DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0326259.
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses:
a manufacturing method for a package structure, comprising (Yu describes manufacturing multi-level packages, abstract, Figs. 8-9):
providing a die 26,
forming and bonding a die stack structure to the die (die 26 is a memory die stack [0039], or levels of device dies including dies 26, 42, and 56),
fusion bonding a support structure onto the die stack structure ([0039]-[0040]: dummy wafer 24 provides the support structure and die 26 is directly fusion bonding to dielectric layer 23 on dummy wafer 24), wherein a width of the support structure is larger than a width of the die stack structure (the dummy support 24 extends laterally beyond the device dies/memory die stack 26, Fig. 8) and sidewalls of the support structure and the die stack structure are laterally shifted (where the dummy support 24 extends beyond the edge of the memory die stack 26, its sidewall is laterally displaced from the corresponding die-stack sidewall, Fig. 8), and
forming an insulation structure on the die, laterally wrapping around the die stack structure (the encapsulating materials 59 is formed on device die 56, encapsulating material 50 is formed around second level dies 42, and encapsulating 33 is formed around first level dies 26, Fig. 9) and the support structure (Fig. 18: encapsulating material 33 encircled dummy support 24’).
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses wherein the insulation structure is formed after fusion bonding the support structure onto the die stack structure ([0039]-[0040], Figs. 11-12: wherein device dies 26 are fusion bonded to layer 23 of dummy wafer 24, and subsequent process steps include forming the encapsulating materials as described with respect to Figs. 4-9).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses forming the insulation structure comprises forming an insulation material layer to cover the die stack structure and the support structure and performing a planarization process to partially remove the insulation material layer ([0023], [0029], [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses wherein the insulation structure comprises an encapsulant formed after fusion bonding the support structure onto the die stack structure, and the encapsulant at least wraps around the sidewall of the support structure (Fig. 9: the encapsulating materials 59 is formed on device die 56, encapsulating material 50 is formed around second level dies 42, and encapsulating 33 is formed around first level dies 26; Fig. 18: encapsulating material 33 encircled dummy support 24’).
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses wherein the die stack structure is formed with a plurality of semiconductor dies electrically connected with one another by through semiconductor vias (Fig. 8-9: multi-level stacking dies and through vias).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicants may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 1 requires the width of the support structure to be larger than the width of the die structure, whereas claim 8 requires the width of the support structure to be smaller than the width of the die structure. The limitation of claim 8 is inconsistent with the limitation of claim 1 from which claim 8 depends. Claim 8 recites a width relationship contrary to the width relationship required by claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411483, in view of Yu, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0326259.
Regarding claim 10, Uzoh discloses a manufacturing method for a package structure, comprising (Fig. 15):
providing a die 102,
forming and bonding a die stack structure (upper dies 102’, 102’’, 102’’’) to the die 102,
bonding a support structure (dummy die 1504) onto the die stack structure,
forming an insulation structure 1502/1506 covering the die and laterally wrapping around the die stack structure and the support structure.
Uzoh fails to disclose wherein sidewalls of the die, the support structure, and the die stack structure are laterally offset.
Yu discloses the package structure (Fig. 18) wherein sidewalls of the die, the support structure, and the die stack structure are laterally offset (dies 26, 42, and 56 and support structure 24/24’).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Uzoh in view of Yu to reduce package warpage stress, increase mechanical support, and improve reliability.
Regarding claim 11, Uzoh discloses forming lower dielectric layers 1502 wrapping around the die stack structure before bonding the support structure 1504 (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses wherein forming the die stack structure comprises (Figs. 1-18):
bonding a lower die 26 to the die (Yu discloses that die 26 may itself be a single memory die or memory-die stack),
forming a first lower dielectric layer 33 on and laterally aside the lower die,
bonding a middle die 42 to the lower die 26,
forming a second lower dielectric layer 50/52 on the first lower dielectric layer and laterally aside the middle die,
bonding an upper die 56 to the middle die, and
forming a third lower dielectric layer 59/64 on the second lower dielectric layer and laterally aside the upper die.
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses forming a first isolation layer 30 on the die before bonding the die stack structure to the die (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15, Yu discloses bonding a lower die to the die after forming the first isolation layer, forming a second isolation layer on the lower die after bonding the lower die to the die, bonding a middle die to the lower die, forming a third isolation layer on the middle die after bonding the middle die to the lower die, and bonding an upper die to the middle die (Figs. 1-18).
Regarding claim 16, Yu discloses wherein the insulation structure is formed after fusion bonding the support structure 24 onto the die stack structure (Figs 1-9, [0039]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411483, in view of Modi, U.S Pub. No. 2022/0102242.
Regarding claim 10, Uzoh discloses a manufacturing method for a package structure, comprising (Fig. 15):
providing a die 102,
forming and bonding a die stack structure (upper dies 102’, 102’’, 102’’’) to the die 102 including dies with a substrate,
providing a support structure (dummy die 1504) with a dielectric bonding film,
forming an insulation structure 1502/1506 covering the die and laterally wrapping around the die stack structure and the support structure.
Uzoh fails to disclose wherein the support structure has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the die stack structure.
Modi discloses the support structure (dummy die 340) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the die stack structure ([0066]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Uzoh in view of Modi to have the support structure with a higher thermal conductivity than the die in order to improve thermal characteristics and heat conduction of the packaged device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411483, in view of Modi, U.S Pub. No. 2022/0102242, further in view of Yu, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0326259.
Regarding claim 18, Uzoh and Modi fail to disclose wherein bonding the support structure with the die stack structure includes performing a fusion bonding process to bond the dielectric with the substrate.
Yu discloses wherein bonding the support structure with the die including fusion bonding process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use fusion bonding process as disclosed in Yu in the method of Uzoh and Modi in order to provide high bond strength, reliable bonding between the structures without requiring an intervening adhesive layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having the limitations of claims 1 and 2, further comprising performing a dicing process cutting through the insulation structure, and a sidewall of the die is aligned with a sidewall of the insulation structure (claim 4), the limitations of claims 1 and 5, wherein the insulation structure comprises a dielectric structure formed before fusion bonding the support structure onto the die stack structure, and the dielectric structure disposed between the encapsulant and the die covers the sidewall of the die stack structure (claim 6).
Claims 14, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having the limitations of claim 10 or claim 17, further comprising performing a dicing process cutting through the insulation structure, and a sidewall of the die is aligned with a sidewall of the insulation structure.
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818