DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2020/0035907) hereinafter referred to as Peng.
Per Claim 1 Peng discloses a method, (see figure 2) comprising
depositing one or more tantalum nitride layers (122a) on a copper interconnect (121a’) and within a via (see figure 2 and [0036]), on the copper interconnect, for a magnetic tunnel junction; The examiner notes that the term "on" includes "directly on" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly on" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween)
depositing titanium (122a’) with nitridation on the one or more tantalum nitride layers and within the via; [0036] and
depositing tungsten (121a”) on the titanium with nitridation and within the via (see figure 2 and [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng as applied to claim 1 above.
Per Claim 5, Peng teaches the device of claim 1 including the titanium with nitridation.
Peng does not teach the titanium with nitridation has a thickness in a range from approximately 40 angstroms to approximately 80 angstroms.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 9-20 are allowed.
Per Claims 9-20, the closest prior art appears to be Wu (US 2020/0006639) which teaches an analogous device including forming a copper interconnect (135) in a dielectric layer (150); forming at least one of a fluorine barrier layer (900) in a via of the dielectric layer; forming tungsten (910) within the via; and forming a bottom electrode (710) and a magnetic tunnel junction structure (700) on the contact
Wu does not specifically disclose or suggest the element/step of “forming at least one of a fluorine barrier layer or a copper diffusion barrier layer in a via, of the dielectric layer, and on the copper interconnect; forming an adhesion layer on the at least one of the fluorine barrier layer or the copper diffusion barrier layer and within the via; forming tungsten within the via and on the adhesion layer to form a contact;”, as recited by the independent claim 9, in combination with the other elements/steps of the claim. No prior art was found that taught this novel method/device.
Wu does not specifically disclose or suggest the element/step of “a magnetic tunnel junction; a copper interconnect; and a via comprising: at least one of a fluorine barrier layer or a copper diffusion barrier layer on the copper interconnect, an adhesion layer on the at least one of the fluorine barrier layer or the copper diffusion barrier layer, and tungsten metal disposed on the adhesion layer”, as recited by the independent claim 15, in combination with the other elements/steps of the claim. No prior art was found that taught this novel method/device.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Jandl (US 2020/0144066) is cited as analogous art including fluorine barrier layer but lacking a copper layer.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818