DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 7/12/24. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) was submitted on 7/12/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yabuta et al. (US PGPub 2020/0251423, hereinafter referred to as “Yabuta”).
Yabuta discloses the semiconductor method as claimed. See figures 1-15 and corresponding text, where Yabuta teaches, in claim 1, a method of manufacturing a film assembly for transferring a light emitting element, the film assembly comprising: (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
a base portion (4);
a stamp layer (2) on the base portion; and
a protective film (3) on the stamp layer, the method comprising:
forming a first cutting area in the film assembly comprising exposing at least a portion of the stamp layer; and
forming a second cutting area in the film assembly comprising entirely penetrating the film assembly, wherein the forming of the second cutting area is performed after the forming of the first cutting area.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 2, wherein the forming of the first cutting area comprises entirely penetrating the protective film but not entirely penetrating the base portion and the stamp layer (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 3, wherein the forming of the second cutting area comprises forming a plurality of unit areas that are separated from each other (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 4, wherein the plurality of unit areas is determined based on a shape of the second cutting area (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 5, wherein the forming of the second cutting area comprises cutting at least a portion of the film assembly by using a pinnacle mold (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 6, wherein the film assembly has a pin-hole for aligning a position of the pinnacle mold, and wherein the pin-hole penetrates at least the protective film (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 7, wherein at least a portion of the protective film is not on the base portion and the stamp layer, and wherein the pin-hole is in the at least a portion of the protective film (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 8, wherein the pin-hole comprises a first pin-hole formed in a first side of the film assembly and a second pin-hole formed in a second side of the film assembly (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 9, wherein, in the forming of the second cutting area, the film assembly is on a film manufacturing base, and a polymer lower film is between the film manufacturing base and the base portion (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 10, a film assembly for transferring a light emitting element, the film assembly comprising: a base portion; a stamp layer on the base portion; and a protective film on the stamp layer, wherein a first cutting area is formed in the protective film but is not formed in the stamp layer and the base portion, and wherein a second cutting area entirely penetrates the base portion, the stamp layer, and the protective film (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 11, a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
preparing a film assembly, the film assembly comprising a base portion (4), a stamp layer (2) on the base portion, and a protective film (3) on the stamp layer;
coupling the film assembly and a stamp head;
bending at least a portion of the film assembly; removing at least a portion of the protective film; and
transferring a light emitting element onto a pixel circuit layer by using the film assembly coupled to the stamp head, wherein the film assembly has a first cutting area and a second cutting area, wherein the first cutting area is formed in the protective film but is not formed in the stamp layer and the base portion, and wherein the second cutting area entirely penetrates the base portion, the stamp layer, and the protective film (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 12, wherein the film assembly comprises a plurality of unit areas defined by the second cutting area, and wherein the coupling of the film assembly and the stamp head comprises coupling a portion of the film assembly in at least one of the plurality of unit areas to the stamp head (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 13, wherein the bending of at least a portion of the film assembly comprises bending an edge portion of the film assembly based on the first cutting area (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 14, wherein the removing at least a portion of the protective film comprises: removing at least a portion of the protective film surrounded by the first cutting area; and exposing at least a portion of the stamp layer (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080])
.
Yabuta teaches, in claim 15, wherein the light emitting element comprises a flip chip type micro light emitting diode (figs. 1-5; [0043-0080]).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 8, 2026