DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/13/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,111. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims have been patented.
Regarding claim 1, Pat '111 discloses, in claim 1, a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a gate dielectric layer; a gate electrode layer in contact with the gate dielectric layer; an isolation layer disposed over the gate electrode layer; a first sidewall spacer in contact with the gate dielectric layer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 1 of Pat '111); and
a liner layer having a first portion disposed between the isolation layer and the gate electrode layer and a second portion in contact with the first sidewall spacer ("a liner layer having a first portion disposed between the isolation layer and the gate electrode layer and a second portion disposed between and in contact with the first sidewall spacer and the SAC layer", in claim 1 of Pat '111, is interpreted as the same limitation). as described above.
Regarding claim 2, Pat '111 discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Pat '111 further discloses, in claim 2, the liner layer is further in contact with the gate dielectric layer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 2 of Pat '111).
Regarding claim 3, Pat '111 discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Pat '111 further discloses, in claim 3, the liner layer is a dielectric layer that is free of oxygen atoms (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 3 of Pat '111).
Claims 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,640,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims have been patented.
Regarding claim 11, Pat '941 discloses, in claim 1, a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a gate dielectric layer; a gate electrode layer in contact with the gate dielectric layer; an isolation layer disposed over the gate electrode layer; a metal layer disposed between and in contact with the gate electrode layer and the isolation layer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 1 of Pat '941); and
a first sidewall spacer in contact with the gate dielectric layer and the isolation layer ("a first sidewall spacer in contact with the gate dielectric layer, the isolation layer, and the first SAC layer", in claim 1 of Pat '941, is interpreted as the same limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Pat '941discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 11 as described above.
Pat '941 further discloses, in claim 2, the isolation layer is formed of a dielectric material free of oxygen atoms (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 2 of Pat '941).
Regarding claim 13, Pat '941discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 11 as described above.
Pat '941 further discloses, in claim 4, the metal layer is further in contact with the gate dielectric layer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 4 of Pat '941).
Regarding claim 14, Pat '941discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 11 as described above.
Pat '941 further discloses, in claim 5, the first sidewall spacer is in contact with the metal layer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 5 of Pat '941).
Regarding claim 15, Pat '941discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 14 as described above.
Pat '941 further discloses, in claim 6, a second sidewall spacer in contact with the first sidewall spacer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 6 of Pat '941).
Regarding claim 16, Pat '941discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 15 as described above.
Pat '941 further discloses, in claim 7, a contact etch stop layer (CESL) in contact with the second sidewall spacer ("a contact etch stop layer (CESL) in contact with the second sidewall spacer and the first SAC layer", in claim 7 of Pat '941, is interpreted as the same limitation).
Regarding claim 17, Pat '941 discloses, in claim 9, a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
first and second source/drain features (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 9 of Pat '941);
a semiconductor layer disposed between and in contact with the first and second source/drain features ("a channel layer disposed between and in contact with the first and second source/drain features, wherein the channel layer is formed of a semiconductor layer", in claim 9 of Pat '941, is interpreted as the same limitation);
a gate electrode layer surrounding a portion of the semiconductor layer; an isolation layer disposed over the gate electrode layer; a metal layer disposed between and in contact with the gate electrode layer and the isolation layer; and a sidewall spacer in contact with the gate dielectric layer and the isolation layer ("a gate dielectric layer surrounding at least a surface of the channel layer; a gate electrode layer surrounding at least a surface of the gate dielectric layer; an isolation layer disposed over the gate electrode layer; a metal layer disposed between and in contact with the gate electrode layer and the isolation layer; and a first sidewall spacer in contact with the gate dielectric layer, the first SAC layer, and the isolation layer", in claim 9 of Pat '941, is interpreted as the same limitation).
Pat '941 does not explicitly disclose a gate dielectric layer in contact with the gate electrode layer.
Pat '941 teaches, in claim 1, a gate dielectric layer in contact with the gate electrode layer (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 1 of Pat '941), for the purpose of preventing damage to the gates during processing of the ICs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in claim 9 of Pat '941 to have the gate dielectric layer in contact with the gate electrode layer, as taught by claim 1 of Pat '941, for the purpose of preventing damage to the gates during processing of the ICs.
Regarding claim 18, Pat '941 discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 17 as described above.
Pat '941 further discloses, in claim 10, the isolation layer comprises a dielectric material free of oxygen atoms (all limitations are the same with the limitations recited in claim 10 of Pat '941).
Regarding claim 19, Pat '941 discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 17 as described above.
Pat '941 further teaches, in claim 5, the sidewall spacer is in further contact with the metal layer ("the first sidewall spacer is in contact with the metal layer", in claim 5 of Pat '941, is interpreted as the same limitation), for the purpose of preventing damage to the gates during processing of the ICs.
Regarding claim 20, Pat '941 discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 17 as described above.
Pat '941 does not explicitly disclose the metal layer has a thickness of about 0.5 nm to about 10 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thickness of the metal layer as claimed in claim 20 in order to optimize the performance of the device in .. It is noted that the selection dimension of the thickness of the metal layer as being no more than use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP 2143 I. C. It is noted that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1389 (2007). In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed arrangement (i.e.- the metal layer has a thickness of about 0.5 nm to about 10 nm) or any unexpected results arising therefrom.
Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen limitations or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen limitations are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (FED. Cir. 1990).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,111 in view of Lin (US 2021/0083046).
Regarding claim 4, Pat '111 discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Pat '111 does not explicitly disclose the first sidewall spacer is not in contact with the isolation layer.
Lin teaches, in at least figures 1B, 2R, and related text, the device comprising the first sidewall spacer (108, [26]) is not in contact with the isolation layer (180, [63]), for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance thereby increasing effectively the device performance ([10]).
Pat '111 and Lin are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Pat '111 with the specified features of Lin because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Pat '111 to have the first sidewall spacer being not in contact with the isolation layer, as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance thereby increasing effectively the device performance ([10], Lin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
In claim 4, lines 1-2, the limitation of “the first sidewall spacer is in contact with the isolation layer” renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the first sidewall spacer” is in contact with “the isolation layer” or not in contact with “the isolation layer” previously recited in claim 1, on at least lines 4-5. Applicant’s figure 10 used for claim 1 shows that the first sidewall spacer 33 is not in contact with the isolation layer 45. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the first sidewall spacer is in contact with the isolation layer” in claim 4, lines 1-2 to “the first sidewall spacer is not in contact with the isolation layer”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “the first sidewall spacer is not in contact with the isolation layer”. Correction is requested.
Claims 5-10 are also rejected as being dependent on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2021/0083046).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses, in at least figures 1B, 2R, and related text, a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a gate dielectric layer (114, [26]);
a gate electrode layer (116, [26]) in contact with the gate dielectric layer (114, [26]);
an isolation layer (180, [63]) disposed over the gate electrode layer (116, [26]);
a first sidewall spacer (108, [26]) in contact with the gate dielectric layer (114, [26]); and
a liner layer (176, [61]) having a first portion disposed between the isolation layer (180, [63]) and the gate electrode layer (116, [26]) and a second portion in contact with the first sidewall spacer (108, [26]).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Lin further discloses, in at least figures 1B, 2R, and related text, the liner layer (176, [61]) is a dielectric layer that is free of oxygen atoms.
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Lin further discloses, in at least figures 1B, 2R, and related text, the first sidewall spacer (108, [26]) is not in contact with the isolation layer (180, [63]).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai (US 2019/0295889).
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses, in at least figure 1 and related text, a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a gate dielectric layer (122, [44]);
a gate electrode layer (124, [46]) in contact with the gate dielectric layer (122, [44]);
an isolation layer (140, [56]) disposed over the gate electrode layer (124, [46]);
a first sidewall spacer (126, [35]) in contact with the gate dielectric layer (122, [44]); and
a liner layer (130, [51]) having a first portion disposed between the isolation layer (140, [56]) and the gate electrode layer (124, [46]) and a second portion in contact with the first sidewall spacer (126, [35]).
Regarding claim 2, Bai discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Bai further discloses, in at least figure 1 and related text, the liner layer (130, [51]) is further in contact with the gate dielectric layer (122, [44]).
Regarding claim 3, Bai discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Bai further discloses, in at least figure 1 and related text, the liner layer (130, [51]) is a dielectric layer that is free of oxygen atoms.
Regarding claim 4, Bai discloses the semiconductor device structure of claim 1 as described above.
Bai further discloses, in at least figure 1 and related text, the first sidewall spacer (126, [35]) is not in contact with the isolation layer (140, [56]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1, 4, and 5 that recite "the first sidewall spacer has a top and a sidewall in contact with the liner layer" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1, 4, and 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811