and a plurality of first conductive wirings ("interconnect," (221); Paragraph [0032]) bonded to the first insulator (220), the bottom routing layer (222) includes a plurality of bottom wirings (plurality of (222); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0032]), the top routing layer (251) includes a plurality of top wirings (plurality of (251); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0032]), and the second wiring layer (260, 261) includes a second insulator ("dielectric layer," (260); Paragraph [0032]) and a plurality of second conductive wirings (interconnect," (261); Paragraph [0032]) bonded to the second insulator (260).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu teaches the method of claim 10, wherein each of the conducive pillars (232) has a first end portion (1st End; Annotated Fig. 2) and a second end portion (2nd End; Annotated Fig. 2) opposing the first end portion (1st End), the first end portions (1st End) are optionally electrically connected to the plurality of bottom wirings (222) and/or the plurality of first conductive wirings (221), and the second end portions (2nd End) are optionally electrically connected to the plurality of top wirings (251) and/or the plurality of second conductive wirings (261). (Note: Annotated Fig. 2 shows a device made by the same method as in Figs. 12A-12E; Paragraph [0079])
Regarding Claim 12, Liu teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the encapsulation layer (240) has a first surface (1st Surface; Annotated Fig. 2) and a second surface (2nd Surface; Annotated Fig. 2) opposing the first surface (1st Surface), the encapsulation layer (240) is disposed on the first wiring layer (220, 221) and the bottom routing layer (222) via the first surface (1st Surface) thereof, and the plurality of conductive pillars (232) are exposed out from the second surface (2nd Surface) of the encapsulation layer (240). (Note: Annotated Fig. 2 shows a device made by the same method as in Figs. 12A-12E; Paragraph [0079])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yu et al. (US 20190035877 A1), hereinafter Yu
Regarding Claim 2, Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first wiring layer is electrically connected to the carrier structure.
Yu teaches at least a semiconductor device ("wafer package structure," (20); Figs. 2A-2E, Paragraph [0028]) wherein the first wiring layer ("redistribution layer," (210); Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0023]) is electrically connected to the carrier structure ("carrier," (202); Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0022]; they are electrically connected by the "metallization pattern," (212); Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Yu with the device of Liu such that the first wiring layer is electrically connected to the carrier structure. Since the first wiring layer is part of an inductor module (or made of an inductor pattern Paragraph [0022]), being electrically connected to the carrier has the added benefit of allowing the inductor to be electrically connected to the rest of the semiconductor chip/package on the carrier. This allows the inductor module to function as part of a larger device (Paragraphs [0022, 0034, 0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches the method of claim 7.
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first wiring layer is electrically connected to the carrier structure.
Yu teaches at least a method for forming a semiconductor device ("wafer package structure," (20); Figs. 2A-2E, Paragraph [0028]) wherein the first wiring layer ("redistribution layer," (210); Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0023]) is electrically connected to the carrier structure ("carrier," (202); Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0022]; they are electrically connected by the "metallization pattern," (212); Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Yu with the device of Liu such that the first wiring layer is electrically connected to the carrier structure. Since the first wiring layer is part of an inductor module (or made of an inductor pattern Paragraph [0022]), being electrically connected to the carrier has the added benefit of allowing the inductor to be electrically connected to the rest of the semiconductor chip/package on the carrier. This allows the inductor module to function as part of a larger device (Paragraphs [0022, 0034, 0035]).
Conclusion
/NOLAN G STUESSY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893