DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada et al. (US Pub. 2003/0174545).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 4 and Fig. 7 of Wada discloses a DRAM chip, comprising:
a first sustaining voltage generator [30, Fig. 4] producing a first voltage level which [voltage of SAP_P during Active, Fig. 7] is higher than a voltage level of the signal ONE [voltage on BL_H during Active, Fig. 7] utilized in the DRAM chip [paragraphs 0050 and 0052];
a DRAM cell [21, Fig. 4] comprising an access transistor and a storage capacitor [clearly shows in Fig. 4, each cells has a transistor connects to a capacitor, DRAM];
a sense amplifier [22, Fig. 4] coupled to a bit line [BL_T] and a complementary bit line [BL_C], wherein the bit line [BL_T] is coupled to the storage capacitor through the access transistor [clearly shows in memory cell 21];
an equalization circuit [34, Fig. 4] coupled to the bit line [BL_T] and the complementary bit line [BL_C], wherein the equalization circuit couples the bit line and the complementary bit line to a preset reference voltage during an equalization period [paragraph 0066], and the equalization circuit [34] comprises a VBL line [VBLEQ] which is different from the bit line and the complementary bit line; and
a clean up circuit [35] coupled to the VBL line [BL_T] of the equalization circuit [32, paragraph 0042];
wherein the first sustaining voltage generator [30] is electrically coupled to the bit line [BL_T] during a turning-off period of the access transistor [between T2 and T3 in Fig. 7, access transistor is turning off, but transistor 26 still on by signal OD to couple circuit 30 to bit line (BL_T)], and the clean up circuit [35] connects VBL line [BL_T] to a ground level [VSS, as shows in Fig. 7, during the equalization period (when BLEQL is high to turn on circuit 34, DSC is also active high to turn on circuit 35. Therefore, circuit 35 is connects to VSS during BLEQL is active high] or a predetermined voltage level to mitigate a difference between a voltage of the bit line and a targeted reference voltage during the equalization period [paragraph 0066], wherein the predetermined voltage is not the targeted reference voltage [the claims “the clean up circuit connects the VBL line to a ground level or a predetermined voltage”. As shows in Fig. 4 and paragraph 0066, Wada clearly teaches the clean up circuit connects the VBL line to a ground level (VSS). Applicant uses of “or” establishes alternative connections to ground or a predetermined voltage. Because the reference satisfies the ground alternative, it need not disclose the predetermined-voltage alternative or its restriction concerning the targeted reference voltage. Therefore, the requirement that the predetermined voltage differ from the targeted reference voltage qualifies the predetermined-voltage alternative and need not be separately disclosed when the ground-level alternative is met].
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 4 of Wada discloses a word line [WL_N] coupled to a gate terminal of the access transistor [as shows in cell 21], wherein the word-line is selected to turn on the access transistor for a first period [before T1] and a second period [between T1 and T2] which is after the first period, and the first sustaining voltage generator [30] is electrically coupled to the bit line [BL_T] during the second period [when OD signal is high in Fig. 7].
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 4 of Wada discloses wherein the first sustaining voltage generator [30] is electrically coupled to the sense amplifier [22] during the second period [between T1 and T2], and the first sustaining voltage generator is electrically coupled to the storage capacitor [within cell 21] of the DRAM cell through the sense amplifier [22] and the bit line [BL_T].
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the first period [before T1] is an access operation period, and the second period [between T1 and T2] is a restore phase period [paragraph 0052].
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein a kicking charge source [voltage source for BL_H] is electrically coupled to the bit line [BL_T] during the access operation period [when OD signal is active in Fig. 7].
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the first period comprises a first kick period [before T1] and a second kick period [after T1] separate from the first kick period, a kicking charge source [voltage source that connects to BL_H] is coupled to the bit line during the first kick period, or coupled to the bit line during the first kick period and the second kick period.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the voltage level of kicking charge source [voltage on BL_H] is smaller than that of the first sustaining voltage generator [voltage on SAP_P].
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the word-line [WL] is selected to turn on the access transistor [within cell 21 in Fig. 4] for the first period [before T1] and the second period [between T1 and T2] according to a refresh operation.
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein a kicking charge source is electrically coupled to the bit line [BL_H] for a kick period which is prior to the first period [before T0], and the first sustaining voltage generator [30, Fig. 3] is electrically coupled to the bit line for all the second period [between T1 and T2].
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the second period [between T1 and T2] is at least 20% of the sum of the kick period [between T and T0], the first period [between T0 and T1] and the second period [between T1 and T2].
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the second period [between T1 and T2] is at least 50% of the sum of the kick period [between T and T0], the first period [between T0 and T1] and the second period [between T1 and T2].
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the equalization period is after the turning-off period [after T3] of the access transistor, and the clean up circuit is activated during equalization period [when BLEQL and EQLCN are active high after T3] such that the voltage of the bit line is equal to the preset reference voltage after the equalization period [paragraph 0066].
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the cleanup circuit [35 in Fig. 11] is activated by a clean up pulse [DSC], and a width of the clean up pulse [DSC] is not greater than that of the equalization period [as shows in Fig. 7, they are the same period].
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 7 of Wada discloses wherein the cleanup circuit [35 in Fig. 11] is activated by a clean up pulse [DSC], and a rising edge of the clean up pulse [DSC] is substantially aligned with a rising edge of the equalization period [EQLCN, they are substantially identical].
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 5 of Wada discloses wherein the clean up circuit [35] comprising a switch circuit [42] coupled to the sense amplifier [22] and a predetermined voltage [VSS].
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 4 of Wada discloses wherein the clean up circuit [35] comprising a switch circuit [42] coupled to the equalization circuit [32] and a predetermined voltage [VSS].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wada does not teach or suggest the clean up circuit connects the VBL line to a ground level or a predetermined voltage level, wherein the predetermined voltage level is not the targeted reference voltage. Applicant is reminded that the claims are examined in light of broadest reasonable interpretation. In addition, although the claims are examined in light of specification, limitations from specification are not read in the claims. See MPEP 2100. As shows in Fig. 4 and paragraph 0066, Wada clearly teaches the clean up circuit connects the VBL line to a ground level (VSS). Applicant uses of “or” establishes alternative connections to ground or a predetermined voltage. Because the reference satisfies the ground alternative, it need not disclose the predetermined-voltage alternative or its restriction concerning the targeted reference voltage. Therefore, the requirement that the predetermined voltage differ from the targeted reference voltage qualifies the predetermined-voltage alternative and need not be separately disclosed when the ground-level alternative is met. Therefore, all applicant’s arguments were fully considered, they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825