DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 12 such as “depositing the oxide layer between the plurality of hard mask mandrels” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “depositing the oxide layer between the plurality of hard mask mandrels.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how this step could be performed, because “the oxide layer” is already formed on the substrate as recited in the parent claim 9.
Claim 13 is indefinite due to it dependance on indefinite claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schultz (US 2018/0286942).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz discloses a method, comprising: forming an oxide layer (Fig.1, numeral 104) on a substrate (102); forming a plurality of oxide mandrels (Fig.2, upper part of (104)) on the oxide layer (104); depositing a first metal layer (Fig.5, numeral 510) on the plurality of oxide mandrels (upper part of (104)) and the oxide layer (104); depositing a dielectric layer (Fig.6, numeral 610) on the first metal layer (510); and forming a second metal layer (620) on the dielectric layer (610).
Regarding claim 2, Schultz discloses forming a first interconnect structure (Fig.10, numeral 1020) electrically connected to the first metal layer (510); and forming a second interconnect structure (1022) electrically connected to the second metal layer (610) ([0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Schultz discloses wherein depositing the first metal layer comprises depositing a metal on top and side surfaces of the plurality of oxide mandrels (Fig. 5, numeral 510).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz discloses wherein forming the dielectric layer comprises depositing a high-k dielectric material on top and side surfaces of the first metal layer (510) ([0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Schultz discloses forming the second metal layer comprises: depositing a metal (Fig.7, numeral 620) on the dielectric layer ([0035]); and removing the deposited metal outside an area of the plurality of oxide mandrels (Fig.8) ([0036]).
Claim(s) 1 ,7, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)/(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng (US 2015/0295020).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng discloses a method, comprising: forming an oxide layer (Fig. 4, numeral 110) on a substrate (210); forming a plurality of oxide mandrels (upper part of (110)) on the oxide layer (110); depositing a first metal layer (402) on the plurality of oxide mandrels (upper part of (110)) and the oxide layer (110); depositing a dielectric layer (404) on the first metal layer (402); and forming a second metal layer (40) on the dielectric layer (404).
Regarding claim 7, Tseng discloses forming a capping layer (408) on the second metal layer (406).
Regarding claim 9, Tseng discloses a method, comprising: forming a capacitor structure (101) (Fig.4, numerals 402-406) on a substrate (210), wherein forming the capacitor structure comprises: forming an oxide layer (Fig.4, numeral 110) on the substrate (210); forming a plurality of oxide mandrels (upper part of (110)) on the oxide layer (110); depositing a first metal layer (402) on the plurality of oxide mandrels ([0034]); depositing a dielectric layer (404) on the first metal layer (402); and forming a second metal layer (406) on the dielectric layer (404); forming a capping layer (408) on the capacitor structure; forming an intermetallic dielectric layer ([0017]; numeral 116)) on the capacitor structure and the capping layer (408); and forming one or more interconnect structures (120a) ; (120b) in the intermetallic dielectric layer (116) and electrically connected to the capacitor structure (101).
Regarding claim 14, Tseng discloses wherein forming the first metal layer comprises depositing a metal (Fig.4, numeral 402) on top and side surfaces of the plurality of oxide mandrels (110).
Regarding claim 15, Tseng discloses wherein forming the dielectric layer comprises depositing a high-k dielectric material on top and side surfaces of the first metal layer ([0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 2018/0286942) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ting (US 2007/0059879).
Regarding claim 3, Schutz discloses wherein forming the plurality of oxide mandrels comprises: depositing a mask layer (Fig.1, numeral 106) on the oxide layer (104); etching the mask layer (Fig.1, numeral 120) to form a plurality of mask mandrels; etching the oxide layer between the plurality of mask mandrels (Fig. 2, numeral 210); and removing the plurality of mask mandrels (Fig.3).
Schultz does not disclose that the mask is a hard mask.
Ting however discloses that the mask is a hard mask (Fig.4A, numeral P; [0042]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Shultz with Ting to have the mask as a hard mask because this is a typical material for forming mask layers.
Regarding claim 4, Ting discloses wherein removing the plurality of hard mask mandrels comprises performing a wet etch process on the plurality of hard mask mandrels ([0043]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Schultz.
Regarding claim 10, Tseng does not disclose forming the second metal layer comprises: depositing a metal on the dielectric layer and removing the deposited metal outside an area of the plurality of oxide mandrels.
Schultz however discloses depositing a metal (Fig.7, numeral 620) on the dielectric layer (510); and removing the deposited metal outside an area of the plurality of oxide mandrels (Fig.8).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was filed to modify Tseng with Schultz to deposit a metal on the dielectric layer and removing the deposited metal outside an area of the plurality of oxide mandrels for the purpose of placement a connecting via (Schultz, [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Schultz discloses wherein removing the deposited metal outside the area of the plurality of oxide mandrels comprises performing an etching process on the deposited metal ([0036]).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Schultz and Ting.
Regarding claim 12, Tseng does not disclose wherein forming the plurality of oxide mandrels on the oxide layer comprises: depositing a hard mask layer on the oxide layer; etching the hard mask layer to form a plurality of hard mask mandrels; depositing the oxide layer between the plurality of hard mask mandrels; and removing the plurality of hard mask mandrels.
Shultz however discloses wherein forming the plurality of oxide mandrels comprises: depositing a mask layer (Fig.1, numeral 106) on the oxide layer (104); etching the mask layer (Fig.1, numeral 120) to form a plurality of mask mandrels; etching the oxide layer between the plurality of mask mandrels (Fig. 2, numeral 210); and depositing the oxide layer (Fig, 10, numeral 1010) between the plurality of mask mandrels; removing the plurality of mask mandrels (Fig.3).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Tseng with Schultz to deposit a mask layer on the oxide layer; etching the mask layer to form a plurality of mask mandrels; etching the oxide layer between the plurality of mask mandrels; and removing the plurality of mask mandrels for the purpose of efficiently fabricate a MIM capacitor (Schultz, [0003]; [0004]).
Tseng in view of Schultz does not disclose that and the mask is a hard mask
Ting however discloses that the mask is a hard mask (Fig.4A, numeral P; [0042]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Shultz with Ting to have the mask as a hard mask because this is a typical material for forming mask layers.
Claims 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng (US 2018/0068978) in view of Tseng.
Regarding claim 16, Jeng discloses a method, comprising: forming a redistribution layer (Fig.2B, numeral 20) comprising solder bumps (26); and forming an interposer structure (36) electrically connected to the redistribution layer (20), wherein forming the interposer structure comprises: forming a capacitor structure on a substrate (10) ([0031]), forming one or more dies (30) on the substrate (10); and depositing an additional dielectric layer (Fig.2C, numeral 40) surrounding the one or more dies (30) and the first and second interconnect structures (36C) of the capacitor structure (36).
Jeng does not disclose wherein the capacitor structure comprises: an oxide layer comprising a plurality of oxide mandrels; a first metal layer on the plurality of oxide mandrels; a dielectric layer over the first metal layer; a second metal layer over the dielectric layer; a first interconnect structure extending through the dielectric layer and electrically connected to the first metal layer; and a second interconnect structure electrically connected to the second metal layer.
Tseng however discloses wherein the capacitor structure comprises: an oxide layer comprising a plurality of oxide mandrels (Fig.4, upper parts of (110)); a first metal layer (402) on the plurality of oxide mandrels (110); a dielectric layer (404) over the first metal layer (402); a second metal layer (406) over the dielectric layer (110); a first interconnect structure (120a) extending through the dielectric layer (404) and electrically connected to the first metal layer (402); and a second interconnect structure (120b) electrically connected to the second metal layer (406).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Jeng with Tseng to have the capacitor structure comprises: an oxide layer comprising a plurality of oxide mandrels; a first metal layer on the plurality of oxide mandrels; a dielectric layer over the first metal layer; a second metal layer over the dielectric layer; a first interconnect structure extending through the dielectric layer and electrically connected to the first metal layer; and a second interconnect structure electrically connected to the second metal layer for the purpose of fabrication a MIM capacitor (Tseng, [0017]).
Regarding claim 17, Tseng discloses forming a capping layer (408) on the dielectric layer (404) and the second metal layer (406), wherein the capping layer (408) is in contact with the dielectric layer (404).
Regarding claim 20, Tseng discloses wherein forming the capacitor structure further comprises depositing a high-k dielectric material on the first metal layer ([0025]).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng in view of Tseng as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Schultz and Ting.
Regarding claim 18, Jeng in view of Tseng does not disclose wherein forming the capacitor structure further comprises: depositing a hard mask layer on the oxide layer; etching the hard mask layer to form a plurality of hard mask mandrels; etching the oxide layer between the plurality of hard mask mandrels; and removing the plurality of hard mask mandrels.
Schultz however discloses wherein forming the capacitor structure further comprises: depositing a mask layer (Fig.1, numeral 106) on the oxide layer (104); etching the mask layer to form a plurality of mask mandrels (110) (Fig.1); etching the oxide layer between the plurality of mask mandrels (Fig.2); and removing the plurality of mask mandrels (Fig.3).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Jeng with Schultz to deposit a mask layer on the oxide layer; etching the mask layer to form a plurality of mask mandrels; etching the oxide layer between the plurality of mask mandrels; and removing the plurality of mask mandrels for the purpose of efficiently fabricate a MIM capacitor (Schultz, [0003]; [0004]).
Jeng in view of Tseng and Schultz does not disclose that the mask is a hard mask.
Ting however discloses that the mask is a hard mask (Fig.4A, numeral P; [0042]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Jeng in view of Tseng and Shultz with Ting to have the mask as a hard mask because this is a typical material for forming mask layers.
Regarding claim 19, Ting discloses wherein removing the plurality of hard mask mandrels comprises performing a wet etch process on the plurality of hard mask mandrels ([0043]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891