DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second connection pattern is different from the second connection pattern", and it seems to be a typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-12, 14-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (PGPUB 20030052735), hereinafter as Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches memory device comprising:
a first sub-block (Fig 13, block 32) comprising:
a first plurality of memory cells arranged in a first row and connected to a first bit line (Fig 13, cells, some are not shown in the figure, connected to BL4), and
a second plurality of memory cells arranged in a second row and connected to a first complementary bit line (Fig 13, cells connected to BL3), wherein the first plurality of memory cells of the first row and the second plurality of memory cells of the second row are connected to a plurality of word lines in a first connection pattern (Fig 13, pattern as in block 32), and wherein in the first connection pattern the first plurality of memory cells are connected to consecutive even numbered word lines of the plurality of word lines and the second plurality of memory cells are connected to consecutive odd numbered word lines of the plurality of word lines (Fig 13, cells connected to BL4 also connected to SW1 and SW5 (not shown), and cells connected to BL3 also connected to SW3 and SW7(not shown); SW1 and SW5 is equivalent as WL 1 and WL3 since SWL 2 and SWL4 are not functioned as WL for block 32, and SW3 and SW7 is equivalent as WL2 and WL4 since SWL 2/4/6 are not functioned as WL for block 32, it has been held that rearranging/renumbering parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.); and
a second sub-block (Fig 13, block 33) comprising:
a third plurality of memory cells arranged in a third row and connected to a second bit line (Fig 13, block 33 BL4), and
a fourth plurality of memory cells arranged in a fourth row and connected to a second complementary bit line (Fig 13, block 33, BL3), wherein the third plurality of memory cells of the third row and the fourth plurality of memory cells of the fourth row are connected to the plurality of word lines in a second connection pattern (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the second connection pattern is complimentary to the connection pattern (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches a memory device comprising:
a first sub-block comprising:
a first bit line, a second bit line, a first plurality of memory cells connected to the first bit line, wherein each of the first plurality of memory cells are arranged in a first row, and a second plurality of memory cells connected to the second bit line, wherein each of the second plurality of memory cells are arranged in a second row;
a second sub-block comprising:
a third bit line, a fourth bit line, a third plurality of memory cells connected to the third bit line, wherein each of the third plurality of memory cells are arranged in a third row, and a fourth plurality of memory cells connected to the fourth bit line, wherein each of the fourth plurality of memory cells are arranged in a fourth row; and
a plurality of word lines, wherein:
the first plurality of memory cells and the second plurality of memory cells are connected to the plurality of word lines in a first pattern, the first pattern comprising the first plurality of memory cells being connected to consecutive even numbered word lines of the plurality of word lines and the second plurality of memory cells being connected to consecutive odd numbered word lines of the plurality of word lines, and
third plurality of memory cells and the fourth plurality of memory cells are connected the plurality of word lines in a second pattern (argument used in rejection of claim 1 applies).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches the second bit line is complementary to the first bit line, and wherein the fourth bit line is complementary to the third bit line (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches a first sense amplifier connected to both the first bit line and the second bit line; and a second sense amplifier connected to both the third bit line and the fourth bit line (Fig 5, others SA is not shown, but obvious present).
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches the second pattern is different from the first pattern (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 14, Kang teaches a plurality of mini arrays each comprising a plurality of sub-blocks arranged according a connection pattern type (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 15, Kang teaches a plurality of mini arrays each comprising a plurality of sub-blocks of a same connection pattern type (Fig 13, regrouping is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches a method of connecting memory cells in a memory device, the method comprising: providing a memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells arranged in a plurality of rows; connecting a first plurality of memory cells arranged in a first row of the plurality of rows to a first bit line; connecting a second plurality of memory cells arranged in a second row of the plurality of rows to a first complementary bit line; connecting the first plurality of memory cells of the first row and the second plurality of memory cells of the second row to a plurality of word lines according to a first connection pattern, wherein connecting the first plurality of memory cells of the first row and the second plurality of memory cells of the second row to the plurality of word lines according to the first connection pattern comprises: connecting the first plurality of memory cells of the first row to consecutive even numbered word lines of the plurality of word lines; and connecting the second plurality of memory cells of the second row to consecutive odd numbered word lines of the plurality of word lines; connecting a third plurality of memory cells arranged in a third row of the plurality of rows to a second bit line; connecting a fourth plurality of memory cells arranged in a fourth row of the plurality of rows to a second complementary bit line; and connecting the third plurality of memory cells of the third row and the fourth plurality of memory cells of the fourth row to the plurality of word lines according to a second connection pattern (the argument used in rejection of claim 1 applies).
Regarding claim 17, Kang teaches the second connection pattern is different from the first connection pattern (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches generating a third connection pattern from the first connection pattern (repeat a pattern is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches re-arranging the plurality of rows based on a connection pattern type (repeat a pattern is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12087354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, each claim of the instant application and matching claims of the related patent are list below in a table.
Instant app
12087354
Claim 2
Claim 1, 4
Claim 3
Claim 1, 4
Claim 7, 8
Claim 9, 19
Claim 9, 10
Claim 1, 4
Claim 11
Claim 9, 11
Claim 12
Claim 1, 2
Claim 13, 18
Claim 9
Claim 14
Claim 9, 13
Claim 15
Claim 9, 14
Claim 16, 17
Claim 1, 4
Claim 19
Claim 17
Claim 20
Claim 18
Conclusion
/MIN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827