DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al (U.S. Pub #2020/0006631), in view of Mo et al (U.S. Pub #2017/0279036).
With respect to claim 1, Sato teaches a method of manufacturing a spin-orbit-torque (SOT) magnetic device, the method comprising:
forming bottom electrodes (Fig. 5A, 130) in a first interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (Fig. 5A, 124);
forming a bottom metal layer (Fig. 5E, 122/106 and Paragraph 49, 53, 85-87) on the bottom electrodes and the first ILD layer;
forming a second ILD layer (Fig. 5J, 520) over the first ILD layer and the bottom metal layer;
a SOT cell structure (Fig. 5J, 104) in the opening.
Sato does not teach that the cell structure is formed by
forming a second ILD layer over the first ILD layer and the bottom metal layer;
forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure in the opening.
Mo teaches
forming a second ILD layer (Fig. 1A, 112) over a first ILD layer (Fig. 1A, 102) and a bottom metal layer (Fig. 1A, 104);
forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure (Fig. 1C, 122) in the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to form the SOT cell structure of Sato by forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure in the opening as taught by Mo in order to reduce etching damage the MTJ layer (Paragraph 36).
With respect to claim 2, Sato teaches forming the SOT cell structure includes: forming a first magnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 108 and Paragraph 59) over the bottom metal layer; forming a spacer layer (Fig. 5J, 110) over the first magnetic layer; and forming a second magnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 112) over the spacer layer.
With respect to claim 8, Sato teaches a method of manufacturing a spin-orbit-torque (SOT) magnetic device, the method comprising:
forming an opening in a substrate, the substrate comprising a first interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (Fig. 5B, 124) including an embedded contact (Fig. 5B, 128/130), a metal layer (Fig. 5E, 502) disposed over the first ILD and contacting the embedded contact, and
a second ILD (Fig. 5J, 520) covering the first ILD layer and the metal layer; and
a SOT cell structure comprising a data storage layer (Fig. 5J, 108 and Paragraph 59) disposed over the metal layer, a spacer layer (Fig. 5J, 110 and Paragraph 59) disposed over the data storage layer, and a reference layer (Fig. 5J, 112 and Paragraph 60) disposed over the spacer layer.
Sato does not teach
forming an opening in the substrate, wherein the opening exposes a portion of the metal layer;
forming a SOT cell structure in the opening.
Mo teaches
forming a second ILD layer (Fig. 1A, 112) over a first ILD layer (Fig. 1A, 102) and a bottom metal layer (Fig. 1A, 104);
forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure (Fig. 1C, 122) in the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to form the SOT cell structure of Sato by forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure in the opening as taught by Mo in order to reduce etching damage the MTJ layer (Paragraph 36).
With respect to claim 9, Sato teaches that the data storage layer comprises a first magnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 108 and Paragraph 45 and 58), the spacer layer comprises a nonmagnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 110 and Paragraph 59), and the reference layer comprises a second magnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 112 and Paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 10, Sato teaches that the first magnetic layer is a free magnetic layer (Paragraphs 45 and 58) and the second magnetic layer has a fixed magnetic moment (Paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 16, Sato teaches a method of manufacturing a spin-orbit-torque (SOT) magnetic device, the method comprising:
embedding a metal layer (Fig. 5J, 502) between a first interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (Fig. 5J, 124) and a second ILD layer (Fig. 5J, 520), wherein the first ILD layer includes via contacts (Fig. 5J, 128 and 130) formed therein, and the metal layer is in contact with the via contacts after embedding the metal layer between the first and second ILD layers;
a magnetic device including a first magnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 108 and Paragraph 59) disposed over the metal layer, a spacer layer (Fig. 5J, 110 and Paragraph 59) disposed over the first magnetic layer, and a second magnetic layer (Fig. 5J, 112 and Paragraph 60) disposed over the spacer layer.
Sato does not teach
forming an opening in the second ILD layer to expose a portion of the metal layer; and
forming a magnetic device in the opening.
Mo teaches
forming a second ILD layer (Fig. 1A, 112) over a first ILD layer (Fig. 1A, 102) and a bottom metal layer (Fig. 1A, 104);
forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure (Fig. 1C, 122) in the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the SOT cell structure of Sato by forming an opening in the second ILD layer over the bottom metal layer; and forming a SOT cell structure in the opening as taught by Mo in order to reduce etching damage the MTJ layer (Paragraph 36).
Claims 3, 6, 7, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato and Mo, in view of Huai et al (U.S. Pub #2019/0006414).
With respect to claim 3, Sato does not teach that the first magnetic layer includes a lower magnetic layer, a middle layer made of non-magnetic layer, an upper magnetic layer, a first interfacial layer between the lower magnetic layer and the middle layer and a second interfacial layer between the middle layer and the upper magnetic layer.
Huai teaches a first magnetic layer includes a lower magnetic layer, a middle layer made of non-magnetic layer, an upper magnetic layer, a first interfacial layer between the lower magnetic layer and the middle layer and a second interfacial layer between the middle layer and the upper magnetic layer (Fig. 6G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide upper and lower magnetic layer, a middle layer, and interfacial layer as the first magnetic layer of Sato as taught by Huai in order to achieve the predicable result of providing a variable magnetization free layer (Paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 6, Sato does not teach forming the SOT cell structure further comprises forming an antiferromagnetic layer made of ruthenium (Ru) over the second magnetic layer.
Huai teaches an antiferromagnetic layer made of ruthenium (Ru) (Paragraph 65) over the second magnetic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an antiferromagnetic layer made of ruthenium (Ru) as taught by Huai in order to exchange couple to the reference layer (Paragraph 33)
With respect to claim 7, Sato does not teach forming the SOT cell structure further comprises forming a third magnetic layer including a CoPt layer over the antiferromagnetic layer.
Huai teaches a third magnetic layer (Fig. 5A, 144) including a CoPt layer (Paragraph 54) over the antiferromagnetic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a a third magnetic layer including a CoPt layer over the antiferromagnetic layer as taught by Huai in order to exchange couple to the reference layer (Paragraph 33)
With respect to claim 11, Sato does not teach that the data storage layer comprises a non-magnetic layer disposed between upper and lower magnetic layers.
Huai teaches a data storage layer that comprises a non-magnetic layer disposed between upper and lower magnetic layers (Fig. 6D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the data storage layer of Sato as a non-magnetic layer disposed between upper and lower magnetic layers as taught by Huai in order to provide a perpendicular enhancement layer in the data storage layer (Paragraph 37).
With respect to claim 12, Sato does not teach that the data storage layer further comprises a first interfacial layer disposed between the non-magnetic layer and the lower magnetic layer and a second interfacial layer disposed between the non-magnetic layer and the upper magnetic layer.
Huai teaches that the data storage layer further comprises a first interfacial layer disposed between the non-magnetic layer and the lower magnetic layer and a second interfacial layer disposed between the non-magnetic layer and the upper magnetic layer (Fig. 6G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide upper and lower magnetic layer, a middle layer, and interfacial layer as the first magnetic layer of Sato as taught by Huai in order to achieve the predicable result of providing a variable magnetization free layer (Paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 17, Sato does not teach that the first magnetic layer comprises a non-magnetic layer disposed over a lower magnetic layer, and an upper magnetic layer disposed over the non-magnetic layer.
Huai teaches a data storage layer that comprises a non-magnetic layer disposed between upper and lower magnetic layers (Fig. 6D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the data storage layer of Sato as a non-magnetic layer disposed between upper and lower magnetic layers as taught by Huai in order to provide a perpendicular enhancement layer in the data storage layer (Paragraph 37).
With respect to claim 18, Sato does not teach that the first magnetic layer further comprises interfacial layers separating the non-magnetic layer from the upper and lower magnetic layers.
Huai teaches that the data storage layer further comprises a first interfacial layer disposed between the non-magnetic layer and the lower magnetic layer and a second interfacial layer disposed between the non-magnetic layer and the upper magnetic layer (Fig. 6G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide upper and lower magnetic layer, a middle layer, and interfacial layer as the first magnetic layer of Sato as taught by Huai in order to achieve the predicable result of providing a variable magnetization free layer (Paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 20, Sato and Huai teach that the first magnetic layer is a free magnetic layer (Paragraph 45 of Sato; Fig. 6G of Huai).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 13-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812